Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Overnight crash while idle, backtrace included
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hello,

For a while now I've been having Kodi crashing overnight while completely idle (I just use it the next day to find it has restarted). The first few times I didn't manage to capture a backtrace but I finally have. It is far too big for a pastebin site, so I put it at https://www.cae.me.uk/tmp/kodi_crashlog-...074635.log

It was left on the PVR Guide window overnight and the crash seems to be in some sort of redraw?

I hope it's useful Smile Any more info required please let me know!
Had another one this morning, looks pretty similar.

https://www.cae.me.uk/tmp/kodi_crashlog-...062604.log

Any ideas? Should I just move this to trac?
please update to 17.1 final. With some luck this crash has been fixed.
Yep, I actually did so this afternoon from the PPA, so I'll report back if they persist, thanks Smile
Okay, well it took a while as a few of my recent crashes didn't have a stacktrace (it was just empty). But the most recent one has and it looks pretty similar:

https://www.cae.me.uk/tmp/kodi_crashlog-...154242.log

So still seems to be present in 17.1
Still getting these: https://www.cae.me.uk/tmp/kodi_crashlog-...113036.log

Kodi was sat completely idle and had been since the previous evening.

Anything I can do to help track these down?
Can you disable tvheadend over the night?
I'll try that for the next few nights and let you know how it goes
Hi again,

So in preparation for doing this, I made a little bash script that simply invokes the JSON API to turn off tvheadend:

Code:
curl -s --data-binary '{"jsonrpc": "2.0", "method": "Addons.SetAddonEnabled", "params": {"addonid": "pvr.hts", "enabled": false}, "id": 1}' -H 'content-type: application/json;' http://localhost:8080/jsonrpc

I restarted Kodi for good measure and then called my script. I got a crash: https://www.cae.me.uk/tmp/kodi_crashlog-...150206.log

Subsequent attempts seem to be working though, I can happily repeatedly disable and enable it now so maybe I just tickled a race condition.

Edit: ok, hit it again: https://www.cae.me.uk/tmp/kodi_crashlog-...150621.log
Yeah, please remove pvr.hts completely when testing.
> #12 0x0000000000fc533e in PVR::CPVRClient::OnEnabled() ()
> #13 0x0000000000f3a872 in ADDON::OnDisabled(std::__cxx11::basic_string<char, std::char_traits<char>, std::allocator<char> > const&) ()
> #14 0x0000000000f6f641 in ADDON::CAddonMgr:Big GrinisableAddon(std::__cxx11::basic_string<char, std::char_traits<char>, std::allocator<char> > const&) ()

The supplied call stack seems to be corrupt. What we're seeing here - CPVRClient::OnEnabled getting called by ADDON::OnDisabled - makes no sense. Or something very strange is wrong with the build you are using.

Also had a look at the other call stacks (showing a different problem than the last one, btw) and could not make anything useful out of it.

What makes me "nervous" is the fact that nobody else seems to face the problems you have. ?!
Seen that too, therefore trying to see if it's an issue introduced by PVR subsystem.
Thanks for looking into it ksooo and fritsch Smile There's nothing special about the build I'm using at all, it's direct from the stable ppa:

Code:
$ dpkg -l | grep -i kodi
ii  kodi                               2:17.1~git20170320.2031-final-0xenial      all          Kodi Media Center (arch-independent data package)
ii  kodi-bin                           2:17.1~git20170320.2031-final-0xenial      amd64        Kodi Media Center (binary data package)
ii  kodi-pvr-hts                       3.4.17-1~xenial                            amd64        TVHeadEnd PVR for Kodi

So the corrupt stack traces are annoying, not sure why this would be Sad

And I don't think my settings are terribly exotic, I mainly use this for watching PVR and the occasional local library video. I will try disabling hts overnight for a few days and see if any crashes occur then. I also use the titan beta skin so I'll try switching back to stock estuary to see if that changes anything at all.
May I suggest to not to change two things at once. Maybe you start by only switching back to stock Estuary skin while keeping pvr.hts activated over night.
Fair point, will do Smile
Pages: 1 2