Kodi Community Forum
How to Power ON/OFF your HTPC using a Remote? - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (http://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Hardware for Kodi (/forumdisplay.php?fid=112)
+--- Thread: How to Power ON/OFF your HTPC using a Remote? (/showthread.php?tid=111310)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48


RE: How to Power ON/OFF your HTPC using a Remote? - marck120 - 2014-06-24 12:22

(2014-06-24 02:31)DocG Wrote:  
(2014-06-23 13:38)marck120 Wrote:  The article that I had shown was this: http://blog.tynemouthsoftware.co.uk/2012/04/asrock-cir-remote-demystified.html, I had not realized it was a project carried out by you, in this photo but you write that you have soldered the cable to the device: http://www.imagebam.com/image/f16a9e334730441

The audio cables from the CD-ROM are still in business ?

I forgot to ask you something, what about you which remote you use ?

The case antec isk 110 I have chosen is very small, I have to find a way to place the CIR receiver so that it takes the signal from the remote control, do you have any solution to this ?

Not my project, I simply copied the wiring. I did not need to solder anything, nor would I solder anything to my motherboard.

I had plenty of spare old audio cables, but you can use just about any cable with appropriate connectors.

I'm using an old standard MCE remote. Any standard MCE remote should do.

At the front, where there's a little hole in the case, or a mesh. Also depends on what CIR receiver you're going to chose. If you just wire up a TSOP4838 to your CIR header, that thing is small, it fits just about anywhere.


Thank you, ok now I understand. Regarding the IR receiver I was going to use this : http://www.conrad.it/ce/it/product/181819/?insert=U0&insertNoDeeplink&productname=Ricevitore-IR-36-kHz-950-nm-Conrad-IR-R-36 , Costs 5 euro, if I take the model should I buy TSOP4838 cable too, unfortunately I do not have spare cables to be used, I checked in the various shop but I could not find the cable with the connector at suitable. I do not necessarily need to use an audio cable to CD-ROM ?


RE: How to Power ON/OFF your HTPC using a Remote? - -DDD- - 2014-06-24 12:37

(2014-06-23 22:26)marck120 Wrote:  In the system of asrock smart remote I thought that the front USB ports of the PC were connected to the connector CIR. So the key asrock smart remote works on any PC, no need for a motherboard with CIR connector at ? If the key is not connected to the connector asrock CIR how do you wake up the PC from S5 state ?
You personally with the CIR device which remote you use ? Use the CIR device that you recommended to me ? The PC starts at the touch of a button on the remote control ?

One of the FrontUSB Ports would act like an CIR Port, the other would be an normal USB Port.
What Key do you mean?!
I use an Logitech 600, you can see my HTPC in my Signature: http://www.sysprofile.de/id168952
Here is my USB/CIR Slot where i put in a USB Cable to the Asrock Smart Remote: http://www.abload.de/img/100_2717aeuat.jpg
No i wouldn't recommend the Asrock Smart Remote, cause you can't buy it anymore, but the one from Conrad should be fine.
The PC can start with the Touch of an Button on the Harmony, but i use mostly an BIOS Option to start my PC when i Switch On my
Power Strip http://www.gruenspar.de/brennenstuhl-6fach-ecoline-steckdosenleiste-mit-fussschalter.html
Then both, my TV and my HTPC boot to XBMC/OpenElec.


RE: How to Power ON/OFF your HTPC using a Remote? - DocG - 2014-06-24 12:50

(2014-06-24 12:22)marck120 Wrote:  Thank you, ok now I understand. Regarding the IR receiver I was going to use this : http://www.conrad.it/ce/it/product/181819/?insert=U0&insertNoDeeplink&productname=Ricevitore-IR-36-kHz-950-nm-Conrad-IR-R-36 , Costs 5 euro, if I take the model should I buy TSOP4838 cable too, unfortunately I do not have spare cables to be used, I checked in the various shop but I could not find the cable with the connector at suitable. I do not necessarily need to use an audio cable to CD-ROM ?

There is no such thing as a TSOP4838 cable, and that receiver seems to come with its own cable. A TSOP4838 is just a ir receiver. That's why you use just any old cable to wire it to your CIR header.

If you get a complete receiver, you don't need any other cable, nor do you need to wire anything, you just plug it in on your motherboard.


