Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Problems with HD satellite channels
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
I have got a Geniatech HDStar USB receiver and SD channels work fine. HD channels give artefacts several times a minute.

Using Kodi 15 (Openelec 5.95 beta 1), but I was using Helix (14.2) earlier today with the same problem. Both on TVheadend on Raspberry Pi v1 model B. USB receiver connected direct to Pi, screen appears pixellated or sometimes has a green blocky overlay but can be fine for several seconds in between.

Here's part of my log and there's a couple of interesting lines which appear to be dropped frames right towards the bottom. When this happens CPU use isn't always that high either, I have tried overclocking and not overclocking too.

Code:
17:25:41 T:1443341376   DEBUG: Curl::Debug - TEXT: Connected to 127.0.0.1 (127.0.0.1) port 9981 (#0)
17:25:41 T:1443341376   DEBUG: Curl::Debug - HEADER_OUT: GET /1_0_1_D7A4_900_2_11A0000_0_0_0.png HTTP/1.1
17:25:41 T:1443341376   DEBUG: Curl::Debug - HEADER_OUT: Host: 127.0.0.1:9981
17:25:41 T:1443341376   DEBUG: Curl::Debug - HEADER_OUT: Range: bytes=0-
17:25:41 T:1443341376   DEBUG: Curl::Debug - HEADER_OUT: User-Agent: Kodi/15.0-BETA1 (X11; Linux armv6l) OpenELEC/6.0 HW_RaspberryPi/1.0 App_Bitness/32 Version/15.0-BETA1-Git:37b4b29
17:25:41 T:1443341376   DEBUG: Curl::Debug - HEADER_OUT: Accept: */*
17:25:41 T:1443341376   DEBUG: Curl::Debug - HEADER_OUT: Accept-Charset: UTF-8,*;q=0.8
17:25:41 T:1443341376   DEBUG: Curl::Debug - HEADER_IN: HTTP/1.1 1 Unknown Code
17:25:41 T:1443341376   DEBUG: Curl::Debug - HEADER_IN: Server: HTS/tvheadend
17:25:41 T:1443341376   DEBUG: Curl::Debug - HEADER_IN: Cache-Control: no-cache
17:25:41 T:1443341376   DEBUG: Curl::Debug - HEADER_IN: Connection: Keep-Alive
17:25:41 T:1443341376   DEBUG: Curl::Debug - HEADER_IN: Content-Type: text/html
17:25:41 T:1443341376   DEBUG: Curl::Debug - HEADER_IN: Content-Length: 153
17:25:41 T:1532515392   DEBUG: Curl::Debug - TEXT: Connected to 127.0.0.1 (127.0.0.1) port 9981 (#0)
17:25:41 T:1532515392   DEBUG: Curl::Debug - HEADER_OUT: GET /1_0_1_271F_801_2_11A0000_0_0_0.png HTTP/1.1
17:25:41 T:1532515392   DEBUG: Curl::Debug - HEADER_OUT: Host: 127.0.0.1:9981
17:25:41 T:1532515392   DEBUG: Curl::Debug - HEADER_OUT: Range: bytes=0-
17:25:41 T:1532515392   DEBUG: Curl::Debug - HEADER_OUT: User-Agent: Kodi/15.0-BETA1 (X11; Linux armv6l) OpenELEC/6.0 HW_RaspberryPi/1.0 App_Bitness/32 Version/15.0-BETA1-Git:37b4b29
17:25:41 T:1532515392   DEBUG: Curl::Debug - HEADER_OUT: Accept: */*
17:25:41 T:1532515392   DEBUG: Curl::Debug - HEADER_OUT: Accept-Charset: UTF-8,*;q=0.8
17:25:41 T:1434952768   ERROR: Texture manager unable to load image from memory
17:25:41 T:1434952768   DEBUG: LoadFromFileInternal - Load of http://127.0.0.1:9981/1_0_1_CD2D_902_2_11A0000_0_0_0.png failed.
17:25:41 T:1443341376   DEBUG: Curl::Debug - TEXT: Connection #0 to host 127.0.0.1 left intact
17:25:42 T:1532515392   DEBUG: Curl::Debug - HEADER_IN: HTTP/1.1 1 Unknown Code
17:25:42 T:1532515392   DEBUG: Curl::Debug - HEADER_IN: Server: HTS/tvheadend
17:25:42 T:1532515392   DEBUG: Curl::Debug - HEADER_IN: Cache-Control: no-cache
17:25:42 T:1532515392   DEBUG: Curl::Debug - HEADER_IN: Connection: Keep-Alive
17:25:42 T:1532515392   DEBUG: Curl::Debug - HEADER_IN: Content-Type: text/html
17:25:42 T:1532515392   DEBUG: Curl::Debug - HEADER_IN: Content-Length: 153
17:25:42 T:1532515392   DEBUG: Curl::Debug - TEXT: Connection #0 to host 127.0.0.1 left intact
17:25:42 T:1443341376   ERROR: Texture manager unable to load image from memory
17:25:42 T:1443341376   ERROR: Previous line repeats 2 times.
17:25:42 T:1443341376   DEBUG: LoadFromFileInternal - Load of http://127.0.0.1:9981/1_0_1_D7A4_900_2_11A0000_0_0_0.png failed.
17:25:42 T:1826239552   ERROR: Texture manager unable to load image from memory
17:25:42 T:1826239552   DEBUG: LoadFromFileInternal - Load of http://127.0.0.1:9981/1_0_1_2540_81B_2_11A0000_0_0_0.png failed.
17:25:42 T:1532515392   ERROR: Texture manager unable to load image from memory
17:25:42 T:1434952768   DEBUG: Curl::Debug - TEXT: Found bundle for host 127.0.0.1: 0x68ef8e78
17:25:42 T:1434952768   DEBUG: Curl::Debug - TEXT: Re-using existing connection! (#0) with host 127.0.0.1

Any help is gratefully received thanks.
The snippet you posted is unrelated, please post the full log and also check the tvheadend log with debugging enabled (using the web interface).
Sorry about that, here's a link to my full log http://jpst.it/yWrp

What's the best way to get a tvheadend log? I went to the web interface, clicked debugging, entered a path to save, checked syslog and trace options but there's no log in the path I chose.
That's strange, though you can see the log in the web interface too if you expand the botto window.
Here is the code from TVheadend when I have problems:

Code:
2015-05-17 10:00:44.952 subscription: 0196: "127.0.0.1 [ Kodi Media Center ]" subscribing on channel "BBC NEWS HD", weight: 150, adapter: "Montage Technology DS3000 : DVB-S #0", network: "Freesat", mux: "11023.25H", provider: "BSkyB", service: "BBC NEWS HD", profile="htsp", hostname="127.0.0.1", client="Kodi Media Center"

2015-05-17 10:00:44.956 subscription: 0193: "scan" unsubscribing

comet failure [e=this.el.dom is undefined]

comet failure [e=this.el.dom is undefined]

2015-05-17 10:00:56.452 TS: Freesat/11023.25H/BBC NEWS HD: H264 @ #5000 Continuity counter error (total 1)

2015-05-17 10:01:09.724 TS: Freesat/11023.25H/BBC NEWS HD: H264 @ #5000 Continuity counter error (total 2)

2015-05-17 10:01:39.151 TS: Freesat/11023.25H/BBC NEWS HD: H264 @ #5000 Continuity counter error (total 3)

comet failure [e=this.el.dom is undefined]

2015-05-17 10:01:51.950 TS: Freesat/11023.25H/BBC NEWS HD: H264 @ #5000 Continuity counter error (total 4)

2015-05-17 10:01:52.039 bat: invalid checksum (len 742, errors 1)

2015-05-17 10:01:52.039 sdt: invalid checksum (len 742, errors 1)

2015-05-17 10:02:07.810 TS: Freesat/11023.25H/BBC NEWS HD: H264 @ #5000 Continuity counter error (total 6)

