Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Kodi on MAC OS Frustrations
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi,

Been using XBMC for some time, first time posting in the forums. I bought a Mac Mini this year and have been using it as a replacement for my ageing Windows based Media Centre PC. On the Mac I have the latest XBMC Gotham 13.2 as well as a TV and Movie Library stored on an attached HDD. I have MySQL installed and library info is stored there which is also accessed by 2 x Raspberry PIs in other rooms

I've been using it for a few months and have some frustrations that I haven't been able to sort, any advice welcome.

1. I'm using SMBUp to create Samba Shares for my sources so that they can be accessed by the PIs. I couldnt seem to get this going without this 3rd party app. Unfortunately, with my limited MAC OS scripting knowledge I haven't been able to get this to start automatically on system startup. I would like to either get rid of this plugin but have the shares work, or get this to start up automatically
  2. MySQL also will not start automatically on System Startup, i did install the startup package.
  3. Remote Control Problems. Tried using both an apple remote and my Logitech Harmony One. It works fine for a while, then the system starts taking commands from it. Pressing down shows the mute icon, pressing play/pause starts/stops Itunes Music etc. Couldn't find a proper solution to this anywhere.
  4. Sleep Problems. The Mac would not go to sleep reliably with XBMC running. I installed a 3rd party app called 'Please sleep'. which in fairness does what it says on the tin. No problem going to sleep now, only challenge is that for some reason it will do it amost immediately after you pause video playback which is very frustrating. Luckily the Mini starts up very quickly, but there must be another way around this. It's like the sleep timer has already expired.