Kodi Community Forum
[CLOSED] Advanced Launcher - Applications Launcher Addon for XBMC - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Add-on Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=27)
+---- Forum: Game Add-ons (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=291)
+---- Thread: [CLOSED] Advanced Launcher - Applications Launcher Addon for XBMC (/showthread.php?tid=85724)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453


RE: [RELEASE] Advanced Launcher - Applications Launcher Addon for XBMC - HeresJohnny - 2013-05-03

(2013-05-03, 03:39)Angelscry Wrote: I'm sorry, but I'm not able to fix this problem. It is over my knowledge... and I do not understand why it happen. Paths containing non-ascii characters are stored and send correctly to the python function starting the command line... but the python function do not recognize the path correclty. Encoding paths to the system encoding before send it to the function generate en error. More stangely this problem only occurs under Windows... and all is working correctly under Linux.

So... if someone could bring its help and take a look at the Advanced Launcher code, it will be welcome.

I am by no means a programmer, but from what I gather online, Python uses UTF-16-LE in Windows and UTF-8 in all other OS's, so maybe that's your problem right there. Windows needs a different environment variable "_wenviron" as opposed to all other OS where it's "environ".

subprocess_hack.py, Line 678 could be a possible culprit.

I'm just blabbering without any real programming knowledge, though.

Also found this: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1737410/file-open-error-by-using-codec-utf-8-in-python


RE: [RELEASE] Advanced Launcher - Applications Launcher Addon for XBMC - Angelscry - 2013-05-03

(2013-05-03, 18:03)HeresJohnny Wrote:
(2013-05-03, 03:39)Angelscry Wrote: I'm sorry, but I'm not able to fix this problem. It is over my knowledge... and I do not understand why it happen. Paths containing non-ascii characters are stored and send correctly to the python function starting the command line... but the python function do not recognize the path correclty. Encoding paths to the system encoding before send it to the function generate en error. More stangely this problem only occurs under Windows... and all is working correctly under Linux.

So... if someone could bring its help and take a look at the Advanced Launcher code, it will be welcome.

I am by no means a programmer, but from what I gather online, Python uses UTF-16-LE in Windows and UTF-8 in all other OS's, so maybe that's your problem right there. Windows needs a different environment variable "_wenviron" as opposed to all other OS where it's "environ".

subprocess_hack.py, Line 678 could be a possible culprit.

I'm just blabbering without any real programming knowledge, though.

Also found this: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1737410/file-open-error-by-using-codec-utf-8-in-python
According to all the documentation you post here these unicode/windows bugs have mainly been fixed by version 3.0 of python. Unfortunately, XBMC still only using version 2.4. And actually using the getfilesystemencoding() function to convert paths/strings into the right file system encoding using by Windows do not work. Confused


RE: [RELEASE] Advanced Launcher - Applications Launcher Addon for XBMC - HeresJohnny - 2013-05-03

Does this help any? http://stackoverflow.com/questions/2608200/problems-with-umlauts-in-python-appdata-environvent-variable
Thanks for being so repsonsive, btw!


RE: [RELEASE] Advanced Launcher - Applications Launcher Addon for XBMC - firewasborn - 2013-05-03

Just to point out - thanks for the amazing help! It's really rare to find someone that helps you this much nowdays, all of you!

And on the emulator front, I'm getting real close!
I tried to make a launcher with these settings:

Application:
Code:
C:\Program Files\RetroArch\retroarch.exe
Arguments:
Code:
-f -D -L libretro-git-snes9x-next-x86.dll "%rom%"
Items Path:
Code:
C:\Program Files\RetroArch\ROMs
Items Extensions:
Code:
smc

Now everything works fine, it opens and runs the games as it should, but still with framedrops due XBMC being open.
I then made a .bat looking like this:

Code:
pssuspend XBMC.exe
"C:\Program Files\RetroArch\retroarch.exe" -f -D -L libretro-git-snes9x-next-x86.dll %1
pssuspend -r XBMC.exe

And the launcher looking like this:

Application:
Code:
C:\Program Files\RetroArch\retroarch_launcher.bat
Arguments:
Code:
"%rom%"
Items Path:
Code:
C:\Program Files\RetroArch\ROMs
Items Extensions:
Code:
smc

Now the problem is that this doesn't suspend XBMC and RetroArch is running with XBMC in the background, with huge lag.
Should I be running the .bat file with the standalone launcher instead of the files launcher? If so, how do I locate where my ROMs
path is?


RE: [RELEASE] Advanced Launcher - Applications Launcher Addon for XBMC - davelr - 2013-05-04

(2013-05-03, 23:23)firewasborn Wrote: Now the problem is that this doesn't suspend XBMC and RetroArch is running with XBMC in the background, with huge lag.
Should I be running the .bat file with the standalone launcher instead of the files launcher? If so, how do I locate where my ROMs
path is?