(PS I have done a totally clean install today, Openelec 5.95.1, enabled the unofficial repo, installed TVheadend and that's it so I know there's nothing else going on).
Did you enable debug logging in tvheadend? I was hoping it would log some kind of errors.
Are you running all this on a single Rpi? I have the same tuner and was using the same Pi. Please post your config.txt
This is also what has flagged up if I select trace in debugging:

Code:
2015-05-18 21:34:14.352 TS: Freesat/11023.25H/BBC NEWS HD: H264 @ #5000 Continuity counter error (total 3)

2015-05-18 21:34:16.288 bat: invalid checksum (len 681, errors 1)

2015-05-18 21:34:16.288 sdt: invalid checksum (len 681, errors 1)

I tried to look at other backends last night but royally screwed up my system so tonight I have done a clean install again as TVheadend just wouldn't give up my old config that was broken. Same problems - so I've installed the latest Isengard beta, then enabled unofficial add-ons, then added TVheadend both client and backend, enabled the PVR in the menu, accessed the backend webpage, enabled the card, done a network discovery and mapped it all.

I have found something that concerns me a bit though. I was missing Sky News and it's on 12.207MHz V 27500 sr. This transponder isn't even being scanned so I have added it to see what happens, then pressing force scan - that does absolutely nothing. Not even triggering anything in the logs.

My signal is perfect, I have a minidish with four outputs and on a Sky receiver 2 outputs are reported as very strong. I have tried both dish cables in the USB receiver and both give high SNR (but poor signal, although I gather reading online this is a current bug with TVheadend). FWIW I used to install satellite dishes profesionally so I know my installation is good from other checks I've done.

Here is my config.txt

Code:
sdtv_mode=2
decode_MPG2=XXXXXXX
################################################################################
#      This file is part of OpenELEC - http://www.openelec.tv
#      Copyright (C) 2009-2012 Stephan Raue ([email protected])
#      Inspired and partly copied from:
#  http://youresuchageek.blogspot.fr/2012/09/howto-raspberry-pi-openelec-on.html
#
#  This Program is free software; you can redistribute it and/or modify
#  it under the terms of the GNU General Public License as published by
#  the Free Software Foundation; either version 2, or (at your option)
#  any later version.
#
#  This Program is distributed in the hope that it will be useful,
#  but WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY; without even the implied warranty of
#  MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE. See the
#  GNU General Public License for more details.
#
#  You should have received a copy of the GNU General Public License
#  along with OpenELEC.tv; see the file COPYING.  If not, write to
#  the Free Software Foundation, 51 Franklin Street, Suite 500, Boston, MA 02110, USA.
#  http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/gpl.html
################################################################################
# Bootloader configuration - config.txt
################################################################################

################################################################################
# Memory (System/GPU configuration )
################################################################################

# default GPU memory split (do not change if you do not know what you are doing)
  gpu_mem=128

# SDRAM size based GPU memory split, uncomment and setup to override 'gpu_mem'
gpu_mem_256=128
gpu_mem_512=128

################################################################################
# Overclocking settings
# WARNING: Do not change/enable if you do not know what you are doing!
#          The System may become unstable or you can have data corruption or
#          you can loose your warranty if you set wrong settings
#
# please read: http://elinux.org/RPi_config.txt#Overclocking_configuration
################################################################################

# Overclock mode settings.
#
# default recommended values are: arm_freq | core_freq | sdram_freq | over_voltage
# no overclocking               :    700   |    250    |    400     |      0
# mode 'Modest'                 :    800   |    300    |    400     |      0
# mode 'Medium'                 :    900   |    333    |    450     |      2
# mode 'High'                   :    950   |    450    |    450     |      6
# mode 'Turbo'                  :   1000   |    500    |    500     |      6

  arm_freq=950
  core_freq=450
  sdram_freq=450
  over_voltage=6

# set to 'force_turbo=1' to disable dynamic overclocking (you can lose your warranty!)
  force_turbo=0

# If you have any data corruption using Turbo Mode and overclocking
# try with this setting uncommented
# If this still fails, try to use Medium mode without "over_voltage=2"
# If it ultimately keeps failing, forget about this until it gets fixed
# Use a more conservative mode that will works fine in any cases:
  initial_turbo=0

