How do I update

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
JustinAiken Offline
Fan
Posts: 669
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 0
Location: XBMC+Unraid=Happy!
Post: #1
So on my Ubuntu 10.04 machine, I installed XBMC from the console forever ago... it was a nightly SVN repository.

When 10.0 came out, it stopped updating through the Update Manager.

I no longer need the SVN's, but I would like to update to the official 10.1, and all the official updates...

Kodi: Kodi 14.2, with Transparency!
20 TB Unraid Server: 2800 movies, 8800 episodes of TV Apps: SABnzbd, