Playstation 3 Bluetooth Remote: Wake up from standby?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Levi Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hi,

yesterday I connected my PS3-remote via the MSI USB Bluetooth Adapter to my ASUS EB1012 (Win7 x64). It works fine with the PS3 Remote application, but there's no way to wake up my HTPC from standby with it. The red dot still blinks (I guess it's power supply), but the blue LED doesn't flash up. I already gave all devices in the device manager the permission to wake up from standy, but it still doesn't work.

Can anybody help? Thanks!
find quote
joshuass Offline
Fan
Posts: 422
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
I've never ever gotten any of my blue tooth peripherals to start a machine from standby.

And to make matters worse, if I set my computer to standby, when I bring it back up, I have to reset my blue tooth connections.

So basically, I don't think its possible, because of how blue tooth connections are handled. Blue needs windows to facilitate the connection, and it can't if its in standby mode.

Thats why you have remotes that are infrared. Infrared receivers don't need a computer to understand a remote code to power up the machine.

Windows 7 x64 Home Premium
Gigabyte MA78GM-U2SH Mainboard
ATI HD3200 Onboard
AMD 7750BE Dual-Core 4.00GB RAM
ATI HD3200 HDMI Sound
HTPC HMDI -> ONKYO TX-SR605 -> Panasonic TH-46PZ85U Plasma
find quote
yellowman Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 146
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
No idea, but see if you have some setting called "wake on usb" or similar in your bios and make sure it´s enabled.

Htpc 1: Intel E8400@3GHz : Gigabyte GA-G33M-DS2 G33 : Nvidia 9400GT : Antec Fusion V2 : MCE Remote : Windows 7 64bit : Dharma : Confluence : 1920x1080
Htpc 2: Zotac Zbox HD-ID11 : MCE Remote : Windows 7 64bit : Dharma : Confluence : 1920x108
find quote
piipes Offline
Donor
Posts: 121
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: Helsinki
Post: #4
Does wake up work somebody?
I can wake my pc via logitech bt mouse and keyboard
[Image: logitech-dinovo.jpg]

But ps3 remote wont work. I have second bt dongle with ps3 remote.

Is there some registery tweak, how to enable device wake up option? I can't remember it.
find quote
piipes Offline
Donor
Posts: 121
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: Helsinki
Post: #5
Now ps3 remote can wake PC.

http://news.cnet.com/8301-17938_105-2003...z1DJyJXpMQ

Just flash usb-uirt to ir button what you want. Smile
find quote