Kodi Community Forum
[old] Unofficial semi-nightly build FAQ/info/issues (here for archival purposes) - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: General Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=111)
+---- Forum: iOS & tvOS (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=137)
+---- Thread: [old] Unofficial semi-nightly build FAQ/info/issues (here for archival purposes) (/showthread.php?tid=97246)



- CrashX - 2011-06-16

https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc/commit/68d6946b3460ed120ac937e2b7daa93c06300e89 .. Big GrinBig Grin


- curlyjs - 2011-06-16

CrashX Wrote:https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc/commit/68d6946b3460ed120ac937e2b7daa93c06300e89 .. Big GrinBig Grin

Yeah... I saw that one also... did anyone tested the performance on ATV2 with this? Is this the code that was meant for the beagleboard?

JS


- keith - 2011-06-16

CrashX Wrote:https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc/commit/68d6946b3460ed120ac937e2b7daa93c06300e89 .. Big GrinBig Grin

Let's wait a few days before the next build in case there's some lingering merge problems.

Excited too though!

Correct JS, this was originally for the Beagleboard, but applies to everything.

Here's the notes:

This pull req pulls in work that topfs2 did in GSOC last year, updated for latest master.

The basic idea is to introduce a Process() routine in CGUIControl et. al. that does most of the heavy lifting, so that Render() is light. Then, we mark whether a control is dirty or not and accumulate up the total region to render so that we can Scissor() that off and only render the small region.

This gives significant savings in both CPU and GPU on all platforms - primarily as the GPU doesn't need to render such a large area.

so thanks topfs2! Can't wait to try it out.


- Memphiz - 2011-06-16

Tested it on ATV2 ... there are multiple issues ... its turned off by default though. So this needs some time to work properly ...


- keith - 2011-06-16

Memphiz Wrote:Tested it on ATV2 ... there are multiple issues ... its turned off by default though. So this needs some time to work properly ...

Thx for the report Memphiz!

I'm not sure if everyone understand how this process works so I thought I'd mention how I understand it:
(please anyone correct me if I'm wrong)

Code gets forked for new feature XYZ (usually a fairly sized feature, like audioengine, dirty region, pvr, etc)
Devs hack on code to put in new feature and test it. Sometimes they sync the master branch back to their fork to make sure it works good, other times no.
Once everyones happy with stability, they put a pull request in to be reviewed to be pulled into MASTER and it gets talked about throughout the team, depending on how deep the feature is.

Master, trunk, mainline, etc, all mean the same thing. This is the currently 'in the works' version, the place where everyone plays. Emphasis is put on stuff being feature complete, not break the build and generally be a 'good' addition for XBMC.
Once that process is vetted, someone approves it and merges it in.

Now, keep in mind the code could of been written for a codebase of weeks/months ago, and all the devs need to flesh out the 'little things' that the specific devs that worked on XYZ didn't have a chance to test/didn't notice.
Think of this as a 'burn-in' time for the code to 'settle' in.

This is where I do my builds from, an area, while can be quite stable, that's because we have an awesome dev team.
Very few projects run such a usable master branch.

But still, when stuff 1st gets merged in it will *never* be stable enough it use. We are literally using the future right now. Smile
And once the dust settles and months goes by, trac tickets go down and someone decides its good enough for an official release.

So in the last 8 months we've had 3 parts:
Part 1: OMG the code works! Davilla and CO's hard work paid off and builds are completely functional, code is public, we can play!
Part 2: Merged the code into MASTER. 1 build environment for everything, no more worrying about 2 separate code branches.
Part 3: Where we are now, which is getting ATV2 up to speed and adding in general Eden features. Now when something like 'dirty region' is added, it works for all platforms.

Hope this helps!


- ilovemymac - 2011-06-17

Do you still have a copy of the nightly from may? I am going to upgrade to the newest nightly but incase i have issues i can go back


- onhel - 2011-06-17

Try from here

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=6SBI2Z20


Can't play any video file - boppen - 2011-06-17

Hi!

I used XBMC (nightly build) on my ATV2 a month ago and it worked, but then I haven't been using it and now I have installed the latest nightly build (20110614) and no I can't play any of my videofiles. It just stays "Working ..." for a while and then I get back to the list of my videofiles.
I have my videos on a Netgear NAS and I'm accessing them over SMB.

LOG; http://pastebin.com/FX85Kzb4

ATV version 4.2.2 / 4.3 (8F305)

thanks for any hint what might be wrong ...


- jd2157 - 2011-06-17

boppen Wrote:I used XBMC (nightly build) on my ATV2 a month ago and it worked, but then I haven't been using it and now I have installed the latest nightly build (20110614) and no I can't play any of my videofiles. It just stays "Working ..." for a while and then I get back to the list of my videofiles.
I have my videos on a Netgear NAS and I'm accessing them over SMB.

LOG; http://pastebin.com/FX85Kzb4

ATV version 4.2.2 / 4.3 (8F305)
thanks for any hint what might be wrong ...

Some folks pointing to slow network based on similar errors you're seeing in your log. You using wired or wireless?

http://trac.xbmc.org/ticket/10671


- boppen - 2011-06-17

Hi, and thanks for the answer!

It's connected to a gigabit switch by cable - maybe it's the NAS? It's a Netgear ReadyNAS NV+ and it's not extremely fast. I will try to go for wireless (wouldn't it be strange if that worked better Wink and maybe try to put a video file on a computer and share.

I'll report back tomorrow!


- infinus - 2011-06-17

I just did a fresh JB/install of the nightly and any time I try to install an addon (any addon, I've tried multiples ones from the XBMC repo) it crashes back to the main apple menu.

I'm on the latest ATV version running the latest nightly build (Git:20110614-9ac7e4c downloaded from the link in the first post)

Log:
http://pastebin.com/CMEGmW8w


[ATV2] Addons broken in the nightly repositories? - MikeLeone - 2011-06-18

I've just recently started using the nightly builds, to get 5.1 and DTS support. And that's all working wonderfully. But almost all the other addons are listed as broken (even things like TVDB and TheMovieDB, etc). So my library info is incomplete. And many of the video add-ons, among other things.

Is there something I am supposed to be doing to enable these repositories? Or will I need to wait for the next stable release for these repositories to become enabled? Huh

Sorry if that's a stupid newb question.


- R0MSTER - 2011-06-18

Keith,
Something very odd happening in this build, although everything is working, i left the system on to go see Green Lantern, so it was in screen saver mode. When i came back, while the screen saver was running, i was getting several errors that all plugins and repositories are no longer functioning, i kept saying no to all of them and i was able to watch and play a movie again, never saw that in any previous build, and not sure if you need logs for this
Regards,


- dr99 - 2011-06-18

same thing happening here. all add-ons say they are broken on latest keith nightly.


- keith - 2011-06-18

Yup, looks like python isn't building/loading right? I'll do a fresh build and some testing.