Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: HDMI audio not working with HD files
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I have XBMCbuntu Eden 11.0 installed on a Zotac ZBox ID31 with Next-Generation NVidia ION GPU, and have it successfully streaming video files from my Windows home server. Both audio and video work fine through HDMI when I'm playing low res video files, but only the video is coming through for HD files. For these files, I get a "failed to initialize audio device" error.

I've tried numerous configurations in the audio setup but can't seem to get it working. I've come across quite a few threads where people needed to create a asound.conf file but not sure if this is necessary for me (those threads seem to imply the audio was not working at all over HDMI).

Also, I have zero linux experience and don't really know what I'm doing, so if you can help please don't gloss over the basics Big Grin

Thanks in advance

Well, for one thing I'm not an advanced linux user myself (not a new guy either, just small-to-medium experience). I dont use XBMCbuntu but from the lil' I know its basically Ubuntu. I've had problems with some HD files myself, specifically Dolby DTS and Dolby Digital and mostly these problems were restricted to MKVs.

My system has 2 audio cards, one analog with typical 5.1 setup (3 stereo plugs = 6 channels) and then the HDMI audio from the Geforce GT210 (which to enable I had to read many times the wiki here in xbmc.org). Since you say you have audio over HDMI I guess you dont have to bother with that.

But, 2 things I've noted that might be helpful to consider (if you haven't done so)...

1- Set the speakers to 5.1. At first I had them set as 2.0 because it says its HDMI stereo, so I thought... but switching to 5.1 then allowed me to listen to most of the HD movies I had (AAC audio, AVI's and MP4's) but it gave me troubles with DTS and Dolby Digital HD movies I had.