Kodi Community Forum
[RELEASE] Launcher - application launcher plugin for Linux, Mac, Windows, and Xbox - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (http://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Add-ons Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=27)
+---- Forum: Program Add-ons (/forumdisplay.php?fid=151)
+---- Thread: [RELEASE] Launcher - application launcher plugin for Linux, Mac, Windows, and Xbox (/showthread.php?tid=35739)



- pecinko - 2010-09-30 22:41

zosky Wrote:i dont have a mac handy to test, but yes it shoud. "something.app" is actually a folder. you need to open it and find the 'executable' file inside

Working... Me likes. Me thanks you.

This just made my day. Nod


- marjanovich - 2010-10-02 06:58

DARKGuy2008 Wrote:Well, here it is:

http://codepad.org/iVClkXIG

Just look for "fanart". I made it long time ago... the idea behind was to set a property called Fanart (now I notice there's FanartNormal!!) and XBMC would do the rest. Also, on the launcher.xml, add a <fanart></fanart> property with the path of the fanart file.

It all revolves on:

Code:
if (fan[0]):
            listitem.setProperty('fanart_image',fan[0])

I can't recall though, to do the fading I used the Transparency! skin and I think I had to edit some random XML to make it do the cross-fade. However, I bet that might be easier to add by more experienced people in a generic way to all skins like the videos section.

Hope to have this feature added in an official update! Big Grin

EDIT: Also, is it possible to have videos as "fanart" ? it'd rock to have gameplay videos on the fanart display Big Grin

Is there a way to apply your modification to the current codebase? I've been requesting fanart for games all over the forums for months...


- danman217 - 2010-10-02 07:59

zosky Wrote:i dont have a mac handy to test, but yes it shoud. "something.app" is actually a folder. you need to open it and find the 'executable' file inside

I'm having the same issue because the "folder" is actually the "executable"... mac's don't have EXE files like windows.. the .app "folders" only contain program data, not a specific file to launch.


- zosky - 2010-10-02 08:16

danman217 Wrote:I'm having the same issue because the "folder" is actually the "executable"... mac's don't have EXE files like windows.. the .app "folders" only contain program data, not a specific file to launch.

yes osX does not have '.exe' files but it does have 'executable' files. the '.app' folders are know as 'application bundles' and they make all this transparent to the user. this wikipedia article has more info on what is inside a typical bundle.

you must point launcher at the executable (inside the bundle) not the '.app' bundle. pecinko got it working. perhaps he can shed some light on the subject.


- danman217 - 2010-10-02 08:44

zosky Wrote:yes osX does not have '.exe' files but it does have 'executable' files. the '.app' folders are know as 'application bundles' and they make all this transparent to the user. this wikipedia article has more info on what is inside a typical bundle.

you must point launcher at the executable (inside the bundle) not the '.app' bundle. pecinko got it working. perhaps he can shed some light on the subject.

Here are the files listed within Nestopia.app folder:
F:\Downloads\Nestopia.app\Contents\Info.plist
F:\Downloads\Nestopia.app\Contents\PkgInfo
F:\Downloads\Nestopia.app\Contents\MacOS\Blitter.bundle
F:\Downloads\Nestopia.app\Contents\MacOS\CoreEmulator.bundle
F:\Downloads\Nestopia.app\Contents\MacOS\Nestopia
F:\Downloads\Nestopia.app\Contents\MacOS\Blitter.bundle\Contents\MacOS\Blitter
F:\Downloads\Nestopia.app\Contents\MacOS\CoreEmulator.bundle\Contents\MacOS\Core​Emulator
F:\Downloads\Nestopia.app\Contents\MacOS\CoreEmulator.bundle\Contents\Resources\​AboutBox.strings
F:\Downloads\Nestopia.app\Contents\MacOS\CoreEmulator.bundle\Contents\Resources\​CoreEmulator.rsrc
F:\Downloads\Nestopia.app\Contents\MacOS\CoreEmulator.bundle\Contents\Resources\​FatalBrief.strings
F:\Downloads\Nestopia.app\Contents\MacOS\CoreEmulator.bundle\Contents\Resources\​FatalDetail.strings
F:\Downloads\Nestopia.app\Contents\MacOS\CoreEmulator.bundle\Contents\Resources\​WarningsBrief.strings
F:\Downloads\Nestopia.app\Contents\MacOS\CoreEmulator.bundle\Contents\Resources\​WarningsDetail.strings
F:\Downloads\Nestopia.app\Contents\Resources\database.xml
F:\Downloads\Nestopia.app\Contents\Resources\Nestopia.rsrc
F:\Downloads\Nestopia.app\Contents\Resources\NestopiaErrorsBrief.strings
F:\Downloads\Nestopia.app\Contents\Resources\NestopiaErrorsDetail.strings
F:\Downloads\Nestopia.app\Contents\Resources\Nestopia_App.icns
F:\Downloads\Nestopia.app\Contents\Resources\Nestopia_Cart.icns
F:\Downloads\Nestopia.app\Contents\Resources\Nestopia_FDS.icns
F:\Downloads\Nestopia.app\Contents\Resources\Nestopia_Freeze.icns
F:\Downloads\Nestopia.app\Contents\Resources\Nestopia_NSF.icns

