Kodi Community Forum
[WINDOWS] XBMC on iMON Display (LCD / VFD) for Windows - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (http://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Supplementary Tools for Kodi (/forumdisplay.php?fid=116)
+--- Thread: [WINDOWS] XBMC on iMON Display (LCD / VFD) for Windows (/showthread.php?tid=84166)



- Montellese - 2010-11-04 18:32

tomer953 Wrote:1. The volume thing, and I'll Explain:
When you change the volume on XBMC with the keyboard :
http://www.fastlanehw.com/reviews/160/XGene_21a.JPG
(the volume control on the top)
the Imon screen changes to bars, like: ###############
and after 2-3 secs, its desapear, and return to the movie information.
BUT - with your tool, the bars (##############) remains on the screen, and stays there, untill I hit "play\pause" button or "stop", and then it refresh the screen and give me the information again.
Hm sounds very strange because I haven't included any volume handling yet and I don't have a keyboard which can change the volume. I'll have to find a way to reproduce it but currently it looks like iMon Manager interfers with my tool (which it shouldn't) when you change the volume.

tomer953 Wrote:the second problem, it with the time bar, without your tool, it works perfectly, when I play movie - the top bar and the bottom bar is displaying the location of the movie.
BUT - with your tool, the top bar is always full, and the bottom bar is always empty, UNTILL - I press "play\pause" button, and then its get fix, when I resume the movie - the bar is full again.
so in other words, only when the movie is paused the bars works.

This is very odd as well. Normally it should start with the top bar being empty and the bottom bar being full (this is by choice of Soundgraph not by mine) and then it should update the bars at least every 5 seconds and additionaly when you press play/pause. I just listened to 3 songs in a row and stared at the display and it worked exactly as I expected it to.
But I will look into it. Maybe I'll add some additional debug log output which will help narrow down the problem.


- Montellese - 2010-11-04 18:41

Just remembered that it already is visible in the debug log. Could you please start my tool, enable debug logging (in the general options) then start playing a song/movie, let it play for about 20-30 seconds, then pause and play again and then stop the debug logging and post the debug log on http://pastebin.com/?


- tomer953 - 2010-11-04 18:43

Thanks for the quick answer, I'm waiting for you to solve the volume problem if you can.

about the time problem:

Montellese Wrote:then it should update the bars at least every 5 seconds and additionaly when you press play/pause..


so in my pc it doesnt refresh every 5 secs, its refresh only when pause, and when I play again, the bars resets..
check it out :|

edit:
ok, I will paste here the log in 5 mins.


- tomer953 - 2010-11-04 18:52

ok this is the log:
http://pastebin.com/fm1YLXPC
what I did:
1. run xbmc
2. Libary
3. Play the movie 10,000 bc
4. pause then play
5. jump to 30:00 ~
6. then pause\play again
7. in the end, change the volume with my keyboard, (Windows volume)
8. then exit


- Montellese - 2010-11-04 19:15

Thanks for the log and the detailed description about what you did. Here is what I can see from the log (I picked out the important lines):

You started playing the movie here:
Code:
04/11/2010 18:46:30 [XBMC Handler] Playback started
and my tool immediatly asks XBMC about the current position and length of the playing file:
Code:
04/11/2010 18:46:30 [XBMC] XbmcVideoPlayer.GetTime()
04/11/2010 18:46:30 [XBMC] Calling JSON RPC method "VideoPlayer.GetTimeMS"...
04/11/2010 18:46:30 [XBMC] JSON RPC call: {
  "jsonrpc": "2.0",
  "method": "VideoPlayer.GetTimeMS",
  "id": 7
}
04/11/2010 18:46:30 [XBMC] JSON RPC response: {
   "id" : 7,
   "jsonrpc" : "2.0",
   "result" : {
      "paused" : false,
      "playing" : true,
      "time" : 1,
      "total" : 6534000
   }
}
My tool then grabs some additional information about the file from the XBMC library and finally (still within the same second you started playing the movie) sets the progress bars:
Code:
04/11/2010 18:46:30 [iMON] IMON_Display_SetLcdProgress(1, 6534000)
Then comes the period where you let the movie play for 36 seconds which looks like this:
Code:
04/11/2010 18:46:35 [iMON] IMON_Display_SetLcdProgress(5001, 6534000)
04/11/2010 18:46:40 [iMON] IMON_Display_SetLcdProgress(10001, 6534000)
04/11/2010 18:46:45 [iMON] IMON_Display_SetLcdProgress(15001, 6534000)
04/11/2010 18:46:50 [iMON] IMON_Display_SetLcdProgress(20001, 6534000)
04/11/2010 18:46:55 [iMON] IMON_Display_SetLcdProgress(25001, 6534000)
04/11/2010 18:47:00 [iMON] IMON_Display_SetLcdProgress(30001, 6534000)
04/11/2010 18:47:05 [iMON] IMON_Display_SetLcdProgress(35001, 6534000)
As expected the progress is updated every 5 seconds. Of course you need to realise that there won't be any visible change on the display because 35 seconds is only 1/186 of the total of 6534 seconds (108 min) and as there are only 32 pieces of the progress bar you won't see anything until you get to 205 seconds.

