Kodi Community Forum
XBMC on OSX, Files on NAS, NIGHTMARE!!! - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: General Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=111)
+---- Forum: Mac OS X (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=56)
+---- Thread: XBMC on OSX, Files on NAS, NIGHTMARE!!! (/showthread.php?tid=177505)

Pages: 1 2 3

XBMC on OSX, Files on NAS, NIGHTMARE!!! - Shinji - 2013-11-08

So I have been trying to figure this out for a while now and I believe it is beyond me. I am a traveling freelance artist with a HUGE dvd and bluray collection. There is no way I can bring all of these disks with me, so I have been wanting to digitize them, leave the hard copies in storage and run an HTPC.

I bought a synology 1513+ for the file server and have a mac mini running OSX 10.6.4. For the router, I am using a Cisco E1000 with the IP already fixed and working well for the NAS.

A side problem that I am running into is while I am staying with friends (as I said, I travel and have no "roots", so I rely on other people's wireless) I am stuck with their "wireless only" internet, so I can't connect my router to it. That means that I can either have XBMC on the mini connected to the NAS through my E1000, or connect to the internet through their wi-fi. I foresee this being hard to populate my thumbnails.

Now the main problem is setting up the connection to get the Mac's XBMC to see the files on the NAS. Can someone look over my advancedsettings and see if this looks correct?

<advancedsettings>
<videodatabase>
<type>mysql</type>
<host>192.168.1.xxxx</host>
<port>3306</port>
<user>xxxx</user>
<pass>xxxx</pass>
<name>xbmc_video</name>
</videodatabase>
<musicdatabase>
<type>mysql</type>
<host>192.168.1.xxxx</host>
<port>3306</port>
<user>xxxx</user>
<pass>xxxx</pass>
<name>xbmc_music</name>
</musicdatabase>
<pathsubstitution>
<substitute>