I can't identify which one would be an executable.
The wiki article you referenced implies that F:\Downloads\Nestopia.app\Contents\MacOS\Nestopia would be the executable (file with no extension)... but it refuses to launch on my AppleTV/XBMC via the Launcher Add-on. Perhaps it's an issue with the program rather than my interpretation of the data?


- pecinko - 2010-10-03 14:06

danman217 Wrote:I'm having the same issue because the "folder" is actually the "executable"... mac's don't have EXE files like windows.. the .app "folders" only contain program data, not a specific file to launch.

Just enter >> put_your_app_name_here.app << container and browse until you see an icon. That should mark your executable.


- Ranger Rob - 2010-10-03 15:12

I must be doing something wrong. I cant add any programs to the launcher. When I try and add one the only place I can choose from is the e:\ drive (the DVD drive). How do I navigate to the programs folder on the c:\ drive?

I have added it as a source....


Images Problem - psamim - 2010-10-03 16:19

Hi
I just installed Launcher on Dharma b2. It does work but cannot grab images form Yahoo. I just did the same on both on Windows 7 and XP. When I click on search, xbmc locks and does nothing until I manually close it.
What is the problem?
BTW Is there any way to choose local images for launchers?


- zosky - 2010-10-03 16:33

psamim Wrote:It does work but cannot grab images form Yahoo... What is the problem?
yup. the yahoo search needs to go away. its on the to-do list

psamim Wrote:BTW Is there any way to choose local images for launchers?

from the google project's wiki pages (thanks to wipMonkey):
Quote:To enjoy thumbnails place an image in the same folder as the rom with the same name as the rom but different file extension. The following formats are supported png, jpg, gif, and bmp. For example if you have an rom named 'Blaster Master (U).zip' then the thumbnail should be named 'Blaster Master (U).jpg' The image files need to be there before you import files from the path.



- alexpigment - 2010-10-03 23:39

I'd like to make a feature request for launcher to have the ability to temporarily disable controller keymaps while the outside program (game emulator in my case) is launched. I ran into this problem and while zosky tried to help me out on this, I guess it may just be too complicated for me. Zosky even said it was a huge pain to workaround on his end. I feel that without this feature built in, launcher might never be friendly to those who use controllers as xbmc remotes. Perhaps I am a little bit hung up on the way the old Xbox worked.


- marjanovich - 2010-10-04 00:28

Ranger Rob Wrote:I must be doing something wrong. I cant add any programs to the launcher. When I try and add one the only place I can choose from is the e:\ drive (the DVD drive). How do I navigate to the programs folder on the c:\ drive?

I have added it as a source....

Unmount the disc image and restart xbmc


- Angelscry - 2010-10-04 02:55

I just found how use fanart images with the Launcher addon. I've post all the information here : http://forum.xbmc.org/showpost.php?p=617360&postcount=5. I think it will be interessting to add fanarts support into the next version of the Launcher addon. By the same method (using the launchers.xml file), it will be surely possible to add supplementary informations, like game release date, game company, game genre (RPG, fighting, racing...) and also short game description.

Ouch... No... sorry... It is not working !!!


- butchabay - 2010-10-04 08:31

psamim Wrote:Hi
I just installed Launcher on Dharma b2. It does work but cannot grab images form Yahoo. I just did the same on both on Windows 7 and XP. When I click on search, xbmc locks and does nothing until I manually close it.
What is the problem?
BTW Is there any way to choose local images for launchers?

See post 759


- Angelscry - 2010-10-05 03:59

Ok, following DARKGuy2008 post, I have found how to use fanarts (screenshots) with the Launcher addon.

