Kodi Community Forum
How to dim/show working? - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Development (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=32)
+--- Forum: Add-ons (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=26)
+--- Thread: How to dim/show working? (/showthread.php?tid=164278)



How to dim/show working? - powlo - 2013-05-07

Hi,

In my addon users enter data which will be used in url page fetches. I want to give the user some feedback to indicate that something is being done during this fetch time. Ie dim the screen and/or show a working spin icon.

How do I do this?


RE: How to dim/show working? - powlo - 2013-05-07

This is all I found:

(2011-12-29, 18:03)giftie Wrote:
Basje Wrote:Is there any possibility to show the XBMC Busy Dialog from a script?

It would be nice to freeze the UI for a moment while some background tasks are performed?


To turn it on -
Code:
xbmc.executebuiltin( "ActivateWindow(busydialog)" )

To turn it off -
Code:
xbmc.executebuiltin( "Dialog.Close(busydialog)" )

But I'm not even convinced this is still valid. See here: https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc/pull/1262

Can't check at the moment.


RE: How to dim/show working? - Bstrdsmkr - 2013-05-08

I think that pr just removed the ability to set a delay, which you wouldn't need anyway. That should still work


RE: How to dim/show working? - powlo - 2013-05-08

Just checked. Yes it does. Perfect!