Kodi Community Forum
[HOW TO] KODI Linux on Amlogic TV Boxes - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (http://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: General Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=111)
+---- Forum: Linux and Live support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=52)
+---- Thread: [HOW TO] KODI Linux on Amlogic TV Boxes (/showthread.php?tid=180446)



[HOW TO] KODI Linux on Amlogic TV Boxes - AuXBoX - 2013-12-15 06:59

PLEASE DO THIS AT YOUR OWN RISK

There's now 3 versions of Linux/KODI for Android Tv boxes

Version 1. EmbER
thanks Team EmbER-Dev http://ember-dev.com/

To Install
Go to Ember and download the files for the corresponding device.

1.Copy all files listed below to sdcard root directory
- aml_autoscript
- bootloader.img
- EmbER-Amlogic-_****_****-update.zip
- factory_update_param.aml
- factory_update_param.ubt
- recovery.img

2.Insert sdcard into box.
3.Press and hold the reset button, then plugin power.
4.Continue holding reset button for about 10 seconds, then release.
5.There may be no display for up to 2 mins (DON'T POWER OFF!!!) then upgrading screen will appear.
6.After it's finished, the box will restart.

To Revert
Go to Ember and download the files for the corresponding device.

1.Copy all files listed below to sdcard root directory
- aml_autoscript
- bootloader.img
- ****.zip
- factory_update_param.aml
- recovery.img

2.Insert sdcard into box.
3.Press and hold the reset button, then plugin power.
4.Continue holding reset button for about 10 seconds, then release.
5.There may be no display for up to 2 mins (DON'T POWER OFF!!!) then upgrading screen will appear.
6.After it's finished, the box will restart.

Version 2 & 3. Unofficial builds aimed at devices based on Amlogic S805 SoC
Thanks to kszaq for these builds.

Good for dual booting. Able to leave original Android Firmware and have OpenElec or LibreElec on SDcard

https://forum.libreelec.tv/thread-1173.html
http://freaktab.com/forum/tv-player-support/amlogic-based-tv-players/23766-rom-unofficial-openelec-for-mk808b-and-mxq

Download Firmware:
LibreElec - http://sx05.eu/libreelec/
OpenElec - http://sx05.eu/releases/

Supported devices:
MK808B Plus
Nexteon-made MXQ (a.k.a. Beelink MXQ - with red "MX" stripe on top)

The builds are also reported to work on: all-black MXQ, OTT MXQ and possibly other S805-based devices. You should first try running LE from an SD card to see if it works for you.

For MK808B+ and red-stripe MXQ use a build with device name in it. For other boxes, you have to experiment with HD18Q/MXQ/m201d builds. m201d build is aimed at boards with 512MB of RAM.

Installing to Sdcard using Windows
Requirements
Windows XP / 7 / 8 / 10
The Rufus writing application.
The suitable diskimage for your S805.

WARNING: Please note that the target device (USB Stick / Sdcard) will be fully erased. Also make sure you use the correct drive letter for your USB Stick / Sdcard.

Instructions
1. Insert your USB Stick / Sdcard into your system. It should appear with a new drive letter.
2. Directly load the .img.gz diskimage into Rufus, and write the diskimage onto the USB stick / SD card.

How to install to device:
Before installing, make sure that you have a fully-functional Android firmware on your box.
Most of all, the following things have to work:
• power LED
• powering on by remote control
• WiFi

Nand:
1. Download zip file from NAND release folder.
2. Unpack downloaded file to an SD card - there will be 3 files as a result: aml_autoscript, factory_update_param.aml and a zip file with an update.
3. Install ROM using "toothpick" method.
Sdcard:
1. Download img.gz file from SD release folder.
2. Unpack image to you hard drive and burn it to SD card. You can read how to do it here: http://wiki.libreelec.tv/index.php?title=Installation
As a result, you should have 3 files on your SD card: aml_autoscript, KERNEL.IMG and SYSTEM.
3. To boot the system for the first time you have to use "toothpick" method. You have to do this only once. You should repeat only this step if booting from SD fails after Android reconfiguration/update. Don't worry, it won't delete your data.
Updating:
For both NAND and Sdcard installations, download either tar or img.gz file from Update folder and follow instructions from here: http://wiki.libreelec.tv/index.php?title..._LibreELEC


HOW TO UNBRICK A MYGICA ATV1200 or ATV1220 tutorial written by raymw


Here's a youtube video of flashing process if anyone's interested





RE: [HOW TO] XBMC Linux on Geniatech Devices - Ned Scott - 2013-12-15 10:16

Nice how-to!