Replace the /addons/plugin.program.launcher/resources/lib/launcher_plugin.py code (v1.10.2) by this one : http://pastebin.ca/1954452
Next, for each roms, you have to manually add fanart informations (path+file) into the /userdata/addon_data/plugin.program.launcher/launchers.xml file using <fanart></fanart> tags, like this :
Code:
<roms>
    <rom>
        <name>Mario kart 64</name>
        <filename>/mnt/multimedias/consoles/nintendo64/roms/Mario Kart 64.z64</filename>
        <thumb>/mnt/multimedias/consoles/nintendo64/covers/Mario Kart 64.jpg</thumb>
        <fanart>/mnt/multimedias/consoles/nintendo64/fanarts/Mario Kart 64.jpg</fanart>
    </rom>
    <rom>
        <name>The legend of zelda - ocarina of time</name>
        <filename>/mnt/multimedias/consoles/nintendo64/roms/The Legend of Zelda - Ocarina of Time.z64</filename>
        <thumb>/mnt/multimedias/consoles/nintendo64/covers/The Legend of Zelda - Ocarina of Time.jpg</thumb>
        <fanart>/mnt/multimedias/consoles/nintendo64/fanarts/The Legend of Zelda - Ocarina of Time.jpg</fanart>
    </rom>
    <rom>
        <name>Super mario 64</name>
        <filename>/mnt/multimedias/consoles/nintendo64/roms/Super Mario 64.z64</filename>
        <thumb>/mnt/multimedias/consoles/nintendo64/covers/Super Mario 64.jpg</thumb>
        <fanart>/mnt/multimedias/consoles/nintendo64/fanarts/Super Mario 64.jpg</fanart>
    </rom>
    <rom>
        <name>International superstar soccer 2000</name>
        <filename>/mnt/multimedias/consoles/nintendo64/roms/International Superstar Soccer 2000.z64</filename>
        <thumb>/mnt/multimedias/consoles/nintendo64/covers/International Superstar Soccer 2000.z64</thumb>
        <fanart>/mnt/multimedias/consoles/nintendo64/fanarts/International Superstar Soccer 2000.jpg</fanart>
    </rom>
</roms>

Note: If you delete a game, and add it again you will have to add again the fanart informations.


- marjanovich - 2010-10-05 07:41

Script failed, replaced launcher stuff with pastebin stuff, updated XML to reflect the location of valid fanart image...

