Kodi Community Forum
[LINUX] HOW-TO launch applications from XBMC Live (e.g. Firefox) - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: General Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=111)
+---- Forum: Linux (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=52)
+---- Thread: [LINUX] HOW-TO launch applications from XBMC Live (e.g. Firefox) (/showthread.php?tid=71664)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12


[LINUX] HOW-TO launch applications from XBMC Live (e.g. Firefox) - vikjon0 - 2010-04-07

There is a lot of threads but few good. I have read most of them and compiled a working solution based on a script example from the actual launcher release thread.
This is step by step how to add it to xbmc-live 9.11repack.

EDIT: This works fine in Dharma. Use the program executor, not the launcher. It is pre-installed, at least in xbmcLive.

Install Launcher (skip for Dharma)
-----------------
Log on with the user that runs xbmc and position your self in that user's home directory.

Code:
mkdir Downloads
cd Downloads
wget http://xbmc-launcher.googlecode.com/files/Launcher1.04.zip
unzip Launcher1.04.zip
mv Launcher /home/xbmc/.xbmc/plugins/programs
cd ..


setup firefox launch script
-------------------------------
Code:
mkdir scripts
cd scripts
sudo nano firefox.sh
add:
Code:
#!/bin/bash
fluxbox &
firefox
killall -9 fluxbox

Save and exit nano
Quote:To save: CTRL-o
To exit: CTRL-x

Code:
sudo chmod +x firefox.sh

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get --no-install-recommends install firefox flashplugin-nonfree
(--no-install-recommends is VERY important in karmic..omit and you will break things)

Add firefox to launcher (In Dharma use the executer)
-----------------------------
Go to program / program plugin / launcher / add new launcher => select the script
You can add the launcher to favourites or create another launcher with the context menu.


Change DPI (font size etc)
------------------------------------
Code:
sudo nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf
Add an option DPI in the monitor section:

Code:
Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
[b]Option "DPI" "200 x 200"[/b]
EndSection

I wanted to set DPI on the fly with xrandr but couldn't get it to work. If anyone knows howto do it, please let me know.

Config fluxbox
----------------------------------------------------------
a) Get ride of fluxbox error message
Start fluxbox by running the launcher (or from the console by typing "startx", without "")
If needed, minimize firefox and start a terminal by right-clicking on the desktop.
Enter
Code:
fbsetbg -b -solid black
b) Get ride of toolbar
Righ-click on toolbar and check "auto-hide"
c) Maximize firefox and terminate it.
=> back to xbmc


hdmi audio
---------------------------------------------------------

Code:
Create a file in home directory:
nano .asoundrc

Add:

pcm.!default {
type plug
slave {
pcm "hdmi"
}
}

or perhaps:
Code:
defaults.pcm.device 3
3 = the hdmi device number


- vikjon0 - 2010-04-07

..


- vikjon0 - 2010-04-07

...


- Csimbi - 2010-04-07

Thanks, I'll give it a go when I get back from vacation...


- kazama42 - 2010-04-08

Cant find the flash plugin. Running xbmc LIVE.

xbmc@XBMCLive:~/scripts$ sudo apt-get --no-install-recommends install firefox adobe-flashplugin
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
Package adobe-flashplugin is not available, but is referred to by another package.
This may mean that the package is missing, has been obsoleted, or
is only available from another source
E: Package adobe-flashplugin has no installation candidate



- ppic - 2010-04-08

apt-get install flash should be good.


- kazama42 - 2010-04-08

sudo apt-get install flashplugin-installer ended up working.
I'll test it out tonight.


- vikjon0 - 2010-04-08

Quote:sudo apt-get install flashplugin-installer ended up working.

Yes, thank you for pointing this out. My bad. I already had it in the system and I copied adobe-flashplugin from another thread and when I tested I was told "already newest version"

Quote:sudo apt-get install flashplugin-nonfree
This see to be working as well.


sound - rickx - 2010-04-08

nice work.
I'll try the killall too.

would it also work with fluxbox in the background and xbmc above - without calling fluxbox for each launched thing?

