Kodi Community Forum
DIY Ambient Lighting - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (http://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Announcements, Info, and General Discussion (/forumdisplay.php?fid=85)
+--- Forum: Kodi General Discussion (/forumdisplay.php?fid=6)
+--- Thread: DIY Ambient Lighting (/showthread.php?tid=110852)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11


- bobo1on1 - 2011-11-23 18:04

It's 8 bit linear, your eyes are logarithmic, if the controller was 8 bit sRGB then it would be good enough, but 8 bit linear doesn't have enough resolution in the low range, which is noticeable in a slow fade to black.


- Cribbe6 - 2011-11-24 11:57

MartijnGP Wrote:Having all those LEDs in the same color kind of defeats the purpose of having multiple controllers, don't you think? I could just buy a 5M LED string and hook it up to my Arduino with just 3 transistors and a resistor.

@pike: 8 bit per color. Makes 24 bit full color, which is decent.

They are not in the same color.
My UNO board can control each and everyone of the LEDs independently using a serial signal running through 2 wires (clock data).


- illiac4 - 2011-12-12 07:28

Question for bobo1on1:
Which resolution does boblightd takes when sampling the screen? The one from XBMC (720P or. 1080p)?

If it takes the one set in XBMC it means that the processor usage is different with HDReady and FullHD TVs?

If yes is it possible to set sampling resolution in boblight so it will sample at lets say lower resolution than the one used in XBMC?


- bobo1on1 - 2011-12-12 16:39

boblight-X11 uses 64x64 pixels when xrender mode is used, and 16x16 pixels when xgetimage mode is used, this is to decrease cpu usage.
The boblight add-on for XBMC captures 32x32 pixel video frames.


- illiac4 - 2011-12-12 18:57

bobo1on1 Wrote:boblight-X11 uses 64x64 pixels when xrender mode is used, and 16x16 pixels when xgetimage mode is used, this is to decrease cpu usage.
The boblight add-on for XBMC captures 32x32 pixel video frames.

Tnx for answer. So it is not affected by screen resolution. Good to hear that.


- youngsilver - 2011-12-30 05:26

I'm going to try this for my 46" but I'm going to need a bit of help as I can't figure out which strips work with what controllers. I want to use strips because they look like they would be easy to mount, so I suspect I will need 3 meters. I found these https://www.adafruit.com/products/306 will they work and if so what controller would I need to drive all 3 meters? I have an uno lying around but dont mind getting a different controller. Or, if there is a cheaper or better solution, lets have it Wink THANKS!


- liran - 2012-01-07 02:56

Hey, sorry about putting the subject after a long time, but as I read more and try to understand, so I became more confused.
I'd interested if any of you help me make some order in my head ...

1. There are a number of projects that enable the implementation of Ambilight with Arduino, eg Adalight, Amblone and Boblight.
Wich a project can get the best results, what is most recommended project?

2. Amblone and Boblight allow channel separation: All RGB Strip use 3 PWM outputs, ie for two-channel activation, required an Arduino card with at least six PWM outputs, and so on (in multiples of three). In contrast, Adalight displays no less impressive results by using three PWM outputs, ie only one channel. How exactly? What am I missing?

3. If I can connect, for example, a strand of 25 RGB LEDs (as long as the power source allows it) and control them separately by using only one channel (like Adalight), Why should I "run" and purchase Arduino card with amount greater PWM outputs (like Mega)?

Thanks, Liran.


- bobo1on1 - 2012-01-07 17:21

Adalight uses a special led strand that has an RGB controller for each led individually, those controllers are then driven from an arduino.


- liran - 2012-01-07 23:44

So, if I want to implement the Ambilight using RGB LED Strips (not Strand!), I need to choose one of the two following solutions: Boblight or Amblone. Correct me if I'm wrong.

What about this project: http://fun3md.blogspot.com/2009/12/overview-of-my-setup.html?

Which of the three projects allows the use of a greater amount of channels?

Sorry about the questions but I'm new on this ...


- illiac4 - 2012-01-08 21:51

I would say go with adalight and boblight if you are on linux. I have already buld two one based on amblone but with boblight and other with ws2801 led stripe and boblight. For the first one i have written tutorial under linux section on this forum, for other based on adalight take a look at http://stmlabs.com/forum/topic/tutorial-appletv-ambilight-based-on-ws2801-and-arduino

If you are going to build the one on ws2801 stripe just go with arduino Duemilanove because you do not need pwm outputs. If you are going to build four channel rgb stripe based one than go with mega.


- bobo1on1 - 2012-01-15 23:10

Something arduino based is always good, since the arduino firmware is very easy to write and update.


- blubb1 - 2012-01-16 00:50

has anyone got this working with xbmc at his appletv2?


- smajor - 2012-02-13 11:22

illiac4 Wrote:I would say go with adalight and boblight if you are on linux. I have already buld two one based on amblone but with boblight and other with ws2801 led stripe and boblight. For the first one i have written tutorial under linux section on this forum, for other based on adalight take a look at http://stmlabs.com/forum/topic/tutorial-appletv-ambilight-based-on-ws2801-and-arduino

If you are going to build the one on ws2801 stripe just go with arduino Duemilanove because you do not need pwm outputs. If you are going to build four channel rgb stripe based one than go with mega.

I second that! Nice tutorial!
Adalight supports 100+ channels.


- lrusak - 2012-02-14 22:18

Cribbe6 Wrote:Sorry missed some things in your post.

They shift virtually at the same time.
You will never see a difference between the first and the last LED providing they show the same color that is Wink

I would not worry to much. Get a UNO board and 2 x 25 LED from adafruit.com.
I can really recommend this setup.

I can't see how to edit the code to work with 2 x 25 LED strips, would you mine posting a picture of how your strips are setup and possibly explain how you edited the code?

Thanks


- smajor - 2012-02-14 22:31

lrusak Wrote:I can't see how to edit the code to work with 2 x 25 LED strips, would you mine posting a picture of how your strips are setup and possibly explain how you edited the code?

Thanks

Are You using the so called Smile 'processing'?
Im using lightpack instead. Its working now out-of-the-box like with adalight. Take a look at my configurator. You'll see!