RE: How to Power ON/OFF your HTPC using a Remote? - -DDD- - 2014-06-24 13:16

But always you have to check if the Wiring is right, cause there is no one Standard wiring for CIR, Intel have one, Asrock have another, you always have to check if the wires are right for your Board.
I also have to rewire my Internal USB Cable to fit it to my Intel Mainboard.


RE: How to Power ON/OFF your HTPC using a Remote? - marck120 - 2014-06-24 14:53

(2014-06-24 12:37)-DDD- Wrote:  
(2014-06-23 22:26)marck120 Wrote:  In the system of asrock smart remote I thought that the front USB ports of the PC were connected to the connector CIR. So the key asrock smart remote works on any PC, no need for a motherboard with CIR connector at ? If the key is not connected to the connector asrock CIR how do you wake up the PC from S5 state ?
You personally with the CIR device which remote you use ? Use the CIR device that you recommended to me ? The PC starts at the touch of a button on the remote control ?

One of the FrontUSB Ports would act like an CIR Port, the other would be an normal USB Port.
What Key do you mean?!
I use an Logitech 600, you can see my HTPC in my Signature: http://www.sysprofile.de/id168952
Here is my USB/CIR Slot where i put in a USB Cable to the Asrock Smart Remote: http://www.abload.de/img/100_2717aeuat.jpg
No i wouldn't recommend the Asrock Smart Remote, cause you can't buy it anymore, but the one from Conrad should be fine.
The PC can start with the Touch of an Button on the Harmony, but i use mostly an BIOS Option to start my PC when i Switch On my
Power Strip http://www.gruenspar.de/brennenstuhl-6fach-ecoline-steckdosenleiste-mit-fussschalter.html
Then both, my TV and my HTPC boot to XBMC/OpenElec.


It is true, I mean connect the CIR to the USB port of the PC, the front USB port of your PC and then become a CIR port ?

I made a picture to explain better: http://www.imagebam.com/image/a8192f334918454

Your CIR receiver is located outside the PC ? It is connected to an external USB cable ?

The black box that you see in your photo you need ? It is not the CIR receiver ?
http://www.imagebam.com/image/651117334920594

The antec isk 110 is very small, I thought to connect the CIR receiver to the external port of the PC, is it possible ?

Regarding the USB stick this meant the asrock: http://www.imagebam.com/image/e45ca4334921801, this key functions independently ? He does not need the connector at CIR connected to the external USB port of your PC ?


RE: How to Power ON/OFF your HTPC using a Remote? - marck120 - 2014-06-24 15:07

(2014-06-24 12:50)DocG Wrote:  
(2014-06-24 12:22)marck120 Wrote:  Thank you, ok now I understand. Regarding the IR receiver I was going to use this : http://www.conrad.it/ce/it/product/181819/?insert=U0&insertNoDeeplink&productname=Ricevitore-IR-36-kHz-950-nm-Conrad-IR-R-36 , Costs 5 euro, if I take the model should I buy TSOP4838 cable too, unfortunately I do not have spare cables to be used, I checked in the various shop but I could not find the cable with the connector at suitable. I do not necessarily need to use an audio cable to CD-ROM ?

There is no such thing as a TSOP4838 cable, and that receiver seems to come with its own cable. A TSOP4838 is just a ir receiver. That's why you use just any old cable to wire it to your CIR header.

If you get a complete receiver, you don't need any other cable, nor do you need to wire anything, you just plug it in on your motherboard.

Yes, I meant that there is not a standard cable to the receiver CIR, in fact I was looking for a cable similar to the one you used in your PC, the problem is that I can not find it. I explained to him that you have used an audio cable to CD-ROM, I looked at this, but I think it goes well: http://www.ebay.it/itm/Cavo-audio-CD-Rom-DVD-collegamento-con-scheda-audio-o-scheda-madre-tipo-C-/151238176438


RE: How to Power ON/OFF your HTPC using a Remote? - marck120 - 2014-06-26 03:36

@-DDD-

Hello, I'm sorry for the trouble, explain to me how your USB / CIR Slot ?

"Here is my USB / CIR slot where i put in a USB Cable to the Asrock Smart Remote"

Use a CIR receiver connected to an external USB cable out of the PC ?

