Kodi Community Forum
[CLOSED] Advanced Launcher - Applications Launcher Addon for XBMC - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Add-on Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=27)
+---- Forum: Game Add-ons (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=291)
+---- Thread: [CLOSED] Advanced Launcher - Applications Launcher Addon for XBMC (/showthread.php?tid=85724)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453


- Robert de Clair - 2010-12-26

Polish translation R165
http://www.mediafire.com/?755b7cv6z8du782


Tip for launching games with their own launchers or steam games - fr500 - 2010-12-27

Some games have their own launchers that spawn another process and cause problems on XBMC idle detection.

Also people who use steam (like) could have problems when launching steam games (XBMC seems to hang at idle if after you launch the second steam:// url)

So what I do is the following:

1. Create a shortcut for your game(in steam right click and select create desktop shortcut)

2. Create a batch script to launch my games and keep it running till finished, for example:

Code:
@echo off
"C:\Users\XBMC\Documents\My Dropbox\Shortcuts\Super Meat Boy.url"
pause
taskkill /F /IM steam.exe

Save it as launcher.bat wherever you need it to be I use a common folder for all my shortcuts.

I'll explain what the commands do:

Code:
@echo off
suppresses batch file output

Code:
pause
waits for a key before closing

Code:
taskkill /F /IM steam.exe
foces steam to close, it's optional I use it because I use the same steam account on my desktop PC and 2 HTPCs so I don't have to keep logging in and out.

This should works for apps that have launchers that do not run the game on the same process too like DMC4 for example. In DMC4 when you select "Launch Game" on the launcher it would spawn another process and XBMC would return to focus. By using this XBMC won't return till you press a key.

The only downside is...well having to press a key and the ugly DOS window. I'm looking for a way to track a process without a batch file, maybe eventghost or autohotkey. Till then this will do


- fr500 - 2010-12-27

HeWhoWas Wrote:I'm using Alaska Revisited Mod - I actually thought this was the only skin that supported it :-P

Nope I added a view for Shade

Code:
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?p=670862#post670862

Working on views for wide and tall icons and a grid view ATM Big Grin


- Cedul - 2010-12-27

Hi

First I just wanted to say thanks for everything that’s been done on this brilliant launcher. I’ve been searching for a setup like this for a very long time and this is absolutely fantastic!

I’m running the advanced launcher on a Macbook (OSX 10.6.5) using the Alaska Revisited theme, and have the Mac version of ZSNES running perfectly through it…however, I’ve hit a problem running a number of other emulators and can’t seem to find a solution, so wondered if someone may be able to help.

Whenever trying to use BSNES, Nestopia, Genesis Plus and VIBE, I can set them up fine in terms recognising the ROM files, scraping and displaying images for the ROMs etc. The problem is when I try to launch a rom using any of these emulators, nothing seems to happen!

If I come out of XBMC, I can see that the emulators are opening in the background, but only as far as the initial file selection part of each emulator. None of them actually select and load the ROM I select in XBMC. As mentioned ZSNES is working perfectly without any issues – it’s just the four above that seem to fail.

I’ve been searching high and low for a solution and am sure there will be a very simple answer, but I'm now at the point of admitting defeat! If anyone can help with this I would be extremely grateful.

Thanks!


- htpc guy - 2010-12-27

Cedul Wrote:Hi

First I just wanted to say thanks for everything that’s been done on this brilliant launcher. I’ve been searching for a setup like this for a very long time and this is absolutely fantastic!

I’m running the advanced launcher on a Macbook (OSX 10.6.5) using the Alaska Revisited theme, and have the Mac version of ZSNES running perfectly through it…however, I’ve hit a problem running a number of other emulators and can’t seem to find a solution, so wondered if someone may be able to help.

Whenever trying to use BSNES, Nestopia, Genesis Plus and VIBE, I can set them up fine in terms recognising the ROM files, scraping and displaying images for the ROMs etc. The problem is when I try to launch a rom using any of these emulators, nothing seems to happen!

If I come out of XBMC, I can see that the emulators are opening in the background, but only as far as the initial file selection part of each emulator. None of them actually select and load the ROM I select in XBMC. As mentioned ZSNES is working perfectly without any issues – it’s just the four above that seem to fail.

I’ve been searching high and low for a solution and am sure there will be a very simple answer, but I'm now at the point of admitting defeat! If anyone can help with this I would be extremely grateful.

Thanks!

What OS are you using?

Figure out how to get it to launch through the command line/terminal. Once you figure this out then you can use this as your arguments to launch the emulator.


- KiSUAN - 2010-12-27

Angelscry Wrote:Normally it is how it works... Huh When you create a launcher it ask you where the roms thumbs and fanarts images will be located. You can manually put the corresponding images into those directories or directly scrape them. Then when you delete a rom, the corresponding thumb and fanart images are not deleted. So next time you add the roms by scanning it will normally found the images. Do you have activated the thunbs and fanart automatic scrap option?

So first I`ll leave a debug log just in case http://codepaste.net/bunkvr. In the same I took a game that was already added (Bioshock 2) and I deleted, then added again, point to folder for Thumbail and Fanart, Auto scrap was on, result=nothing happens (scrapping wise). Name was the same and all.

