Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Kodi legal self-regulation
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hey guys!

I'm new here but actually I'm being using Kodi since several years. I simply love this software and I consider it quite revolutionary and think that it will probably be the future of media.

I'm a Law student and I'm already doing some research on Kodi, since I consider that it is very interesting to have a legal approach on this software. The main focus of my research is related to the self-regulatory elements or measures carried out by Kodi to avoid incurring in legal (copyright) liability for possible unlawful uses of copyrighted works. For those who don't know what "self-regulation" is, I cite the following definition: "Self-regulation is the process whereby an organization is asked, or volunteers, to monitor its own adherence to legal, ethical, or safety standards, rather than have an outside, independent agency such as a governmental entity monitor and enforce those standards" (http://itlaw.wikia.com/wiki/Self-regulation).

In that order of ideas, I would like to show in my research how Kodi monitors its compliance with the law, mainly with regards to copyright law (self-regulation in other areas are also welcome).

For instance, I would like to know whether you have an addon or plugin take down policy or possible actions from Kodi to disable them: the establishing of copyright policies, rules and/or informing users about the ilegallity of some plug-ins.

In that sense, it will also be interesting to know whether the copyrighted content accesible via "third-party" plugins are hosted in your servers or if they are just transmitted through them or if they are only hosted on third-parties servers (the server of the addon developer? another server? which one?)