################################################################################
# Overscan settings
################################################################################

# Make display smaller to stop text spilling off the screen
# see also http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=67&t=15700
  overscan_scale=0
  disable_overscan=0

# Adapt overscan values to your needs
  overscan_left=0
  overscan_right=0
  overscan_top=0
  overscan_bottom=0

################################################################################
# various settings see also: http://elinux.org/RPi_config.txt
################################################################################

# Force HDMI even if unplugged or powered off
  hdmi_force_hotplug=0

################################################################################
# License keys to enable GPU hardware decoding for various codecs
# to obtain keys visit the shop at http://www.raspberrypi.com
################################################################################

# decode_MPG2=0x00000000
# decode_WVC1=0x00000000
# decode_DTS=0x00000000
# decode_DDP=0x00000000

################################################################################
# End of default configuration
# all values below this line were inserted from config.txt.bk (your old config)
# and can be merged with the above values
################################################################################
  hdmi_drive=2
  hdmi_force_edid_audio=0
  hdmi_pixel_encoding=0
  hdmi_ignore_hotplug=0
  sdtv_aspect=3
  hdmi_ignore_cec=0
  hdmi_ignore_cec_init=0
  disable_splash=0
  max_usb_current=0
  gpu_mem_1024=128
  config_hdmi_boost=0
  over_voltage_sdram=0
  hdmi_edid_file=0

Thanks for looking Smile
Try uping you gpu_mem to 192

I think you might struggle to run it all on a raspberry pi, if you see my sig, I ended up buying a pogoplug v2 and turning that into a tvheadend server. That was rock solid but raspberry pi couldnt load the epg properly due to the size of it.
Thanks for the suggestion, I've changed gpu_mem to 192 but still getting some artefacts, I cannot be sure if they are as bad as before because tbh I was a bit disheartened so have been giving it a miss lately.

What's really puzzling me though and I could use some help on this, I cannot see Sky News anywhere. There may be other channels missing but Sky News is definitely one I cannot get and I don't know why. Can anyone shed light on this? Surely I figure once there's a network discovery even if the transponder hasn't been set up on the backend it should find it? Any help is really appreciated as I'm baffled.
The issue is some ridiculous bug in tvheadend that still isn't fixed and has been like it for ages.
For some reason unbeknown to me tvheadend has a habbit of adding an arbitrary decimel place and a .25 or .50 afterwards for some frequencies, seems to totally random and it doesn't cause a problem all the time but it will cause a problem on some muxes.

For example,

BBC NEWS HD is not broadcast on 11023.25H - NOTHING - is!
It's broadcast on 11023H

What's ridiculous is that you can even add 11023H manually and somehow, somewhere tvheadend can change that to 11023.25H and you get a bad signal.

VERY few muxes in the UK broadcast on Astra 28.5/Eutelsat 28.2 ever even have a decimel point in the frequency...strangely tvheadend seems to think more than a few do.


(2015-05-17, 11:04)laptopu Wrote: [ -> ]Here is the code from TVheadend when I have problems:

Code:
2015-05-17 10:00:44.952 subscription: 0196: "127.0.0.1 [ Kodi Media Center ]" subscribing on channel "BBC NEWS HD", weight: 150, adapter: "Montage Technology DS3000 : DVB-S #0", network: "Freesat", mux: "11023.25H", provider: "BSkyB", service: "BBC NEWS HD", profile="htsp", hostname="127.0.0.1", client="Kodi Media Center"

2015-05-17 10:00:44.956 subscription: 0193: "scan" unsubscribing

comet failure [e=this.el.dom is undefined]

comet failure [e=this.el.dom is undefined]