I had no-sound problems last time I tried with my actual setup. Can someone confirm this works, firefox/mame with sound? I use alsa.

thanks


slight alteration. - wipmonkey - 2010-04-08

I changed the script to:
Code:
#!/bin/bash
fluxbox &
"$@"
killall -9 fluxbox

and renamed it /usr/local/bin/startfluxbox
some of my Emulators were not starting and I think it was because they were looking for a windows manager even though they were in full screen.

this is what my mednafen entry in Launcher.xml looks like now:
Code:
...
                <name>Ninteno (NES)</name>
                <application>/usr/local/bin/startfluxbox</application>
                <args>/usr/games/mednafen</args>
                <rompath>/home/xbmc/roms/nes/</rompath>
                <romext>nes|zip|NES|ZIP|Zip|Nes</romext>
...

it will work even with more arguments like:
Code:
...
<launcher>
                <name>Ninteno 64 (N64)</name>
                <application>/usr/local/bin/startfluxbox</application>
                <args>/usr/games/mupen64plus --nogui --fullscreen</args>
                <rompath>/home/xbmc/roms/N64/</rompath>
                <romext>rom|zip|ROM|ZIP|Zip|Rom</romext>
                <thumb></thumb>
                <wait>true</wait>
...


in ~/.fluxbox/init
I added/changed these lines:
Code:
session.screen0.rootCommand:    fbsetbg -b -solid black
session.screen0.toolbar.autoHide:       true

its works great Big Grin


- vikjon0 - 2010-04-08

Quote:slight alteration.
I assume that this mean that you have ONE script and you enter the actucal binary as parameter. Makes sense. I will update when I have time to test.


- vikjon0 - 2010-04-08

Quote:I'll try the killall too.

would it also work with fluxbox in the background and xbmc above - without calling fluxbox for each launched thing?
I am gussing you dont need this if you are running xbmc on flxubox, but I am not sure.
You should not killall fluxbox if you run xbmc in it?

Quote:I had no-sound problems last time I tried with my actual setup. Can someone confirm this works, firefox/mame with sound? I use alsa.
I am testing with youtube and I get sound with this setup. Before I did not.


- wipmonkey - 2010-04-09

rickx Wrote:...

I had no-sound problems last time I tried with my actual setup. Can someone confirm this works, firefox/mame with sound? I use alsa.

thanks

sound works for me but I use XBMC-Live with no modification to the sound part. I can be listening to music and start sdlmame/mednafen/mupen64plus/snes9x-gtk/etc and it has no issues.

I made a script to launch mame roms

/usr/local/bin/mame.go
Code:
#!/bin/bash
mamename=`echo $1|awk 'BEGIN{FS="<";RS=">"}/</{print $2}' `
/usr/games/mame $mamename

then you can just do
touch roms/mame/19XX\:\ The\ War\ Against\ Destiny\ \<19xx\>.zip

it will show up in the list as
19XX: The War Against Destiny <19xx>
it will run whats between the <...>:
Code:
/usr/games/mame 19xx

launcher.xml
Code:
...
        <launcher>
                <name>Mame</name>
                <application>/usr/local/bin/startfluxbox</application>
                <args>/usr/local/bin/mame.go</args>
                <rompath>/home/xbmc/roms/mame/</rompath>
                <romext>zip|*</romext>
                <thumb></thumb>
                <wait>true</wait>
                <roms>
                </roms>
        </launcher>
...



- Haohmaru - 2010-04-10

vikjon0 Wrote:Add firefox to launcher
-----------------------------
Go to program / program plugin / launcher / add new launcher => select the script
You can add the launcher to favourites or create another launcher with the context menu.

I didn't understood this part.
I go to program / program plugin / start launcher than it asks me standalone or file launcher. By choosing any of them I have to browse for a file but I only see my shared Movies and Music directories. What am I supposed to do here exactly ?

Thx


- vikjon0 - 2010-04-10

Quote:I go to program / program plugin / start launcher than it asks me standalone or file launcher. By choosing any of them I have to browse for a file but I only see my shared Movies and Music directories. What am I supposed to do here exactly ?
Select standalone. Assuming that you were in the home directory when you followed the guide there should be a directory scripts containing the firefox.sh. Select this script.