Kodi Community Forum
[RELEASE] Launcher - application launcher plugin for Linux, Mac, Windows, and Xbox - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (http://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Add-ons Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=27)
+---- Forum: Program Add-ons (/forumdisplay.php?fid=151)
+---- Thread: [RELEASE] Launcher - application launcher plugin for Linux, Mac, Windows, and Xbox (/showthread.php?tid=35739)



- digitalhigh - 2009-02-20 04:55

Art, you are the man. thanks for the fix. Not to mention your prowess as an importer/exporter. what do you import again.


- timdog82001 - 2009-02-20 22:43

frostwork Wrote:Just replace all occurences of P:\\ with special://profile, as ronie said
with your fav editor and it'll work again.

i tried this and it just says the script failed, and get this output:

[Image: screenshot001yd2.th.png]

Would anybody be willing to host their working version online somewhere?


- ronie - 2009-02-21 01:01

This is what i've changed in launcher_plugin.py
line 27:
Code:
BASE_CURRENT_SOURCE_PATH = xbmc.translatePath( os.path.join( "special://profile/plugin_data", "programs", sys.modules[ "__main__" ].__plugin__, "launchers.xml" ) )
line 28:
Code:
SHORTCUT_FILE = xbmc.translatePath( os.path.join( "special://profile/plugin_data", "programs", sys.modules[ "__main__" ].__plugin__, "shortcut.cut" ) )
line 43:
Code:
BASE_CACHE_PATH = os.path.join( "special://profile/Thumbnails", "Pictures" )

And in settings.xml
line 3:
Code:
<setting id="thumbs_path" type="folder" source="files" label="30001" default="special://profile/Thumbnails/Programs" />

After making the changes, also delete the launcher_plugin.pyo file.
Not sure if it's needed, but it won't hurt either.

I've only tested it on linux, so results on different platforms may vary.


- timdog82001 - 2009-02-21 02:02

Ah, thanks for that. I had missed the entry in settings.xml


One other thing, does anybody use this to launch firefox? It used to work fine for me, but now it when it launches, rather than opening the home page (google), it opens "file:///C:/Program%20Files/XBMC/" as the url which just shows what looks like an FTP directory of all the contents of the xbmc folder.


- ArtVandelae - 2009-02-21 02:45

timdog82001 Wrote:Ah, thanks for that. I had missed the entry in settings.xml


One other thing, does anybody use this to launch firefox? It used to work fine for me, but now it when it launches, rather than opening the home page (google), it opens "file:///C:/Program%20Files/XBMC/" as the url which just shows what looks like an FTP directory of all the contents of the xbmc folder.

It's the quote parameter bug. See my previous post in this thread for the line and the fix.


- nate1579 - 2009-02-22 21:19

would anyone know if there is a way for it to right the list of files after scan the first time and it loads that file from then on speed things up


- nate1579 - 2009-02-22 21:28

oops dont know how it double posted like that


- volenin - 2009-02-28 05:22

Hi!

I wonder if anyone tried to setup 'xine' as an external application launched by this plugin? My goal is to setup 'xine' as an 'alternative' player for XBMC-Linux to play a few files that XBMC DVDPlayer doesn't play well.

Has anyone successfully set it up? If so, how far did you progress toward the goal (I mean, setting up remote to navigate the movie, etc).

Thanks!

Vlad


- slacker666 - 2009-03-01 03:25

edit: got the launcher added to favorites, but now i am experiencing another problem.

when i try to select a launcher application (running ubuntu 8.10 here) i only have these items to choose from:

Code:
boot
DVD drive
Home Folder
Profile data

it seems that i cannot access any other items outside of these, ie i cannot access /usr/bin/firefox or anything else Sad

can someone please help me figuring out this? thank you in advance


- digitalhigh - 2009-03-01 04:05

volenin Wrote:Hi!

I wonder if anyone tried to setup 'xine' as an external application launched by this plugin? My goal is to setup 'xine' as an 'alternative' player for XBMC-Linux to play a few files that XBMC DVDPlayer doesn't play well.

Has anyone successfully set it up? If so, how far did you progress toward the goal (I mean, setting up remote to navigate the movie, etc).

Thanks!

Vlad

Do a search for External Player. It's a modification designed to do exactly what you want.


- rwparris2 - 2009-03-01 16:09

slacker666 Wrote:edit: got the launcher added to favorites, but now i am experiencing another problem.

when i try to select a launcher application (running ubuntu 8.10 here) i only have these items to choose from:

Code:
boot
DVD drive
Home Folder
Profile data
it seems that i cannot access any other items outside of these, ie i cannot access /usr/bin/firefox or anything else Sad

can someone please help me figuring out this? thank you in advance

you can create symlinks as suggested in laucher's wiki (on the googlepages project)


- slacker666 - 2009-03-01 17:48

could you maybe point me to that link, i only found a smaller installation guide when i checked the wiki (maybe the wrong one?) or explain how to do it maybe?

Appreciate the help!


- digitalhigh - 2009-03-01 17:54

slacker666 Wrote:could you maybe point me to that link, i only found a smaller installation guide when i checked the wiki (maybe the wrong one?) or explain how to do it maybe?

Appreciate the help!

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=35739

First post has a brief description of using a symlink. It also appears to be a copy of the wiki entry.

http://code.google.com/p/xbmc-launcher/wiki/Main

Quote:2. (linux users only): create a symlink for /usr/lib/libcurl.so.4 named

/usr/lib/libcurl.so (run: "sudo ln -sf /usr/lib/libcurl.so.4 /usr/lib/libcurl.so" in terminal)



- slacker666 - 2009-03-01 17:58

digitalhigh:

yes, i've ran
Code:
sudo ln -sf /usr/lib/libcurl.so.4 /usr/lib/libcurl.so

but i still only see the four items mentioned above, what am i doing wrong here?

edit: symlinked using the above cmd for /usr/bin/firefox to my home dir, firefox does now start Smile

however, only half of the screen is used? also, i cant seem to "access" the program, it's there and browser seems to be working.


- digitalhigh - 2009-03-01 18:05

slacker666 Wrote:digitalhigh:

yes, i've ran
Code:
sudo ln -sf /usr/lib/libcurl.so.4 /usr/lib/libcurl.so

but i still only see the four items mentioned above, what am i doing wrong here?

I'm sorry...I am definitely not a linux person. I was just re-iterating what I saw in the documentation.

Googling a bit led me to this, it seems to make sense.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=255573