Kodi Community Forum
mpeg2 hardware/software question - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: General Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=111)
+---- Forum: Raspberry Pi (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=166)
+---- Thread: mpeg2 hardware/software question (/showthread.php?tid=218709)

Pages: 1 2

mpeg2 hardware/software question - visata - 2015-02-17

I'm new with Kodi and have a quick question, I read that in order to be able to decode mpeg2 sources using hardware I'm supposed to buy mpeg2 license.

I installed Kodi on raspberry pi2, enabled simple IPTV plugin, added the playlist and was able to see all mpeg2 streams from my provider. Does Kodi decode mpeg2 in software mode as there is some kind of lag when switching between the channels (streams)? I was under the impression that it won't work at all or so laggy that would be impossible to watch.

By the way, how do I find out when it uses software/hardware method to decode anything? Is there some kind of icon?

Thanks

RE: mpeg2 hardware/software question - NiggyG - 2015-02-17

(2015-02-17, 16:08)visata Wrote: I'm new with Kodi and have a quick question, I read that in order to be able to decode mpeg2 sources using hardware I'm supposed to buy mpeg2 license.

I installed Kodi on raspberry pi2, enabled simple IPTV plugin, added the playlist and was able to see all mpeg2 streams from my provider. Does Kodi decode mpeg2 in software mode as there is some kind of lag when switching between the channels (streams)? I was under the impression that it won't work at all or so laggy that would be impossible to watch.

By the way, how do I find out when it uses software/hardware method to decode anything? Is there some kind of icon?

Thanks