Kodi Community Forum
XBMC Linux port questions and answers... - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (http://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Kodi General Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=111)
+---- Forum: Linux and Live support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=52)
+---- Thread: XBMC Linux port questions and answers... (/showthread.php?tid=26097)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26


- yuvalt - 2007-06-23 07:32

mr.b Wrote:I've got an ATV running Feisty -- the install isn't super simple but not too bad using the mb_boot_tv from mythic-beasts. I would bet that there will soon be some much easier ways to install linux on an ATV since apple released an update the other day that contains the boot.efi file that everyone is scared of distributing. Since apple themselves have made it available, someone could write a patchstick script that simply required you to download the update from apple in order to get ahold of the all-important boot.efi. Anyway, I'm certainly willing to help out with testing of XBMC on the ATV platform if the developers have need/want...
Did you try compiling and running XBMC on the ATV?


- mr.b - 2007-06-23 17:19

yuvalt Wrote:Did you try compiling and running XBMC on the ATV?

I hadn't at the time of posting, but I have now -- compiled fine and is running fine. Tested picture viewing as that is noted to be working and it seemed to work as expected. Here's the first few lines of top with it running:

Code:
top - 10:09:18 up 19:25,  4 users,  load average: 0.92, 0.89, 0.77
Tasks:  62 total,   2 running,  60 sleeping,   0 stopped,   0 zombie
Cpu(s): 18.6%us, 27.2%sy,  0.0%ni, 54.2%id,  0.0%wa,  0.0%hi,  0.0%si,  0.0%st
Mem:    253004k total,   248928k used,     4076k free,     5252k buffers
Swap:   522088k total,     3660k used,   518428k free,   133632k cached

  PID USER      PR  NI  VIRT  RES  SHR S %CPU %MEM    TIME+  COMMAND                                              
4102 root      15   0 39736  29m  14m S 28.0 12.0   4:48.65 Xorg                                                  
10273 root      15   0  129m  45m  16m S  9.7 18.4   1:14.87 XboxMediaCenter                                      
4111 root      16   0 18340  12m 7956 S  8.0  5.2   1:24.15 x11vnc                                                
10310 root      15   0  2320 1132  884 R  0.3  0.4   0:00.06 top                                                  
    1 root      15   0  2912  368  312 S  0.0  0.1   0:00.35 init                                                  
    2 root      34  19     0    0    0 S  0.0  0.0   0:00.00 ksoftirq

and here is free output:
Code:
root@ubuntu:~/pictures# free
             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:        253004     246884       6120          0       5300     133640
-/+ buffers/cache:     107944     145060
Swap:       522088       3660     518428

and here's a quick screen cap:
[Image: screencap1.png]


- MacGyver - 2007-06-23 18:46

I just wanted to jump in with yet another "you guys rock" post, I just hope all the XBMC linux devs aren't sick of hearing it yet. And since it's in the questions thread, I'll add this:

Apple company trolls who track this forum; did you know that I will never buy an ATV until I can run XBMC on it?

I'm sure that a lot of people feel the same way.

Keep up the great what guys!


- MacGyver - 2007-06-23 18:48

er. Keep up the great work guys!

Sorry not my keyvoard.


- yuvalt - 2007-06-23 19:30

mr.b Wrote:I hadn't at the time of posting, but I have now -- compiled fine and is running fine. Tested picture viewing as that is noted to be working and it seemed to work as expected.

Why are the process taking so much CPU? System showing the main screen compiled with OpenGL should take no more than 2-3% CPU.

-Yuval


- mr.b - 2007-06-23 20:25

not 100% sure -- I'll start from a clean boot without x11vnc running and see what I get.


- Jezz_X - 2007-06-23 20:35

yuvalt Wrote:Why are the process taking so much CPU? System showing the main screen compiled with OpenGL should take no more than 2-3% CPU.

-Yuval

I think its all due to just what sort of cpu you have I know you have somthing decent because you were playing 720p and 1080i files fine
but on my P4 2.4 it idles at about 12% cpu in 720p display mode but I do have a hell of a lot of other things running in the back including beryl

Also I notice Mr.b's home screen is halfway between a background transition animation which dosn't help


- yuvalt - 2007-06-23 21:02

Guys, this thread has gone way beyond normal limits since we are doing multiple discussions. I think this is the right time to open different threads on the different discussion topics.


- mr.b - 2007-06-23 22:11

I agree -- and just to clarify, the info I posted was from an idle appletv... I'll split further discussion into a separate thread.


- perrier - 2007-07-01 16:09

Is there a build option/loglevel setting to disable the FreeMem display?
(other than commenting out lines 2470 and 2472 from Application.cpp)


- jmarshall - 2007-07-02 00:23

Not as yet.

I suggest that the above lines are actually moved to Settings.cpp (where the default loglevel is set for xbox) so that advancedsettings.xml can be used to override it.

As you know, the linux stuff is in development at the moment, thus the reason debug logging is enabled by default.

Cheers,
Jonathan


- yuvalt - 2007-07-02 00:57

perrier Wrote:Is there a build option/loglevel setting to disable the FreeMem display?
(other than commenting out lines 2470 and 2472 from Application.cpp)

Not yet. Today I added support to configure the build to compile without debug information (by doing ./configure --disable-debug) but still the FreeMem remains. I'll get around that very soon.


- mappyman - 2007-07-03 03:42

Great work guys I got an XBox just for XBMC.

Anyway have you considered this mini-itx mobo as a reference for developing:

http://www.albatron.com.tw/English/news/news_detail.asp?new=default&news_id=255

It would be great if one day I could replace my router as well and have XBMC in one box kinda of like OpenWRT but more powerful.

Such as having a PCI ADSL card it could function as an ADSL modem / router / media center and NAS enabling you to download straight on to hardrive and play movies from one box. I could get rid of my router and XBox and tidy my room finally Smile

Eek Big Grin


- seaweed - 2007-07-03 18:39

Got it up and running on my laptop now, but it seems when i try to play a media file via smb i get this error:
New file set audiostream 0
Segmentation Fault (Core dumped)

Any ideas?


- jmarshall - 2007-07-03 21:45

Run it through gdb and see what you get.