Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Recordings won't play............HELP
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Howdy.... Name's Dave. Total newbie to this stuff. Hoping someone smarter than me can help with a problem I have.

I've been fooling around with XBMC for a while(maybe a year) and decided to give the "Live TV" thing a go. I have XBMC setup on a small PC(XP) connected via HDMI to our main TV....and it has been working fine for several months. I have a USB TV tuner connected to a separate Windows 7 PC running Mediaportal for the backend. I got everything configured and working great....even the EPG is updating. I am only using this for over-the air TV. Nothing fancy.

The ONLY problem I'm having is, when I try to PLAY recorded content on the XBMC box, it does absolutely nothing. I get NO ERROR MESSAGES. It just sits there(I think I heard it laughing at me). I've tried every configuration setting I could find on the Mediaportal addin and still nothing. I am just about to give up on this project.

I went through this same thing a while back and gave up on it and tried NextPVR. I got it(NPVR) working somewhat, and I could play recorded content with XBMC. I really did not like NPVR compared to Mediaportal. I don't remember what exactly happened, but it was so glitchy I just stopped using it. I do remember it only worked part of the time.

So last night I was bored and decided to reinstall MP and try it again. It had been so long that I had forgotten why I went to NPVR in the first place. This morning as soon as I tried playing a recording that I has set last night, I remembered why. It did the same' thing that it had done the first time. No matter what I do, I just cannot get XBMC to play recorded programs from MP. It sees them It shows the next recording that is set to run. It just will not play any recordings.