Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: introducing SUI
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6
hello all.

i've been using xbmc for a few years now. i think it's time i contribute Wink

introducing SUI:

when i started throwing around ideas for a skin, i came to the following conclusions:

one: i wanted something simple. to me, simplicity is important. not only did i want a skin that was easy to navigate, but i also wanted to hide/remove all the unimportant stuff from the skin, so that the true focus is the media, not icon and backgrounds.

and two: i wanted something clean. SUI is all about subtle changes. that's why it features smooth fading and slide animations. it had to be clean, and it had to look good on my new HDTV. Big Grin album art appears large onscreen, showing you instantly what is being played. the same for movie posters. unselected items in lists fade to white, giving the skin an elegant look.

the main platform i'll be developing for will be widescreens. especially laptops and HDTVs, so no standard definition textures and aspect ratios (for now).

features:
-a simple, clean, and elegant interface
-an album art/picture/movie poster centered design
-limited view types to enable a more balanced look and feel
-hidden menus that appear only when needed
-fast, flawless animations that don't waste your time and that don't get in your way
-low memory footprint (i have to be able to multitask)

release date: the near future (i wish i could release it now, i really do!) i'm a graphics student, that means i have to do this on my own time, on top of school work, a job, friends, family, and life. but don't fret, this is already a working prototype. there will be an alpha release soon!

enjoy the teaser!
-garrett
Wauw! This is perfect for the Xbox in my Car! Big Grin
Would like to be a tester!Big Grin

And a Bloc Party fan! Is that a Lollapalooza image?