Quote:22:35:36 T:5592 M:2349797376 DEBUG: ------ Window Init (MyPrograms.xml) ------
22:35:36 T:5592 M:2349797376 INFO: Loading skin file: MyPrograms.xml
22:35:36 T:5592 M:2349871104 DEBUG: CGUIMediaWindow::GetDirectory (addons://sources/executable/)
22:35:36 T:5592 M:2349871104 DEBUG: ParentPath = [addons://sources/executable/]
22:35:36 T:3584 M:2349854720 DEBUG: thread start, auto delete: 0
22:35:36 T:3584 M:2349850624 DEBUG: Thread 3584 terminating
22:35:37 T:5592 M:2350149632 DEBUG: SDLKeyboard: scancode: 28, sym: 13, unicode: 13, modifier: 0
22:35:37 T:5592 M:2350149632 DEBUG: CApplication::OnKey: 61453 pressed, action is Select
22:35:37 T:5592 M:2350067712 DEBUG: CGUIMediaWindow::GetDirectory (plugin://plugin.program.launcher/)
22:35:37 T:5592 M:2350067712 DEBUG: ParentPath = [addons://sources/executable/]
22:35:37 T:3536 M:2350067712 DEBUG: XFILE::CPluginDirectory::StartScript - calling plugin Launcher('plugin://plugin.program.launcher/','0','')
22:35:37 T:3536 M:2350067712 INFO: initializing python engine.
22:35:37 T:3536 M:2350067712 DEBUG: Win32DllLoader::Load(special://xbmcbin/system/python/python24.dll)
22:35:37 T:3536 M:2349359104 DEBUG: msg: 'import site' failed; use -v for traceback
22:35:37 T:3536 M:2349359104 DEBUG: new python thread created. id=3
22:35:37 T:3536 M:2349359104 DEBUG: XFILE::CPluginDirectory::WaitOnScriptResult - waiting on the Launcher plugin...
22:35:37 T:1276 M:2349355008 DEBUG: thread start, auto delete: 0
22:35:37 T:1276 M:2349355008 DEBUG: Python thread: start processing
22:35:37 T:1276 M:2349350912 DEBUG: msg: 'import site' failed; use -v for traceback
22:35:37 T:1276 M:2349346816 NOTICE: -->Python Interpreter Initialized<--
22:35:37 T:1276 M:2349346816 DEBUG: XBPyThread::Process - The source file to load is C:\Users\LITTLESISTER\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\addons\plugin.program.launcher\defaul​t.py
22:35:37 T:1276 M:2349346816 DEBUG: XBPyThread::Process - Setting the Python path to C:\Users\LITTLESISTER\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\addons\plugin.program.launcher;C:\Pro​gram Files (x86)\XBMC\addons\script.module.pil\lib;C:\Program Files (x86)\XBMC\addons\script.module.pysqlite\lib;special://xbmc/system/python/DLLs;special://xbmc/system/python/Lib;special://xbmcbin/system/python/python24.zip;special://xbmc/system/python\DLLs;special://xbmc/system/python\lib;special://xbmc/system/python\lib\plat-win;special://xbmc/system/python\lib\lib-tk;C:\Program Files (x86)\XBMC
22:35:37 T:1276 M:2349346816 DEBUG: XBPyThread::Process - Entering source directory C:\Users\LITTLESISTER\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\addons\plugin.program.launcher
22:35:37 T:1276 M:2349326336 INFO: -->Python script returned the following error<--
22:35:37 T:1276 M:2349326336 ERROR: Error Type: exceptions.SyntaxError
22:35:37 T:1276 M:2349326336 ERROR: Error Contents: ('invalid syntax', ('C:\\Users\\LITTLESISTER\\AppData\\Roaming\\XBMC\\addons\\plugin.program.launch​er\\resources\\lib\\launcher_plugin.py', 11, 4, ' """\n'))
22:35:37 T:1276 M:2349305856 ERROR: Traceback (most recent call last):
File "C:\Users\LITTLESISTER\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\addons\plugin.program.launcher\defaul​t.py", line 19, in ?
import resources.lib.launcher_plugin as plugin
File "C:\Users\LITTLESISTER\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\addons\plugin.program.launcher\resour​ces\lib\launcher_plugin.py", line 11
"""
^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax
22:35:37 T:1276 M:2349305856 INFO: -->End of Python script error report<--
22:35:37 T:1276 M:2349244416 INFO: Python script stopped
22:35:37 T:1276 M:2349244416 DEBUG: Thread 1276 terminating
22:35:37 T:3536 M:2349240320 DEBUG: XFILE::CPluginDirectory::WaitOnScriptResult - plugin exited prematurely - terminating
22:35:37 T:5592 M:2349240320 ERROR: XFILE::CDirectory::GetDirectory - Error getting plugin://plugin.program.launcher/
22:35:37 T:5592 M:2349240320 ERROR: CGUIMediaWindow::GetDirectory(plugin://plugin.program.launcher/) failed
22:35:37 T:5592 M:2349240320 DEBUG: CGUIMediaWindow::GetDirectory (addons://sources/executable/)
22:35:37 T:5592 M:2349240320 DEBUG: ParentPath = []
22:35:37 T:5456 M:2349219840 DEBUG: thread start, auto delete: 0
22:35:37 T:5456 M:2349219840 DEBUG: Thread 5456 terminating
22:35:37 T:5592 M:2349228032 DEBUG: python thread 3 destructed
22:35:37 T:5592 M:2349228032 DEBUG: ------ Window Init (DialogKaiToast.xml) ------
22:35:40 T:5592 M:2353143808 DEBUG: SDLKeyboard: scancode: 91, sym: 311, unicode: 0, modifier: 0
22:35:40 T:5592 M:2353139712 DEBUG: CWinEventsWin32::WndProcWindow is inactive
22:35:40 T:5592 M:2353139712 DEBUG: CWinEventsWin32::WndProcWindow lost focus
22:35:47 T:5592 M:2343759872 INFO: Python, unloading python24.dll because no scripts are running anymore
22:35:47 T:5592 M:2343755776 DEBUG: XBPython::UnloadExtensionLibs, clearing python extension libraries
22:35:47 T:5592 M:2343755776 DEBUG: Win32DllLoader::Unload python24.dll
22:36:07 T:3536 M:2346967040 DEBUG: Thread 3536 terminating (autodelete)
22:36:07 T:2920 M:2347114496 DEBUG: Thread 2920 terminating (autodelete)
22:36:07 T:5592 M:2347229184 DEBUG: SECTION:UnloadDelayed(DLL: special://xbmcbin/system/ImageLib.dll)
22:36:07 T:5592 M:2347229184 DEBUG: Win32DllLoader::Unload ImageLib.dll
22:37:12 T:5592 M:2356613120 DEBUG: CWinEventsWin32::WndProcWindow is active
22:37:12 T:5592 M:2356613120 DEBUG: CWinEventsWin32::WndProcWindow gained focus
22:37:13 T:5592 M:2356572160 DEBUG: ------ Window Deinit (DialogKaiToast.xml) ------
22:37:13 T:5592 M:2356555776 DEBUG: SDLKeyboard: scancode: 14, sym: 8, unicode: 8, modifier: 0
22:37:13 T:5592 M:2356555776 DEBUG: CApplication::OnKey: 61448 pressed, action is ParentDir
22:37:13 T:5592 M:2356350976 DEBUG: CGUIWindowManager::PreviousWindow: Deactivate
22:37:13 T:5592 M:2356350976 DEBUG: ------ Window Deinit (MyPrograms.xml) ------
22:37:15 T:5592 M:2356469760 DEBUG: CGUIWindowManager::PreviousWindow: Activate new