Kodi Community Forum
[Apple TV 1] Crystalbunu no video through AV Receiver - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (http://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Kodi General Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=111)
+---- Forum: Linux and Live support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=52)
+---- Thread: [Apple TV 1] Crystalbunu no video through AV Receiver (/showthread.php?tid=125844)



Crystalbunu no video through AV Receiver - mattak - 2012-03-17 23:30

Hi there.

As has been said before I just wanted to thank Sam for his amazing work. I stumbled upon this place after finding out about 1080p on the original AppleTV and my lonely box has now been given a new lease of life!

I installed crystalbuntu using the USB installer and erased my HD. Everything seems to be working fine but the only issue I'm having is getting any sound or picture through my AV receiver. Originally I thought the whole installation failed but everything works perfectly when I plug the ATV into a TV or projector.

I have a Denon AVR-4308 which should be able to handle anything thrown at it.

When I plug the ATV into the devon via HDMI I see the boot up logo and all the white text but when it gets to launching XBMC I see nothing on my projector.
If I plug the ATV directly into my projector everything works fine.

I've tried changing many settings on my Denon and XBMC but can't get it to work. I'm quite new to all this and I was wondering if anyone can provide me with some help. Not sure where to go from here.

Thanks in advance.

Mattak


RE: Crystalbunu no video through AV Receiver - Sam.Nazarko - 2012-03-18 02:05

This is an EDID handshaking issue. You either need a custom Modeline because your support resolutions are being exposed incorrectly to X11 or a custom edid.bin dump


RE: Crystalbunu no video through AV Receiver - mattak - 2012-03-18 02:13

Wow a reply from the man himself Smile

Not really sure what all that means. Is there somewhere I can find out more about what to do or could you explain a little more?

Thanks


RE: Crystalbunu no video through AV Receiver - mattak - 2012-03-18 17:44

I've done some digging in the forums and had a look at my Xorg.0.log when connected to the projector and the Denon receiver.

When connected to the devon it says:


(II) Setting vga for screen 0.
(**) NVIDIA(0): Depth 24, (--) framebuffer bpp 32
(==) NVIDIA(0): RGB weight 888
(==) NVIDIA(0): Default visual is TrueColor
(==) NVIDIA(0): Using gamma correction (1.0, 1.0, 1.0)
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "NoLogo" "True"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "RegistryDwords" "RMDisableRenderToSysmem=1"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "DynamicTwinView" "false"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Enabling RENDER acceleration
(II) NVIDIA(0): NVIDIA GPU GeForce Go 7300 (G72) at PCI:1:0:0 (GPU-0)
(--) NVIDIA(0): Memory: 65536 kBytes
(--) NVIDIA(0): VideoBIOS: 05.72.22.68.00
(II) NVIDIA(0): Detected PCI Express Link width: 2X
(--) NVIDIA(0): Interlaced video modes are supported on this GPU
(--) NVIDIA(0): Connected display device(s) on GeForce Go 7300 at PCI:1:0:0:
(--) NVIDIA(0): DON DENON-AVAMP (DFP-0)
(--) NVIDIA(0): DON DENON-AVAMP (DFP-0): 165.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
(--) NVIDIA(0): DON DENON-AVAMP (DFP-0): Internal Single Link TMDS
(II) NVIDIA(0): Assigned Display Device: DFP-0
(WW) NVIDIA(0):
(WW) NVIDIA(0): No modes were requested; the default mode "nvidia-auto-select"
(WW) NVIDIA(0): will be used as the requested mode.
(WW) NVIDIA(0):
(II) NVIDIA(0): Validated modes:
(II) NVIDIA(0): "nvidia-auto-select"
(II) NVIDIA(0): Virtual screen size determined to be 1920 x 1080
(WW) NVIDIA(0): DON DENON-AVAMP (DFP-0)'s EDID does not contain a maximum
(WW) NVIDIA(0): image size; cannot compute DPI from DON DENON-AVAMP
(WW) NVIDIA(0): (DFP-0)'s EDID.
(==) NVIDIA(0): DPI set to (75, 75); computed from built-in default
(==) NVIDIA(0): Disabling 32-bit ARGB GLX visuals.
(--) Depth 24 pixmap format is 32 bpp
(II) do I need RAC? No, I don't.


when connected to the projector it says:

(II) Setting vga for screen 0.
(**) NVIDIA(0): Depth 24, (--) framebuffer bpp 32
(==) NVIDIA(0): RGB weight 888
(==) NVIDIA(0): Default visual is TrueColor
(==) NVIDIA(0): Using gamma correction (1.0, 1.0, 1.0)
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "NoLogo" "True"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "RegistryDwords" "RMDisableRenderToSysmem=1"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "DynamicTwinView" "false"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Enabling RENDER acceleration
(II) NVIDIA(0): NVIDIA GPU GeForce Go 7300 (G72) at PCI:1:0:0 (GPU-0)
(--) NVIDIA(0): Memory: 65536 kBytes
(--) NVIDIA(0): VideoBIOS: 05.72.22.68.00
(II) NVIDIA(0): Detected PCI Express Link width: 2X
(--) NVIDIA(0): Interlaced video modes are supported on this GPU
(--) NVIDIA(0): Connected display device(s) on GeForce Go 7300 at PCI:1:0:0:
(--) NVIDIA(0): Panasonic AE-4000 (DFP-0)
(--) NVIDIA(0): Panasonic AE-4000 (DFP-0): 165.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
(--) NVIDIA(0): Panasonic AE-4000 (DFP-0): Internal Single Link TMDS
(II) NVIDIA(0): Assigned Display Device: DFP-0
(WW) NVIDIA(0):
(WW) NVIDIA(0): No modes were requested; the default mode "nvidia-auto-select"
(WW) NVIDIA(0): will be used as the requested mode.
(WW) NVIDIA(0):
(II) NVIDIA(0): Validated modes:
(II) NVIDIA(0): "nvidia-auto-select"
(II) NVIDIA(0): Virtual screen size determined to be 1920 x 1080
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Panasonic AE-4000 (DFP-0)'s EDID does not contain a maximum
(WW) NVIDIA(0): image size; cannot compute DPI from Panasonic AE-4000
(WW) NVIDIA(0): (DFP-0)'s EDID.
(==) NVIDIA(0): DPI set to (75, 75); computed from built-in default
(==) NVIDIA(0): Disabling 32-bit ARGB GLX visuals.
(--) Depth 24 pixmap format is 32 bpp
(II) do I need RAC? No, I don't.

It seems to be the same for both connections so I have no idea why one works and the other doesn't.

Any ideas?