Ok let's see what else we got in the log. Then you pressed "Pause" which makes my tool ask XBMC for the current position again and display it on the screen:
Code:
04/11/2010 18:47:06 [XBMC Handler] Playback paused
04/11/2010 18:47:06 [iMON] IMON_Display_SetLcdProgress(35235, 6534000)
Then you resumed playback which forces yet another update of the progress bar
Code:
04/11/2010 18:47:10 [XBMC Handler] Playback resumed
04/11/2010 18:47:10 [iMON] IMON_Display_SetLcdProgress(36822, 6534000)

Then you make some jumps ahead which is where there seems to be a problem. When my tool asks XBMC about the new position after the seek XBMC returns:
Code:
04/11/2010 18:47:17 [XBMC] JSON RPC response: {
   "id" : 26,
   "jsonrpc" : "2.0",
   "result" : {
      "Player.SeekTime" : "00:00:00"
   }
}

which makes my program reset the progress bar to 0. As soon as you pause/play it is updated to the correct position.

I will look into this as it works perfectly fine at my place. Did you ever try this with a music song? Music songs are better suited to test this problem because the overall progress proceeds faster and you should see something on the progress bar sooner (in a 4 minutes song you should see the first bar piece at the top after 10 seconds or so.

Concerning the volume problem I can't see anything in the log as it seems to be coming from iMon Manager and not from my tool.


- tomer953 - 2010-11-04 19:31

Thanks a lot.
in the music its a little diffrent
Now every few seconds the bars change into the current position, but only for 1 second, and then reset !

Log:
http://pastebin.com/5AYHMu20

1. run XBMC 2. Music libary 3. choose Rihanna album
4. Play rihanna - hard.mp3
5. let the music play for a half minute ~
6. then play\pause few times
7. exit


- Montellese - 2010-11-04 19:43

tomer953 Wrote:Thanks a lot.
in the music its a little diffrent
Now every few seconds the bars change into the current position, but only for 1 second, and then reset !

Very interesting as well. This is what I found in the log (I copied it without leaving anything out):
Code:
04/11/2010 19:26:45 [iMON] IMON_Display_SetLcdProgress(11197, 250000)
04/11/2010 19:26:50 [iMON] IMON_Display_SetLcdProgress(16197, 250000)
04/11/2010 19:26:55 [iMON] IMON_Display_SetLcdProgress(21197, 250000)
04/11/2010 19:27:00 [iMON] IMON_Display_SetLcdProgress(26197, 250000)
04/11/2010 19:27:05 [iMON] IMON_Display_SetLcdProgress(31197, 250000)
04/11/2010 19:27:10 [iMON] IMON_Display_SetLcdProgress(36197, 250000)
04/11/2010 19:27:15 [iMON] IMON_Display_SetLcdProgress(41197, 250000)
04/11/2010 19:27:20 [iMON] IMON_Display_SetLcdProgress(46197, 250000)
04/11/2010 19:27:25 [iMON] IMON_Display_SetLcdProgress(51197, 250000)

To me it looks like the progress is updated correctly. There are a few other updates like these when you paused/resumed playback but nothing that would indicate that the progress bar would be reset.

The only thing I can think of right now is that iMon Manager tries to update the display as well which leads to a problem. Can you please check in the iMon Manager under "iMon Utilities" --> "FrontView" --> "Media Information" if XBMC is disabled as described in the README?

PS: I just fixed the seek update problem which I noticed in your debug log.


- tomer953 - 2010-11-04 21:01

Montellese Wrote:Very interesting as well. This is what I found in the log (I copied it without leaving anything out):
Code:
04/11/2010 19:26:45 [iMON] IMON_Display_SetLcdProgress(11197, 250000)
04/11/2010 19:26:50 [iMON] IMON_Display_SetLcdProgress(16197, 250000)
04/11/2010 19:26:55 [iMON] IMON_Display_SetLcdProgress(21197, 250000)
04/11/2010 19:27:00 [iMON] IMON_Display_SetLcdProgress(26197, 250000)
04/11/2010 19:27:05 [iMON] IMON_Display_SetLcdProgress(31197, 250000)
04/11/2010 19:27:10 [iMON] IMON_Display_SetLcdProgress(36197, 250000)
04/11/2010 19:27:15 [iMON] IMON_Display_SetLcdProgress(41197, 250000)
04/11/2010 19:27:20 [iMON] IMON_Display_SetLcdProgress(46197, 250000)
04/11/2010 19:27:25 [iMON] IMON_Display_SetLcdProgress(51197, 250000)

To me it looks like the progress is updated correctly. There are a few other updates like these when you paused/resumed playback but nothing that would indicate that the progress bar would be reset.

