Kodi Community Forum
Initial native support for DXVA2 in SVN - Time to say goodbye to your firstborns - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: General Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=111)
+---- Forum: Windows (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=59)
+---- Thread: Initial native support for DXVA2 in SVN - Time to say goodbye to your firstborns (/showthread.php?tid=69306)



- elupus - 2010-04-29

It does however have some really nice new things..

Quote:Devices are now only lost under two circumstances; when the hardware is reset because it is hanging, and when the device driver is stopped. When hardware hangs, the device can be reset by calling ResetEx. If hardware hangs, texture memory is lost.

Means it shouldn't loose our device due to resolution changes Smile

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb219800(v=VS.85).aspx


- CrystalP - 2010-04-29

Yes indeed and the effect is noticeable. I used a dirty #ifdef mess so it's not ready for prime time. Feel free to take over, it's not much work to get D3D9Ex going.

I'm also looking forward to bypassing the DWM in Win 7 (sorry Vista users) for a smoother playback but I don't understand enough of the presentation/rendering code, and ended up with smooth true fullscreen and jerky fake fullscreen...

Would you like me to share what I've done so far? Ticket and patch on Trac?

XP users will still need a change in XBMC reset handling though.


- Bawk - 2010-04-29

This is the first time I've posted in here. I have been following the DXVA implementation since the beginning. I am not a techie, all the logs and technical talk is way over my head. I'm just a simple user looking for a good home theater experience. I have an older CPU and it was very important to me to see the DXVA implementation work. I have an ATI 4850HD GPU and can definitively say that with Catalyst 10.4 my green screen issue on a few of my 1080p videos has been resolved. I can now watch all my videos flawlessly. Thanks ATI for finally stepping up, and a thousand thank you's to Elupus for making my XBMC experience perfect! Big Grin


- SlaveUnit - 2010-04-29

nekrosoft13 Wrote:this has nothing to do with current ati h264 issues

How does this NOT have to do with a lot of ATI user's issues?


- WiSo - 2010-04-29

For reference there's already a ticket about DirectX9Ex: http://trac.xbmc.org/ticket/8284
Just nobody wanted to rewrite the code to switch to DirectX9 when running XP.


- neil.j1983 - 2010-04-29

steelman1991 Wrote:Neil, sorry perhaps I'm way off base on this and it might not be the bitrate that was causing the problem - but I was referring to the clip posted by SlaveUnit (supplied by me) which was causing major pixelation issues - see here for download of sample http://www.mediafire.com/?1w2y2zzmnbq. elupus is on the case to resolve Nod

no need to apologise! I tried the sample, but it's only on some recentbuilds it gives me trouble, i think 29242 or something works perfect on that sample. and more recent give me the blocking.

i was under the impression you meant the card couldn't handle high bitrates. but nevermind, it's easy to misunderstand things (especially tone!) with just the written word.


- CrystalP - 2010-04-30

WISo, thanks for pointing out this ticket. I had a look and found the same thing about textures. They must be in the default pool and have the D3DUSAGE_DYNAMIC attribute so they can be locked/unlocked.

That leaves a loose end if there is a hardware issue and the device is lost, as the texture would have to be created again. Not sure if it's handled already as any other D3D resource.

I'll continue the discussion in the ticket.


- elupus - 2010-04-30

The DWM stuff i already have a patch for.. Sadly when you enable/disable frame queuing, the screen flickers. So it must always be enabled which is abit overkill for the gui.


- CrystalP - 2010-04-30

Elupus: I'm curious about your DWM work. I suppose you're talking about D3DSWAPEFFECT_FLIPEX, but how could you use it without D3D9Ex?


- Kalledoo - 2010-04-30

Hey Guys! I really appriciate the good work! But as always there are bugs, and they seem to love me Smile

I run a Win7 64bits system on a 780G mobo with Radeon 3200, 2Gb Ram and 7850 AMD something something..Which I thought was a good idea for DXVA..

I have the Catalyst 10.3 driver now.. Had the 10.4 installed for a little while and it seemed to like DXVA better but as said before in this thread it didn't remember Overscan settings etc.

With Catalyst 10.3 and the XBMC nightly Build r29642 with DXVA 2 actvie and sync displayrate with movie I sometimes can start a mkv 1080p movie and it runs smoth as silk. Starts up a 720p works perfectly, next 1080p startup and the screen goes black and the sound starts to "loop". It's like playing the lottery everytime Smile

I read that this problem could be avoided by using the "fake fullscreen mode". Only starting this "fake fullscreen mode" ran my CPU usage up to 50-60% usage. The movies stuttered and the FPS whent bananas. Wierd huh?

The few minutes using CCC 10.4 though I got it working fine with "fake fullscreen mode" no extra CPU usage and all videos seemed to play great. But catalyst of course had to include those nice bugs..

Gah going crazy here Smile Is there any other build out there working better with my setup? A more stable CCC maybe? Or am I doomed to enjoy these bugs until CCC 10.4 comes out with bugfixes?


- Mallet21 - 2010-04-30

Kalledoo Wrote:With Catalyst 10.3 and the XBMC nightly Build r29642 with DXVA 2 actvie and sync displayrate with movie I sometimes can start a mkv 1080p movie and it runs smoth as silk. Starts up a 720p works perfectly, next 1080p startup and the screen goes black and the sound starts to "loop". It's like playing the lottery everytime Smile


Have you tried playing back videos without the adjust display rate to match video selected? This feature is apparently still pretty buggy.


- Kalledoo - 2010-04-30

Mallet21 Wrote:Have you tried playing back videos without the adjust display rate to match video selected? This feature is apparently still pretty buggy.

No I have not and I'm sure it works and that the problem may have something to do with this setting.

But this setting alone is the main reason I switched to XBMC. The same setting is available in Mediaportal but doesn't work ( I still get tearing ). With XBMC I get no tearing at all when it works.. But the crashes is really annyoing.

But hopefully this will be solved.


- elupus - 2010-04-30

CrystalP Wrote:Elupus: I'm curious about your DWM work. I suppose you're talking about D3DSWAPEFFECT_FLIPEX, but how could you use it without D3D9Ex?

Nah haven't looked at that swap method, just with allowing DWM to buffer and schedule flipts for display using it's direct api for scheduling.

http://xbmc.pastebin.com/xReran2E

But D3DSWAPEFFECT_FLIPEX looks like something we really should take advantage of aswell.


- CrystalP - 2010-04-30

Combining the two approaches might do it Big Grin


- mrfreddas - 2010-05-01

Noob question but if I download this file http://mirrors.xbmc.org/nightlies/win32/ I can use XBMC in Windows 7 and play 1080p movies?

Im using a Asrock ION 330HT and would love to use XBMC in windows.