2015-05-17 10:00:56.452 TS: Freesat/11023.25H/BBC NEWS HD: H264 @ #5000 Continuity counter error (total 1)

2015-05-17 10:01:09.724 TS: Freesat/11023.25H/BBC NEWS HD: H264 @ #5000 Continuity counter error (total 2)

2015-05-17 10:01:39.151 TS: Freesat/11023.25H/BBC NEWS HD: H264 @ #5000 Continuity counter error (total 3)

comet failure [e=this.el.dom is undefined]

2015-05-17 10:01:51.950 TS: Freesat/11023.25H/BBC NEWS HD: H264 @ #5000 Continuity counter error (total 4)

2015-05-17 10:01:52.039 bat: invalid checksum (len 742, errors 1)

2015-05-17 10:01:52.039 sdt: invalid checksum (len 742, errors 1)

2015-05-17 10:02:07.810 TS: Freesat/11023.25H/BBC NEWS HD: H264 @ #5000 Continuity counter error (total 6)

(PS I have done a totally clean install today, Openelec 5.95.1, enabled the unofficial repo, installed TVheadend and that's it so I know there's nothing else going on).

Go get rid of the .25 and I promise you that your artifacts will miraculously disappear Wink

Please feel free to report this as a bug at tvheadend site, I can't be bothered Smile
(2015-05-28, 23:52)laptopu Wrote: [ -> ]Thanks for the suggestion, I've changed gpu_mem to 192 but still getting some artefacts, I cannot be sure if they are as bad as before because tbh I was a bit disheartened so have been giving it a miss lately.

What's really puzzling me though and I could use some help on this, I cannot see Sky News anywhere. There may be other channels missing but Sky News is definitely one I cannot get and I don't know why. Can anyone shed light on this? Surely I figure once there's a network discovery even if the transponder hasn't been set up on the backend it should find it? Any help is really appreciated as I'm baffled.

Sky News has recently (ish) changed frequency.
To get your channel list setup do a google for "sky auto numbering tvheadend"...check that thread.
You'll get all the correct CURRENT frequencies imported Wink
The crap tvheadend picks up is hopelessly outdated and the bouquets function is a bad excuse for a working proper setup, badly thought out rubbish. Useless for DVB-s2/UK stuff anyway.
Just my opinion and since I'm helping out posting I'll share it too Smile
Thanks
Thanks, taking off those extra digits has made a difference - not perfect but far better than before so I know we're getting somewhere.

Now I've been doing some looking at what is happening with Sky News and this is really, really strange.

Sky News should be on 12207V which should bring up several European FTA variants.

When I put in a mux of this frequency it actually finds S4C, Propeller, Babestation etc... in other words the mux on 11343V. I am on a standard universal LNB, nothing special about the setup. I cannot see how this is happening, the two frequencies are 864MHz apart so that doesn't correlate to a strange LNB setting for example.

I have raised an issue at https://tvheadend.org/issues/2913 but this is really puzzling me. It's not like it's even a local oscillator offset issue as 864MHz just doesn't tie up to some strange offset, and if I add 864MHz onto 12207V it fails (as I would expect in honesty as that's way outside the band it will be looking for). Is 864 something to do with an IF frequency the headend somehow thinks is related to DVB-T when my adapter is DVB-S?

(Or is the answer 42? Answers on a postcard!!)

Anyway I have tried entering 12207V on a normal standalone sat receiver and it does indeed find Sky News et al so I know that frequency is the right one to be scanning. I'm hoping some expert headend user can help here, it's got me stuck.

I have tried getting that script going for autonumbering to update my muxes but I don't know where to begin. I tried putting it on the box and chmod to 777 but it said it cannot locate JSON.
Sky News shows on 12207V on mine. Service id:4704 OpenTV:516
Yep, and that's what it should do on mine, but it doesn't.

What I have noticed is when I go to about it reports the version as 0, unsure why. I am on Openelec 5.95.1 which is a beta and tvheadend 4.0.1. What could I do?
Pages: 1 2 3