Kodi Community Forum
[RELEASE] Official XBMC boblight Addon - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (http://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Add-ons Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=27)
+---- Forum: Service Add-ons (/forumdisplay.php?fid=152)
+---- Thread: [RELEASE] Official XBMC boblight Addon (/showthread.php?tid=116331)



- schumi2004 - 2012-02-27 15:28

Upgraded tot RC1 today with OpenELEC (build r9916 x64) and there the addon seems to be broken, a binary library is missing.

edit:
Only works on i386, issue solved.

edit2:
I can open settings menu from remote but is it also possible to enable/disable boblight with 1 single key press?


- phil65 - 2012-02-27 18:37

Memphiz Wrote:As already stated at least 2 times in this thread. This is not possible atm (only when video gets rendered ...)

ok, sorry. didn´t read through all pages. are there plans to add that feature in the future?
another thing: my ambilight starts to flicker sometimes. there´s no real way to replicate that, but it happens now and then.
could this be related to settings?
i compiled a program to virtually re-plug the arduino using libusb and mapped that to a button on my remote, that´s the only way to get it working again without rebooting. Resetting the arduino or restarting the boblight server doesn´t help.
I also have to use that program when returning from standby. if not, the output will always stay in static light.
I´m using two tlc5940´s for my ambilight, if that could be important.

EDIT: wrong quote, sorry Big Grin


- schumi2004 - 2012-02-29 23:30

Memphiz Wrote:Post a xbmc.log with debugging turned on...

As requested http://pastebin.com/hVZZiUxm

I played Alcatraz 107 and it worked for a split second on custom, when the leds turned off i stopped episode and changed it back to fast.


- Memphiz - 2012-03-01 11:02

schumi2004 Wrote:As requested http://pastebin.com/hVZZiUxm

I played Alcatraz 107 and it worked for a split second on custom, when the leds turned off i stopped episode and changed it back to fast.

Everything in your log looks good. Beside that you seem to have set Saturation to 0 sometimes which might be wrong.

You have to debug on the boblightd (by activating debug and running it in the foreground) and see what it sends to the arduino.

This issue doesn't seem to be a problem with the addon.


- schumi2004 - 2012-03-01 18:18

Memphiz Wrote:Everything in your log looks good. Beside that you seem to have set Saturation to 0 sometimes which might be wrong.

You have to debug on the boblightd (by activating debug and running it in the foreground) and see what it sends to the arduino.

This issue doesn't seem to be a problem with the addon.

Thanks for looking in to it and that you mentioned Saturation.
In XBMC Boblight i changed Saturation 1 up and now it seems to work Wink

Thanks again.

Other question and maybe you can help me with it also. I'm playing with custom settings and i'm trying to get the same as in Fast but a little bit slower.
What settings should i use? Can't seem to get it right.

What are the settings for Fast mode to use in custom?


- Memphiz - 2012-03-01 23:27

here you go https://github.com/bobo1on1/script.xbmc.boblight/blob/master/script.xbmc.boblight/resources/lib/settings.py#L165


- schumi2004 - 2012-03-01 23:53

Memphiz Wrote:here you go https://github.com/bobo1on1/script.xbmc.boblight/blob/master/script.xbmc.boblight/resources/lib/settings.py#L165

Thanks.
Funny though because 10 seconds ago i also found them Wink

Code:
elif preset == 2:     #preset action
    saturation    = 3.0
    value         = 10.0
    speed         = 80.0
    autospeed     = 0.0  
    interpolation = 0
    threshold     = 0.0

Going to play with them.

edit:
is there a guide that explains the settings a bit?


- Memphiz - 2012-03-02 10:32

Thats bobs part now Smile


- bobo1on1 - 2012-03-02 17:03

Saturation and value are multipliers for HSV color space: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HSL_and_HSV

Speed is a factor for a first order lowpass filter, it goes from 0 to 100, the higher you set it the faster the lights react.
Autospeed adjusts the speed on top of that based on how fast the colors are changing, it kind of sucks to be honest.

Interpolation is a setting for a boblightd output device, when it's on it will interpolate between the last two writes of a client, I suggest turning it off in the xbmc addon.

Pixels below the threshold value will be considered as black pixels, it goes from 0 to 255, I suggest setting it to something like 10.


- schumi2004 - 2012-03-02 20:11

Thanks for the explanation bobo1on1.


- phil65 - 2012-03-03 04:56

schumi2004 Wrote:Thanks for the explanation bobo1on1.

i´m tryin to get the cygwin windows build running now. what do i have to place in the boblight.conf as output?
i tried com3, COM3, "com3" and "COM3", but nothing seems to work.

(CDeviceRS232::SetupDevice) ERROR: arduino: com3: No such file or directory

(arduino IDE says COM3 is correct)
any ideas?


- schumi2004 - 2012-03-03 13:29

@phil65
I'm running OpenELEC which works out of the box. Friend of mine is using Windows 7 and has COM3 in his config. It's accepted by boblightd.exe but for some reason the lights won't go on.


- bobo1on1 - 2012-03-03 16:56

phil65 Wrote:i´m tryin to get the cygwin windows build running now. what do i have to place in the boblight.conf as output?
i tried com3, COM3, "com3" and "COM3", but nothing seems to work.

(CDeviceRS232::SetupDevice) ERROR: arduino: com3: No such file or directory

(arduino IDE says COM3 is correct)
any ideas?

Try /dev/com3


- phil65 - 2012-03-03 18:27

/dev/ttyS0 seems to connect, but i do not get any light when using the boblight xbmc client. any other ideas?
would it be possible to run the openwrt package on a fritzbox with freetz installed? would be my plan B Big Grin


- schumi2004 - 2012-03-03 18:41

Isn't there a good Windows how-to to get boblight working?
I have tried several exe's and config's but non of them work.