My initial guess is that the batch command continues processing once your emulator starts and just restarts XBMC. You could test this by using a start /wait command to fire off the emulator. An alternative would be to use Autoit to create a script or exe file to handle the start up. Autoit has a number of conditional commands to halt processing of the script until processes are fully started or closed, etc.


RE: [RELEASE] Advanced Launcher - Applications Launcher Addon for XBMC - Angelscry - 2013-05-04

(2013-05-04, 01:58)davelr Wrote:
(2013-05-03, 23:23)firewasborn Wrote: Now the problem is that this doesn't suspend XBMC and RetroArch is running with XBMC in the background, with huge lag.
Should I be running the .bat file with the standalone launcher instead of the files launcher? If so, how do I locate where my ROMs
path is?

My initial guess is that the batch command continues processing once your emulator starts and just restarts XBMC. You could test this by using a start /wait command to fire off the emulator. An alternative would be to use Autoit to create a script or exe file to handle the start up. Autoit has a number of conditional commands to halt processing of the script until processes are fully started or closed, etc.
My initial question will be : Do you have installed the pssuspend application part of the pstools package? http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/bb896649


RE: [RELEASE] Advanced Launcher - Applications Launcher Addon for XBMC - firewasborn - 2013-05-04

(2013-05-04, 02:07)Angelscry Wrote:
(2013-05-04, 01:58)davelr Wrote:
(2013-05-03, 23:23)firewasborn Wrote: Now the problem is that this doesn't suspend XBMC and RetroArch is running with XBMC in the background, with huge lag.
Should I be running the .bat file with the standalone launcher instead of the files launcher? If so, how do I locate where my ROMs
path is?

My initial guess is that the batch command continues processing once your emulator starts and just restarts XBMC. You could test this by using a start /wait command to fire off the emulator. An alternative would be to use Autoit to create a script or exe file to handle the start up. Autoit has a number of conditional commands to halt processing of the script until processes are fully started or closed, etc.
My initial question will be : Do you have installed the pssuspend application part of the pstools package? http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/bb896649

I didn't have the application installed, so I downloaded PsTools and installed pssuspend.
Went to XBMC, and executed the game from the launcher with the same results, retroarch in focus with game running, framedrops and xbmc in the background. Am I missing something?


RE: [RELEASE] Advanced Launcher - Applications Launcher Addon for XBMC - Angelscry - 2013-05-04

(2013-05-04, 11:51)firewasborn Wrote:
(2013-05-04, 02:07)Angelscry Wrote:
(2013-05-04, 01:58)davelr Wrote: My initial guess is that the batch command continues processing once your emulator starts and just restarts XBMC. You could test this by using a start /wait command to fire off the emulator. An alternative would be to use Autoit to create a script or exe file to handle the start up. Autoit has a number of conditional commands to halt processing of the script until processes are fully started or closed, etc.
My initial question will be : Do you have installed the pssuspend application part of the pstools package? http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/bb896649

I didn't have the application installed, so I downloaded PsTools and installed pssuspend.
Went to XBMC, and executed the game from the launcher with the same results, retroarch in focus with game running, framedrops and xbmc in the background. Am I missing something?
And during this time XBMC is suspended or still active into background?


RE: [RELEASE] Advanced Launcher - Applications Launcher Addon for XBMC - davelr - 2013-05-04

(2013-05-04, 13:32)Angelscry Wrote:
(2013-05-04, 11:51)firewasborn Wrote:
(2013-05-04, 02:07)Angelscry Wrote: My initial question will be : Do you have installed the pssuspend application part of the pstools package? http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/bb896649

I didn't have the application installed, so I downloaded PsTools and installed pssuspend.
Went to XBMC, and executed the game from the launcher with the same results, retroarch in focus with game running, framedrops and xbmc in the background. Am I missing something?
And during this time XBMC is suspended or still active into background?

I'd also strongly suggest that you try modifying your batch file to:

Code:
pssuspend XBMC.exe
start "" /wait "C:\Program Files\RetroArch\retroarch.exe" -f -D -L libretro-git-snes9x-next-x86.dll %1
pssuspend -r XBMC.exe

The modified line tells the command processor to initiate an instance of retroarch and NOT process any further batch file commands UNTIL retroarch terminates, which is what you want.

It may not always be necessary, but in most situations if you don't want the next line processed until the initiated program actually terminates you should use the 'Start "" /wait' method to fire off a program.


RE: [RELEASE] Advanced Launcher - Applications Launcher Addon for XBMC - firewasborn - 2013-05-04

(2013-05-04, 13:32)Angelscry Wrote:
(2013-05-04, 11:51)firewasborn Wrote:
(2013-05-04, 02:07)Angelscry Wrote: My initial question will be : Do you have installed the pssuspend application part of the pstools package? http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/bb896649

I didn't have the application installed, so I downloaded PsTools and installed pssuspend.
Went to XBMC, and executed the game from the launcher with the same results, retroarch in focus with game running, framedrops and xbmc in the background. Am I missing something?
And during this time XBMC is suspended or still active into background?

How do I tell if it's suspended or not? All I can tell is that retroarch is active but with lag.


