Having difficulty with Git, trying to submi a pull request
This is my first time using Git. I signed up at Github, followed the Github instructions on generating keys, forked the Xbmc repository, cloned my new repository (AaronDnz) and made a few changes for a trac ticket.

After compiling and verifying that it is all working, I right clicked on the XBMC folder and chose the menu option "Git Commit -> Master". It showed the files I had changed correctly, I typed in a comment, and it appeared to upload everything and at the end said it had committed the changes successfully.

However, on Github I can't see my commits showing up in my repository. I want to submit a pull request for the changes, but when I try and essentially says that there are no changes compared with the xbmc repository.

What am I missing or doing wrong?
You pushed the changes after committing them locally?
Always read the online manual (wiki), FAQ (wiki) and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules (wiki).
Please read the pages on troubleshooting (wiki) and bug reporting (wiki) before reporting issues.
I thought committing them was the act of pushing them up to my repository? Is this not the case? I haven't done anything else.
No, the actual commit is local only. To get your changes into the repository you'll have to push them.
Always read the online manual (wiki), FAQ (wiki) and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules (wiki).
Please read the pages on troubleshooting (wiki) and bug reporting (wiki) before reporting issues.
strictly speaking, you are correct. but you forget the fact that your repository is just that, yours. it's not the one on github, it's the one on your machine.
Ok, got it sorted now. Thanks.
A few more questions, if anyone is willing to help.