RE: [HOW TO] XBMC Linux on Geniatech Devices - privado - 2013-12-15 18:59

Just tried this on a ATV520, after box restarts, the box hangs on a black screen with powered by XBMC in the bottom right hand corner. If this happens, simply reboot the box, you will get a red xbmc logo with frodo 12.3 on the main screen, then boots into XBMC.
Network connection needed configuring the first time.
SSH access = root/letmein


RE: [HOW TO] XBMC Linux on Geniatech Devices - superfreak79 - 2013-12-19 05:35

(2013-12-15 18:59)privado Wrote:  Just tried this on a ATV520, after box restarts, the box hangs on a black screen with powered by XBMC in the bottom right hand corner. If this happens, simply reboot the box, you will get a red xbmc logo with frodo 12.3 on the main screen, then boots into XBMC.
Network connection needed configuring the first time.
SSH access = root/letmein

Hey... I'm having trouble changing my DNS from 127.0.0.1 to anything. Do you have any ideas?


RE: [HOW TO] XBMC Linux on Geniatech Devices - nickr - 2013-12-19 10:35

Usual linux place for dns settings is /etc/resolv.conf - but if it is ubuntu based 127.0.0.1 is correct.


RE: [HOW TO] XBMC Linux on Geniatech Devices - superfreak79 - 2013-12-19 16:52

(2013-12-19 10:35)nickr Wrote:  Usual linux place for dns settings is /etc/resolv.conf - but if it is ubuntu based 127.0.0.1 is correct.

Alright, so Linux XBMC 101... how to I communicate with the Linux box and change that? Can I do this over the (wired) network?

I have a little experience with running xbuntu on an old laptop, but not with this device.

Thanks.


RE: [HOW TO] XBMC Linux on Geniatech Devices - nickr - 2013-12-19 20:53

ssh


RE: [HOW TO] XBMC Linux on Geniatech Devices - un1versal - 2013-12-19 20:56

Via ssh see post 4.


RE: [HOW TO] XBMC Linux on Geniatech Devices - superfreak79 - 2013-12-19 21:32

Ok, thanks. I setup Putty and have ssh connected to Linux XBMC. I opened the resolv.conf and saved changes. Reboot the box and looked the .conf again. The old ip was there again. Is there some reason why it didn't stick?


RE: [HOW TO] XBMC Linux on Geniatech Devices - nickr - 2013-12-19 23:00

What distro are you using? Is it ubuntu or ubuntu based?

Is DNS working?

Are you using DHCP?


RE: [HOW TO] XBMC Linux on Geniatech Devices - superfreak79 - 2013-12-20 03:08

(2013-12-19 23:00)nickr Wrote:  What distro are you using? Is it ubuntu or ubuntu based?

Is DNS working?

Are you using DHCP?

It's the XBMC Linux for MyGica ATV520 - posted above. I don't know if it's ubuntu based.

I'm using DHCP for this wired box - but don't want to. I can't seem to change the static IP settings nor DNS. So it's being assigned by the router (DD-WRT).


Re: [HOW TO] XBMC Linux on Geniatech Devices - nickr - 2013-12-20 17:18

You didn't answer whether it works. Anyway read this if it is relevant http://www.stgraber.org/2012/02/24/dns-in-ubuntu-12-04/


RE: [HOW TO] XBMC Linux on Geniatech Devices - AuXBoX - 2013-12-21 00:31

Superfreak79 try this

[HOW-TO] Use myResolv.conf to override DNS settings.


RE: [HOW TO] XBMC Linux on Geniatech Devices - superfreak79 - 2013-12-21 06:13

Thanks for your help. I've tried the Pivos trick a couple times now and haven't had any luck.

I am able to SSH to the Linux XBMC ATV520 box. I type the following: "echo "nameserver AAA.BBB.CCC.DDD" > /root/.xbmc/myResolv.conf (with my DNS address). The command works and then I reboot the machine.

After I reboot, I look at the System Info > Network and here's what I get: IP address 192.168.1.4; Gateway 192.168.1.1; Primary DNS 192.168.1.1; Secondary DNS 192.168.1.1

I use unotelly and the Global DNS clusters are here: http://www.unotelly.com/unodns/global


RE: [HOW TO] XBMC Linux on Geniatech Devices - AuXBoX - 2013-12-21 08:54

You might be a able to create an init.d script to change the info on bootup.
I can't check my atv1200 its bricked at moment, i'm waiting for the cable to unbrick it, is there a rc.local file in /etc/ ?