Kodi Community Forum
XBMControl - a compact remote XBMC controller app for Windows (Open Source C# .NET) - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Supplementary Tools for Kodi (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=116)
+--- Thread: XBMControl - a compact remote XBMC controller app for Windows (Open Source C# .NET) (/showthread.php?tid=38120)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24


- Kabooga - 2009-05-09

I have been messing around with implementing a XBMC web interface that uses AJAX. It is based loosely on work from LiquidIce on an earlier XBMC web interface that used AJAX.

The web interface currently only works on music files (not video yet). Also the drag/drop works from the Shares directory tree to the PlayList (just make sure the mouse is positioned over text when grabbing and droping....try it you'll see).

A zip file of the web interface has been uploaded to the XBMControl Google Code Project at http://code.google.com/p/xbmcontrol/

You will need the ASP.NET AJAX framework for this to work. It can be found at http://www.asp.net/ajax/downloads/

If you are brave enough to try this out.
1) Download zip file XBMControl AJAX Web Interface.
2) Unzip file in the /XBMC/web directory.
3) Start XBMC
4) Make sure web server is turned on.
5) To start web page http://[IP addressTongueort]/XBMControl_AJAX/default.asp

This is at technical demonstration stage. I want to see if this works for other computers than mine.

Thanks,
Kabooga


- Livin - 2009-05-09

Cannot get it fully working. UI comes up, Shares show with 3 sources but will not open (no contents).

I installed everything and...

the basic UI comes up, even without ASP.NET AJAX framework
- suggestion: have it check for the ASP.NET AJAX framework before launching, it does not right now and thus makes you think it is working when it does not Smile

the ZIP you DL with ASP.NET AJAX framework has multiple folders in it until you get to the JS files... can you be specific on what to copy, folder structure layout, etc?

thx


- Kabooga - 2009-05-09

You will only really need the AJAX functionality for the updating of what is currently playing.

If you are seeing the shares then it is getting info from your XBMC. Try click on the text of one of the shares shown. This should drill down to that shares directory.


- Gamester17 - 2009-05-09

Kabooga Wrote:You will need the ASP.NET AJAX framework for this to work. It can be found at http://www.asp.net/ajax/downloads/
hmm, does ASP.NET mean that one can not use this on Mac OS X and Linux? Huh

...it would be great if the web interface would work in all web browsers on Linux, Mac, and Windows out-of-the-box without having to install third-party dependencies, would that be possible with AJAX without ASP.NET?

PS! FYI; the plan is to replace XBMC old decrepit embedded web server library with Appweb, see:
http://www.appwebserver.org
and:
http://trac.xbmc.org/ticket/5570
That should really open up more opportunity to further develope XBMC's web interface Nod


- Livin - 2009-05-09

Kabooga Wrote:If you are seeing the shares then it is getting info from your XBMC. Try click on the text of one of the shares shown. This should drill down to that shares directory.

Sorry I was not clear... I can see the shares - clicking on them does nothing.

please specify what ASP.NET AJAX folder goes where. ( I think I have .NET 3.5 installed so it probably does not matter but just for everyone's benefit)

thx


- Kabooga - 2009-05-09

Actually I should not have stated needing the AJAX Framework.

This works on a system that does not have the ASP.NET framework, the system doesn't even have the normal .NET 3.5 Framework. What you do need is Java (at least Standard Edition 6).

Also AJAX functionality should be handled in the major browsers (the latest releases). So functionality should be across OS's.

Livin, what browser (and version), and Java are you using?

I have: IE8, Java Standard Edition 6 Update 7.


- Livin - 2009-05-09

Kabooga Wrote:Livin, what browser (and version), and Java are you using?

XP Pro SP3 (all patches)
IE 7 (all patches)
Java 6 update 3


- Gamester17 - 2009-05-16

@Kabooga, should your web interface not have its own discussion thread, and even its own google project?

Huh


- Kabooga - 2009-05-20

I will probably setup a Google code project soon. I've redone the code to work with a different framework. When the code is in a more stable condition the Google project will be set up.

Cheers.


- Curudan - 2009-05-22

Is there any chance of a Pocket PC 2003 SE version of the mobile remote?

Due to application compatibility, I am stuck with 2003 SE on my Dell Axim x50v.


- Bram77 - 2009-05-22

Curudan Wrote:Is there any chance of a Pocket PC 2003 SE version of the mobile remote?

Due to application compatibility, I am stuck with 2003 SE on my Dell Axim x50v.

You could just install WM6 or even WM6.5 on your PDA Smile

http://www.google.nl/search?source=ig&hl=nl&rlz=&=&q=Dell+Axim+x50v+WM6&btnG=Google+zoeken&meta=lr%3D


- Curudan - 2009-05-22

Bram77 Wrote:You could just install WM6 or even WM6.5 on your PDA Smile

http://www.google.nl/search?source=ig&hl=nl&rlz=&=&q=Dell+Axim+x50v+WM6&btnG=Google+zoeken&meta=lr%3D

Quote:Due to application compatibility, I am stuck with 2003 SE on my Dell Axim x50v.

I really am.

Besides, the WM6 updates for the Dell Axim x50v are illegal and really slow it down.

EDIT: Actually it looks like I might be able to upgrade to WM5. If it can't be ported to 2003 SE, can it be ported to WM5?


- Livin - 2009-05-22

Kabooga Wrote:I will probably setup a Google code project soon. I've redone the code to work with a different framework. When the code is in a more stable condition the Google project will be set up.

I'm eager to test!


Curudan Wrote:I really am.

Besides, the WM6 updates for the Dell Axim x50v are illegal and really slow it down.

EDIT: Actually it looks like I might be able to upgrade to WM5. If it can't be ported to 2003 SE, can it be ported to WM5?

Why not just get a used WM6 capable unit? They are pretty cheap on ebay.


- Bram77 - 2009-05-22

Curudan Wrote:I really am.

Besides, the WM6 updates for the Dell Axim x50v are illegal and really slow it down.

EDIT: Actually it looks like I might be able to upgrade to WM5. If it can't be ported to 2003 SE, can it be ported to WM5?

If I'm not mistaking WM5 allows you to install the .NET compact framework which should make it possible to install the mobile app. But to be honest, I haven't been able to run it (I didn't write it).

Try this one. It runs very well on my old iPaq and is WM5 compatible! It only has two downsides.
You'll need to leave the login credentials for the webserver on XBMC to it's defaults (xbmc : xbmc) because you can't enter any credentials. And the play behavior is different from what you'd expect. Selecting one file in a directory will only play that file it will not automatically play the following in that directory.

http://forum.xbmc.org/showpost.php?p=274263&postcount=71


- Curudan - 2009-05-22

Bram77 Wrote:If I'm not mistaking WM5 allows you to install the .NET compact framework which should make it possible to install the mobile app. But to be honest, I haven't been able to run it (I didn't write it).

I wouldn't have asked if it could be compiled to 2003 SE if I didn't already know there is a version of .NET 3.5 CF for 2003 SE.Big Grin

Bram77 Wrote:Try this one. It runs very well on my old iPaq and is WM5 compatible! It only has two downsides.
You'll need to leave the login credentials for the webserver on XBMC to it's defaults (xbmc : xbmc) because you can't enter any credentials. And the play behavior is different from what you'd expect. Selecting one file in a directory will only play that file it will not automatically play the following in that directory.

http://forum.xbmc.org/showpost.php?p=274263&postcount=71

Thanks for the link!

I've tried that out, and ,unfortunately, I am having the same problem a lot of other people are having with it: I can access the web server from the browser on my PPC, but, even after setting the IP in the remote, I never get anything but "Disconnected".