Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: MySql noob unraid
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
hello. im new to mysql. i have an unraid server and an htpc and a google nexus player. I want to set up mysql to handle the library.
i set up according to this website

http://lime-technology.com/forum/index.p...ic=29101.0

everything matches the instructions but when i boot up kodi it gives me the 'unable to initialize, exiting"

if i change the password in my advanced settings file to my mysql user password, kodi loads just fine but then i cant set the content for anything. when i remove the advanced setting xml it works fine. theres a few extra lines from stuff i had in there before but it worked fine with those.

My logs

<advancedsettings>
<videodatabase>
<type>mysql</type>
<host>192.168.1.205</host>
<port>3306</port>
<user>kodi</user>
<pass>kodi</pass>
</videodatabase>
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?>
<network>
<cachemembuffersize>524288000</cachemembuffersize>
</network>
<videolibrary>
<importwatchedstate>true</importwatchedstate>
<importresumepoint>true</importresumepoint>
<recentlyaddeditems>50</recentlyaddeditems>
</videolibrary>
</advancedsettings>
you said you followed that guide that you linked

Quote:CREATE USER 'xbmc' IDENTIFIED BY 'xbmc';

Did you do that exactly? Or did you change it to "CREATE USER 'kodi' IDENTIFIED BY 'kodi';"

also, your pass from the log doesn't match what you pasted here in your advancedsettings
i changed it to kodi

i was confused whether the password was what i setup ins mysql. i tried both. when it is kodi, kodi wont start. it says " 'unable to initialize, exiting".

so when the pass is kodi i cant even get a log to show crash info
Well the relevant part of your log states that :

Quote:ERROR: Unable to open database: MyVideos90 [1045](Access denied for user 'kodi'@'192.168.1.230' (using password: YES))"