The only thing I can think of right now is that iMon Manager tries to update the display as well which leads to a problem. Can you please check in the iMon Manager under "iMon Utilities" --> "FrontView" --> "Media Information" if XBMC is disabled as described in the README?

PS: I just fixed the seek update problem which I noticed in your debug log.

ok, the media Information was enable,
but Gray.. look
http://img709.imageshack.us/img709/9387/99812834.jpg
why?

so untill I'll find out I did some things:

I change the port in xbmc to 8085, and in your tool too, and there some changes:

1. now the progress bar is not reset after changes, so if I play the movie, the progress bar is work fine, but:
If I skip with the arrow keys, forward, the progress bar doesnt show the correct time, only when I press pause he jump to the correct time.
so if you can update the progress bar when any of the arrow key is pressed it will be just perfect.

2. something else, If in Libary mode, you play file that already played in the past, there is an option in xbmc "Play from the last positon.." so if I choose that option, the movie start from positon X (and not from the beginnig), and the progress bar doest show the correct time again.

Thanks !


- Montellese - 2010-11-04 21:15

tomer953 Wrote:ok, the media Information was enable,
but Gray.. look
http://img709.imageshack.us/img709/9387/99812834.jpg
why?
Hm good question. I can't get it to be greyed out.

tomer953 Wrote:I change the port in xbmc to 8085, and in your tool too, and there some changes:

1. now the progress bar is not reset after changes, so if I play the movie, the progress bar is work fine
So it actually was iMon Manager messing around with the display when it shouldn't *bad iMon Manager*

tomer953 Wrote:If I skip with the arrow keys, forward, the progress bar doesnt show the correct time, only when I press pause he jump to the correct time.
so if you can update the progress bar when any of the arrow key is pressed it will be just perfect.
Yeah I already noticed that (as mentioned before) and fixed it and it will be in the next release.

tomer953 Wrote:2. something else, If in Libary mode, you play file that already played in the past, there is an option in xbmc "Play from the last positon.." so if I choose that option, the movie start from positon X (and not from the beginnig), and the progress bar doest show the correct time again.
Thanks for the report. I will look at it. Might be a similar problem as the other one but I'll let you know when I fixed it.


- tomer953 - 2010-11-04 21:23

Thanks!
and If you can find a solution to the volume problem it will be great,
becasue anyone with keyboard that include vol up\down buttons will have that problem...

I have an idea, maybe every 5 seconds the title will be refresh too (like the progress bar), so the volume bar will disapear..

edit:
and to add option to Disable the "Baloons" tips from the taskbar


- Montellese - 2010-11-04 21:31

tomer953 Wrote:I have an idea, maybe every 5 seconds the title will be refresh too (like the progress bar), so the volume bar will disapear..

I wish it were that simple Wink The problem with updating the text on the display every X seconds is that this will break scrolling text. Imagine a very long text scrolling on the display and you are reading it and *bang* the text is reset.

tomer953 Wrote:and to add option to Disable the "Baloons" tips from the taskbar

Good idea, will certainly be available in the next release.


- NorDemoniac - 2010-11-04 22:44

Will test this on my "Antec Fusion Remote" chassis (with the RM200).

I just saw the imon manager update "support for 3rd party plugin." It took me like two seconds of thinking, and I googled "XBMC IMON VFD", and what do you know? Big Grin

Will response after trying this out.


- Montellese - 2010-11-04 22:56

NorDemoniac Wrote:Will test this on my "Antec Fusion Remote" chassis (with the RM200).

I just saw the imon manager update "support for 3rd party plugin." It took me like two seconds of thinking, and I googled "XBMC IMON VFD", and what do you know? Big Grin

Will response after trying this out.

I could really use some feedback from someone with an iMON VFD as I only have an LCD. So I simply try to split up the text on the two available lines but I have no clue how it actually looks like. Feel free to provide suggestions on how to split things up or change strings etc.


- tomer953 - 2010-11-04 23:34

Montellese Wrote:I wish it were that simple Wink The problem with updating the text on the display every X seconds is that this will break scrolling text. Imagine a very long text scrolling on the display and you are reading it and *bang* the text is reset.

hammm, any way to know when the scorlling is finish, then refresh?
plan B, is let us set the X seconds, in my libary I think 5 seconds will be enoughe for the longest song\movie.. In yours - set whatever you want..
but is not such a good idea, and you better to auto calculate when to refresh


- NorDemoniac - 2010-11-05 13:00

Hey dude!

My brain is struggling to find out which port it should be.

It says "127.0.0.1" and port 8080. Why port 8080? Something I have to do with this port? I use 6060 for the web-server on XBMC (remote on iPhone).

When I click connect, I just get an error...

Edit:

LOL, maybe I should write the correct password.

So - I filled in the web-server info, and IT's connected.

Will test for a couple of days now.