Kodi Community Forum
Please help a newby - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Discussions (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=222)
+--- Forum: Hardware (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=112)
+--- Thread: Please help a newby (/showthread.php?tid=215607)

Pages: 1 2

Please help a newby - Magoo - 2015-01-20

Hi guys and gals I'm brand new to this TV box thing so please be patient with me.
Okay here goes. Smile
I am going to buy a Android box and I know there are a bunch of "Which box should I buy threads"
I have tried to look through all the recommendations and a lot of the threads but I'm still confused.
I am looking for something to run Kodi at 1080p. I think I have narrowed it down to 2 boxes.
1- Tronsmart Draco AW80
2- MINIX NEO X8-H Plus
My problem is in the hardware recommendations Wiki I can't make heads or tails out of it.
Like I said I am far from an expert on this subject. I would really appreciate some advice on which one will do a better job
running Kodi and some add-ons.

Edit: I forgot to mention that I also would like to hook up 2 external hard drives to play contend I have stored.

Thanks Magoo

RE: Please help a newby - Magoo - 2015-01-20

I have been doing a lot more reading.......and now I'm more confused than ever.
I have been reading that the tronsmart is not that good. Confused.
Please somebody take this newby under your wing and help me.
Any and all recommendations welcome.

RE: Please help a newby - noggin - 2015-01-20

You probably need to give us a bit more information :

What country are you from? (Different countries need different frame rate support)

What media do you watch and from what sources? (Don't tell us about illegal stuff, we don't want to know)