A6-PACK ☆ ISK 300-90 picoPSU HTPC A6-3500 Very Silent!

  Thread Rating:
  • 10 Votes - 4.6 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Chuck King Offline
Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #16
Sweet dude! take a lot of pictures please.
find quote
Beer40oz Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,227
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: The Moon
Post: #17
Well as we know the a6-3500 with a itx mobo can spike to 70w.... so it must be that a 80w power supply can handle it. I am happy that I bought a 120W power brick because it's not to much and not to little. If anything I have a little more power in case it spikes higher or if I need it hommies.... Smile
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,489
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 198
Post: #18
i asked Waver to conduct Prim95 test and furmark.

we'll see how much Watts these will draw!
find quote
toutsuite Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #19
This looks like a great case, and a great build Beer. Just curious - will this support a Ceton InfiniTV PCIe card? It's a little hard to tell from the specs - they mention room for a video card, but not sure if this would also work for the Ceton.

Thanks!

-Alex
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,489
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 198
Post: #20
i dont see why not!
its not like it has a huge heatsink like the ASUS GT210 SILENT....
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,489
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 198
Post: #21
i talked with ASROCK AMERICA,
you know what, you can buy 'only' the CIR RECEIVER from there directly!
i have the email of the employee to contact!
its $10USD only free shipp!!
since your gonna use the ASROCK mobo,
u should give it a shot!!
Power ON from cold baby!!
find quote
jack0w Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 110
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 1
Location: UK
Post: #22
(2012-04-11 01:57)eskro Wrote:  i talked with ASROCK AMERICA,
you know what, you can buy 'only' the CIR RECEIVER from there directly!
i have the email of the employee to contact!
its $10USD only free shipp!!
since your gonna use the ASROCK mobo,
u should give it a shot!!
Power ON from cold baby!!

That's annoying, I just ordered one of those CIR receivers for Intel boards! Am planning to have a go at repinning the connector myself as I didn't want to fork out for a useless remote when I have a harmony.

Shame they don't advertise you can get the receiver on its own. Certainly would have been easier!

Will they ship it to people outside the states?
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,489
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 198
Post: #23
well, im in CANADA, they said its not problem.
for EUROPE, i dunno.

but dont be mad, the CIR receiver from INTESET
is the best way to go honestly!
yeah it requires a bit of work, but still,
u wont regret it!
find quote
jack0w Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 110
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 1
Location: UK
Post: #24
Just keeping my fingers crossed the instructions make sense when I get it in front of me Tongue

Then will have to decide where to mount it!
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,489
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 198
Post: #25
which instructions?
find quote
jack0w Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 110
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 1
Location: UK
Post: #26
Well I say instructions.. They are actually for repining the connector for different Asrock board. That said I'm hoping the pin configuration will be the same.

Will be doing some more research before I attempt it, as sure it will take a while to get to me!

I'll post the link to the instructions I found when I'm on my laptop tomorrow Smile
find quote
bluray Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,315
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 145
Post: #27
(2012-04-11 02:39)jack0w Wrote:  That's annoying, I just ordered one of those CIR receivers for Intel boards! Am planning to have a go at repinning the connector myself as I didn't want to fork out for a useless remote when I have a harmony.
If you're talking about this "Inteset CIR", you are getting a better CIR....and the instruction can be found here "Interset CIR receiver with ASRock motherboard?". If you have question on it, you can ask those guys in their forum for help too.

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
find quote
jack0w Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 110
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 1
Location: UK
Post: #28
That's the one! Thanks for finding the link.

Good to know the forums are active, in case I do run into problems Smile
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,489
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 198
Post: #29
(2012-04-11 03:06)jack0w Wrote:  I'll post the link to the instructions I found when I'm on my laptop tomorrow Smile

[Image: fPuxg.png]

Smile
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-11 03:25 by eskro.)
find quote
Beer40oz Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,227
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: The Moon
Post: #30
(2012-04-10 12:06)eskro Wrote:  
(2012-04-06 22:26)Beer40oz Wrote:  But after reading on power consumption from here,
I decided to get a 120W power brick just to be safe.

:"When we place load on the AMD A6 3500 APU,
we see the power draw rise to 85 Watts:"

something important to know here,
during the test performed at guru3d.com,
the motherboard used was a --> ASRock A75 PRO4 FM1 ATX..

Yepp, the test wasn't conducted on a mini-ITX mainboard
but instead, it was done on a FULL ATX mainboard!!

proof --> http://www.guru3d.com/article/amd-a6-3500-apu-review/7

no wonder why they get ~85W under load...

Here's another interesting thread to read --> A6-3500 Power Consumption

Yup that was a Full ATX mobo..... now I wan't that 90w power brick..... I already ordered that 120w..... man. I will try to spend the extra 8 bucks and get that 90w brick. Also that 90w brick the tip is at an angle witch I like.
find quote
Post Reply