Besides this "error", I think I wasn't clear, I don't want to be asked every time I create a launcher were to scrape the images, it's a pain in the ass, I want to go to the addon options (same place were automatic scrap is) and have an option: Set Thumbs Folder Path/ Set Fanart Folder Path, and it scrapes the images from there without asking which folder is every time I create a launcher. If I don't have set the folder, yes ask me all you want of course, dunno is possible. Also when I set a thumbail or fanart manually it doesn't refresh, don't know if it`s an error, it doesn't bother me as I just press refresh key, but just in case. All this is adding PC games, not ROMS as you can see.

Anyway, this aren't really important issues as at the end all works, just that they are a little annoying.

Also, I added more Views support for the Addon in my Mod Big Grin

Image


- htpc guy - 2010-12-27

That sounds like a good idea but it assumes that everyone organizes their games like that. I keep my games in subfoders corresponding to the emulator. Then I have all of the game art in with the roms. That means each emulator has its own folder. How would any settings menu be able to account for all of the possibilities?


- nekoarashi - 2010-12-27

Anyway, this aren't really important issues as at the end all works, just that they are a little annoying.

Also, I added more Views support for the Addon in my Mod Big Grin

Image[/quote]



wow, those images are amazing. How can I get those view modes and for which skin?


- KiSUAN - 2010-12-27

htpc guy Wrote:That sounds like a good idea but it assumes that everyone organizes their games like that. I keep my games in subfoders corresponding to the emulator. Then I have all of the game art in with the roms. That means each emulator has its own folder. How would any settings menu be able to account for all of the possibilities?

Thats why i say "If I don't have set the folder, yes ask me all you want of course, dunno is possible". Very bad English I know, it translates, if I don't set a path in the Addon Options Menu then it asks me every time I add a launcher. Hope it's more clear now, that way I'm happy and everyone that uses one folder and you are happy, I never ask to "delete" the option, just to add an option or how it works.

nekoarashi Wrote:wow, those images are amazing. How can I get those view modes and for which skin?

They are available in my MOD, the link in my signature (night mod putiry) takes you to the thread, just click on it.


- htpc guy - 2010-12-27

I can't believe how well this launcher is coming along. It really makes game library possible. Keeping with the idea of making a games library, would it be possible to add in media flags. It could incorporate logos for Developer, Genre, Number of Players, ESRB Rating, etc... All of that info is readily available on Gamefaqs (save for the number of players). The number of players could be a dialog that pops up during the scraping process, asking for the number of players for a specific game.

I know there is a site dedicated to Clearart. Maybe they would be gracious enough, if asked, to host the flags so it would be easy for skin developers to grab them.

Just an idea. It would be a ton of work but I would gladly help with creating the images.


- nekoarashi - 2010-12-27

htpcguy.. you and me have a similar dream xD. Anyway, angelscry, my scrapper continues to addon.py script failed and then my emulatosr and the roms in it vanish from the list entirely .. any ideas?

http://www.filefront.com/17707375/xbmc.log


- Angelscry - 2010-12-27

Robert de Clair Wrote:Polish translation R165
http://www.mediafire.com/?755b7cv6z8du782
Thank you for the translation !!!! Laugh


- Angelscry - 2010-12-27

fr500 Wrote:The only downside is...well having to press a key and the ugly DOS window. I'm looking for a way to track a process without a batch file, maybe eventghost or autohotkey. Till then this will do
I know that you can do it using AutoIt scripts and its internal functions :


- Angelscry - 2010-12-27

Cedul Wrote:I’ve been searching high and low for a solution and am sure there will be a very simple answer, but I'm now at the point of admitting defeat! If anyone can help with this I would be extremely grateful.Thanks!
I'm actually working on Wiki pages with launchers parameters and emulators configuration to allow them to work together. I'm also working on the improvement of the command lines integration into Advanced Launcher (see my previous reflexion thread). When all both will be ok, I will give you the URL page, so user will be able to configure their emulators and add-on correctly, but also users will be able to add their proper solution/tips/tricks.


- Angelscry - 2010-12-27

KiSUAN Wrote:So first I`ll leave a debug log just in case http://codepaste.net/bunkvr.
Thank you. I have looked at it but not able to found errors related to the Advanced Launcher

KiSUAN Wrote:In the same I took a game that was already added (Bioshock 2) and I deleted, then added again, point to folder for Thumbail and Fanart, Auto scrap was on, result=nothing happens (scrapping wise). Name was the same and all.
That's not really a bug. The Advanced Launcher use, applications filename and and applications name to make difference between each launcher. If you add a launcher with the exact filename and name than another launcher Advanced Launcher will consider it as a duplicate and then will not add it.

KiSUAN Wrote:Besides this "error", I think I wasn't clear, I don't want to be asked every time I create a launcher were to scrape the images, it's a pain in the ass, I want to go to the addon options (same place were automatic scrap is) and have an option: Set Thumbs Folder Path/ Set Fanart Folder Path, and it scrapes the images from there without asking which folder is every time I create a launcher. If I don't have set the folder, yes ask me all you want of course, dunno is possible. Also when I set a thumbail or fanart manually it doesn't refresh, don't know if it`s an error, it doesn't bother me as I just press refresh key, but just in case. All this is adding PC games, not ROMS as you can see.
Ok I will try to add this feature. It will be in the Advanced Launcher settings. The user will have the possibility to select path for all thumbs and fanarts launchers. Files will be named like this applicationname.jpg or applicationname_thumb.jpg or applicationname_fanart.jpg depending the cases. I just how to think what will be those default folders for the first Advanced Launcher start. I will try to add this for the next release.