Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: View fotos in 4k on a Sony TV KD-40X8308C
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Dear support team, dear users,

I am a hobby photographer and take my pictures with a Canon DSLR that offers 8MPix in medium and 18MPix in high resolution. I use high quality optics that do indeed have enough resolution to use the pixels. For a long time I was missing a way to show the photos to my friends in an adequate manner. Now, some days ago I decided to buy a large TV for that purpose. It soon was clear, that Full HD is only 1.9 MPix and therefore not what I need. 4x is 7.9MPix and that is fine.
I bought a Sony Bravia KD-40X8308C. The system app "Album" shows my photos in 4k and I was happy. For about 10 minutes. The app is buggy and shows the photos in reverse order. It cannot be configured and so on....
After a long search it turned out: Kodi is the only app that might work, but it shrinks my photos down to Full HD.
I searched this forum and I found a lot of threads about the Kodi GUI in 4k and video in 4k but nothing about the slideshow.

My question: is there a Version of Kodi or will there be an update that can show fotos in 4k?
Or is it a question of drivers, settings and so on?
What I have:
Build Kodi 16.1 Git:2016-04-24-f6ceced
OS is Android 5.1.1 API level 22 kernel 3.10.27 (according to the Sony software information this is the newest version)
The Kodi System Information says:
Sreen Resolution 1920x1080@60Hz - Full Screen (AND THIS IS WRONG)
GPU is Mali-T624, OpenGL ES 3.1 by ARM
CPU is ARMv7 MT5890

Can anybody help? Do I need to buy some external streaming box that can do the job via HDMI?
Thanks for your help!

yours
the Elf
AFAIK (just from reading, never looked at it) photos will be shown at whatever res the GUI is at.
So if you can change your GUI to 4K that will (should, probably, disclaimers etc) work.