RE: [RELEASE] Advanced Launcher - Applications Launcher Addon for XBMC - Angelscry - 2013-05-04

(2013-05-04, 18:12)firewasborn Wrote:
(2013-05-04, 13:32)Angelscry Wrote:
(2013-05-04, 11:51)firewasborn Wrote: I didn't have the application installed, so I downloaded PsTools and installed pssuspend.
Went to XBMC, and executed the game from the launcher with the same results, retroarch in focus with game running, framedrops and xbmc in the background. Am I missing something?
And during this time XBMC is suspended or still active into background?

How do I tell if it's suspended or not? All I can tell is that retroarch is active but with lag.
Ok... so if Retroarch is lagging when XBMC process still exist, the other way is to completly close XBMC instead of suspending it. So use this .bat script instead :

Code:
pskill -t XBMC.exe
start "" /wait "C:\Program Files\RetroArch\retroarch.exe" -f -D -L libretro-git-snes9x-next-x86.dll %1
start /max "C:\Program Files (x86)\XBMC\XBMC.exe"



RE: [RELEASE] Advanced Launcher - Applications Launcher Addon for XBMC - firewasborn - 2013-05-04

Looks like I messed up a little, but I made it work! Seems like pssuspend was not installet properly but now everything works just fine, running
smooth and fine with suspended XBMC in the back, thanks to all of you!

Some minor things, the resolution or aspect ratio doesnt seem to have some effect when started with launcher, should I configure that in the .bat file? And how if so?


RE: [RELEASE] Advanced Launcher - Applications Launcher Addon for XBMC - Angelscry - 2013-05-04

(2013-05-04, 19:48)firewasborn Wrote: Looks like I messed up a little, but I made it work! Seems like pssuspend was not installet properly but now everything works just fine, running
smooth and fine with suspended XBMC in the back, thanks to all of you!

Some minor things, the resolution or aspect ratio doesnt seem to have some effect when started with launcher, should I configure that in the .bat file? And how if so?
Seems that from Advanced Launcher, RetroArch is not using its defualt configuration file. To solve this add a cd command just before starting retroarch to indicate the RetroArch directory as working directory. Something like this :

Code:
pssuspend XBMC.exe
cd "C:\Program Files\RetroArch"
"C:\Program Files\RetroArch\retroarch.exe" -f -D -L libretro-git-snes9x-next-x86.dll %1
pssuspend -r XBMC.exe



RE: [RELEASE] Advanced Launcher - Applications Launcher Addon for XBMC - firewasborn - 2013-05-05

(2013-05-04, 19:59)Angelscry Wrote:
(2013-05-04, 19:48)firewasborn Wrote: Looks like I messed up a little, but I made it work! Seems like pssuspend was not installet properly but now everything works just fine, running
smooth and fine with suspended XBMC in the back, thanks to all of you!

Some minor things, the resolution or aspect ratio doesnt seem to have some effect when started with launcher, should I configure that in the .bat file? And how if so?
Seems that from Advanced Launcher, RetroArch is not using its defualt configuration file. To solve this add a cd command just before starting retroarch to indicate the RetroArch directory as working directory. Something like this :

Code:
pssuspend XBMC.exe
cd "C:\Program Files\RetroArch"
"C:\Program Files\RetroArch\retroarch.exe" -f -D -L libretro-git-snes9x-next-x86.dll %1
pssuspend -r XBMC.exe

Adding cd to the .bat file fixed the problem, thank you! I now went into another issue though, when starting retroarch with launcher, there is no sound. I tried the exact same config with another pc and xbmc and it worked just fine, and sound is also working when opening a rom with only retroarch. Any idea on this?


RE: [RELEASE] Advanced Launcher - Applications Launcher Addon for XBMC - Angelscry - 2013-05-05

(2013-05-05, 10:27)firewasborn Wrote:
(2013-05-04, 19:59)Angelscry Wrote:
(2013-05-04, 19:48)firewasborn Wrote: Looks like I messed up a little, but I made it work! Seems like pssuspend was not installet properly but now everything works just fine, running
smooth and fine with suspended XBMC in the back, thanks to all of you!

Some minor things, the resolution or aspect ratio doesnt seem to have some effect when started with launcher, should I configure that in the .bat file? And how if so?
Seems that from Advanced Launcher, RetroArch is not using its defualt configuration file. To solve this add a cd command just before starting retroarch to indicate the RetroArch directory as working directory. Something like this :

Code:
pssuspend XBMC.exe
cd "C:\Program Files\RetroArch"
"C:\Program Files\RetroArch\retroarch.exe" -f -D -L libretro-git-snes9x-next-x86.dll %1
pssuspend -r XBMC.exe

Adding cd to the .bat file fixed the problem, thank you! I now went into another issue though, when starting retroarch with launcher, there is no sound. I tried the exact same config with another pc and xbmc and it worked just fine, and sound is also working when opening a rom with only retroarch. Any idea on this?
What is the config difference between both PC?