Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Lag free, cheap remote for XBMC on Mac Mini
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi!

I am a total noob when it comes to XBMC, in fact, I'm installing it for the first time in an hour or so.

What I want to know is if there is any remote solution that works good with the Mac Mini and does not cost a fortune?
I've read about Harmony but it seems to be expensive and a bit overkill.
I would just like to have a remote for basic needs like, play, pause, volume, full screen, navigation and such.

Can I buy a flirc and use whatever IR controller I want? Or can I use the built in IR in the mini?
Will I experience lag?

Thanks in advance!
If you are using a mac mini with OSX, just get the apple remote. It works incredibly well, it's sleek, and anyone can pick it up and use it with no problems. It's beauty is in its minimalism. I switched to this from using smartphone remotes and haven't looked back. The remote will cost you 19$ at an apple store.

(2013-05-13, 20:26)msarro Wrote: [ -> ]If you are using a mac mini with OSX, just get the apple remote. It works incredibly well, it's sleek, and anyone can pick it up and use it with no problems. It's beauty is in its minimalism. I switched to this from using smartphone remotes and haven't looked back. The remote will cost you 19$ at an apple store.

Thanks for the answer!

Will it really do what I need or will I be sitting and pressing combinations? I like the design too, it's great really!
So out of the box, it will work just fine (select the default apple remote profile). However, if you sleep the system, when it wakes up itunes will take over control of the remote. So, install candlair which will fix that.