Kodi Community Forum
[RELEASE] Free Cable - US station aggregator - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (http://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Add-ons Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=27)
+---- Forum: Video Add-ons (/forumdisplay.php?fid=154)
+---- Thread: [RELEASE] Free Cable - US station aggregator (/showthread.php?tid=101938)



- BlueCop - 2012-01-13 03:04

was it only on spike shows?

spike is a viacom owned company. viacom owned companies split their videos into segments. Each episode is a stack of these segments. Each segment is a separate connection though. This might have caused problems when switching segments or the new connection was slow.

I have had weird issues specifically on comcast with streaming. It will sometimes just keep buffering an rtmp stream. I will have tons of free bandwidth. It always plays fine when I restart the stream though.

This never happens on att uverse connection. I think comcast has some throttling that doesn't work very well.


- bladeds - 2012-01-13 13:32

is there any chance you can add freecable onto navi-x. as i am using a apple tv 2 the scraping is painfully slow and is instant on navi-x for nbc,abc.


- ctarwater - 2012-01-13 16:03

BlueCop - thanks, that got it working!


- BlueCop - 2012-01-13 16:04

nope. navix isn't capable of AMF. I also dislike the navi-x interface. I am against intermediate servers as well. scaping happens instantly on my htpc.


- bladeds - 2012-01-17 14:05

Ive tried freecable on my laptop and it scraped instantly on there, I dont think the apple tv 2 is fast enough


- dynaflash - 2012-01-17 17:06

bladeds Wrote:Ive tried freecable on my laptop and it scraped instantly on there, I dont think the apple tv 2 is fast enough

Hmm, scraping here on a couple of atv 1's. Its not instant but definitely quick enough. Not a showstopper by any means. Atv1 is considerably slower than Atv2 from a cpu standpoint. Strange.


- ronmcse - 2012-01-17 17:25

I agree, ATV2 is painfully slow on Freecable NBC. ABC works fast enough for me to live with.


- BlueCop - 2012-01-17 20:30

atv1 is faster in some things. atv2 is arm with a gpu. it offloads the h264 video decoding through the apple api which uses the gpu.

atv1 running linux and xbmc is amazing. I set that up a while back.


- dynaflash - 2012-01-17 20:40

BlueCop Wrote:atv1 is faster in some things. atv2 is arm with a gpu. it offloads the h264 video decoding through the apple api which uses the gpu.

atv1 running linux and xbmc is amazing. I set that up a while back.

Fair enough. I should have added I am running atv 1s running linux with the CHD chip. Yes, it is quite amazing. that said I still would have figured scraping was faster on the atv 2. Bluecop, you don't miss a beat Wink


- macf1an - 2012-01-17 20:49

why not head to the navi-x forum and post a request there - there are some pretty talented dudes behind it


- sproket - 2012-01-17 23:28

Syfy, USA not working

http://pastebin.com/aWwHDmsv


- BlueCop - 2012-01-17 23:45

thanks. I just looked at sci-fi. I am half-way done with a fix for it. They seem to be using these json feeds now from another site.

The good news is that sci-fi is actually using much higher bitrate/resolution videos.

I will look at usa after that.


- sproket - 2012-01-18 02:05

thanks for prompt response Smile


- mikeplow1961 - 2012-01-19 09:10

Thanks very much for a great add on.

On CBS I'm unable to get any of the full episodes of Late Night With Letterman to work. The clips and highlights work fine but not full shows, it gives a script fail error

Could anyone, in the uk ideally, check and see if they get the same?
Thanks


- bladeds - 2012-01-19 15:43

BlueCop Wrote:atv1 is faster in some things. atv2 is arm with a gpu. it offloads the h264 video decoding through the apple api which uses the gpu.

atv1 running linux and xbmc is amazing. I set that up a while back.

hulu scrapes instantly for me , so i mainly just use that