Kodi Community Forum
[WINDOWS] GPU assisted video decoding in XBMC for Windows via a custom DXVA renderer? - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (http://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Development (/forumdisplay.php?fid=32)
+--- Forum: Feature Suggestions (/forumdisplay.php?fid=9)
+--- Thread: [WINDOWS] GPU assisted video decoding in XBMC for Windows via a custom DXVA renderer? (/showthread.php?tid=33323)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16


- Dannydeman - 2009-09-08 12:32

Geeba Wrote:Hmmm didnt realise Mediaportal used DXVA? Is there no tips or tricks that could be pulled from MP to help the XBMC version along?

It's possible to use the MPC-HC video codec (or any other DXVA codec for that matter). Also, with the MPC-HC subtitle engine patch it's the only mediacenter-software which enables subtitle support with DXVA enabled in the internal player, since MPC-HC is the only player that can do that.

But XBMC uses a much different approach, you can't use any custom codecs etc. XBMC for Windows would be so awesome if it had codec-customization, it would blow everything away. Maybe someday a developer wants to implent it. Or maybe if we're lucky ffmpeg will be majorly updated.


- nekrosoft13 - 2009-09-08 19:21

waldo22 Wrote:We need to get the DirectX port working first.

JMarshall has already done the "basic" porting, but he says it's a mess and needs a lot of work...

DXVA=DirectX Video Acceleration

http://danielpatton.com/user-accounts/XBMC-updates/dx/


- spiff - 2009-09-08 19:50

which codec library you use has absolutely ZILCH to do with rendering subs on top of accelerated video. if anything using dshow (/ whatever the new and fancy name for it is in newer windowses) would make it harder to do, not easier since i'm sure the decode paths are less configurable, considering drm and all must be enforced!


- IsleOfMan - 2009-12-10 17:05

nekrosoft13 Wrote:http://danielpatton.com/user-accounts/XBMC-updates/dx/

Does this build support DXVA, or just DX for the UI and underlying processes?


- natethomas - 2009-12-11 06:32

DX only. Spend a little time looking around the windows specific forum. There is a lot of info on this topic.


- IsleOfMan - 2009-12-11 16:34

Thanks for the clarification... knowing is half the battle Wink


- sonicflare - 2009-12-27 17:58

not sure, what I'm doing wrong... but the GPU acceleration just works out of the box Rolleyes

OS: Windows 7 64x
Card: ATI Radeon 3600 (ATI Catalist 9.12)
XBMC: 9.11

[Image: xbmcgpuusage.th.jpg]


- clutch - 2010-01-11 01:03

I would like to say that there are many people waiting for this and I really hope that somebody prioritize this. I would happily donate when this feature is present.


- Megacubo - 2010-01-15 06:45

Boxee have DXVA in is beta and is based on Xbmc so is so good


- MartijnGP - 2010-01-16 21:31

sonicflare Wrote:not sure, what I'm doing wrong... but the GPU acceleration just works out of the box Rolleyes

OS: Windows 7 64x
Card: ATI Radeon 3600 (ATI Catalist 9.12)
XBMC: 9.11

[Image: xbmcgpuusage.th.jpg]

How the heck have you accomplished that? Whaha, it's great Big Grin

I've got a p8600 here on Win7 x64, 4GB RAM and a 3670. It gives me 80% CPU on some tracks (yes, I'm looking at you, Ice Age 3.1080p.mt2s).

You really just did nothing but installing Windows, grab the Catalyst driver and run a video?