In the picture you showed me I could not figure out where the receiver is located CIR.


RE: How to Power ON/OFF your HTPC using a Remote? - -DDD- - 2014-06-26 19:14

The Receiver is located on an external USB Cable under my TV.
http://abload.de/img/img_20140626_191010_6cej07.jpg

Where do you want to locate your IR and your Case?
My Asrock Solution is outside of my Case, you want it internal, right?


RE: How to Power ON/OFF your HTPC using a Remote? - marck120 - 2014-06-26 23:25

(2014-06-26 19:14)-DDD- Wrote:  The Receiver is located on an external USB Cable under my TV.
http://abload.de/img/img_20140626_191010_6cej07.jpg

Where do you want to locate your IR and your Case?
My Asrock Solution is outside of my Case, you want it internal, right?


Thank you so much for letting me respond.

I also thought to place the IR receiver out of the case, connecting the IR receiver to an external USB cable like the one you showed me in the picture.

I wanted to know one thing, the USB port of the Case where you entered the IR receiver and connected to the connector CIR1 the mobo ?

http://www.imagebam.com/image/092f9c335341762


RE: How to Power ON/OFF your HTPC using a Remote? - -DDD- - 2014-06-26 23:57

You want to use this IR outside of the Case?
http://www.conrad.it/ce/it/product/181819/?insert=U0&insertNoDeeplink&productname=Ricevitore-IR-36-kHz-950-nm-Conrad-IR-R-36
Then i wouldn't use the USB Ports, just extend the 3 CIR Wires from inside the case to your place where the IR should sit.


RE: How to Power ON/OFF your HTPC using a Remote? - marck120 - 2014-06-27 00:11

(2014-06-26 23:57)-DDD- Wrote:  You want to use this IR outside of the Case?
http://www.conrad.it/ce/it/product/181819/?insert=U0&insertNoDeeplink&productname=Ricevitore-IR-36-kHz-950-nm-Conrad-IR-R-36
Then i wouldn't use the USB Ports, just extend the 3 CIR Wires from inside the case to your place where the IR should sit.

I use an IR receiver identical to yours: http://www.imagebam.com/image/e16b0a335347724

The front USB port of your case is connected to the connector of the CIR mobo ?

This IR receiver that you have shown me : http://www.conrad.it/ce/it/product/181819/?insert=U0&insertNoDeeplink&productname=Ricevitore-IR-36-kHz-950-nm-Conrad-IR-R-36 You can connect it to the USB port outside of the case ? With maybe some adapter.


RE: How to Power ON/OFF your HTPC using a Remote? - -DDD- - 2014-06-27 00:40

When you have an Asrock Smart Remote, why do you ask about the one from Conrad?

Yes, my internal FrontUSB Cable is connected to my CIR Port of my Intel Mainboard.


RE: How to Power ON/OFF your HTPC using a Remote? - marck120 - 2014-06-27 01:10

(2014-06-27 00:40)-DDD- Wrote:  When you have an Asrock Smart Remote, why do you ask about the one from Conrad?

Yes, my internal FrontUSB Cable is connected to my CIR Port of my Intel Mainboard.


First of all thank you for availability

I do not own the receiver Asrock Smart Remote, I was thinking of using the 'Asrock Smart Remote because it is easier to install, if I use the IR receiver IR Conrad-R-36 should make a hole on the front of the case, otherwise the IR diode does not receive the remote control signal.

Is there any adapter to connect the IR receiver IR Conrad-R-36 port usb front of the case ?

You have purchased this kit ? http://www.amazon.de/Remote-ASRock-Smart-Fernbedienung-Empf% C3% A4nger/dp/B005516NSM,


RE: How to Power ON/OFF your HTPC using a Remote? - marck120 - 2014-07-04 01:14

Excuse me, a question about the fast kit simerec: http://www.simerec.com/

The kit simerec communicates with the remote with the RC6 protocol ?

Simerec The kit is compatible with xbmc ? With a MCE remote or logitech harmony can also control xbmc ?

Please allow about drivers suitable for xbmc to communicate with the remote and the receiver simerec ?


RE: How to Power ON/OFF your HTPC using a Remote? - -DDD- - 2014-07-04 07:49

Maybe you get an answer here: http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=187516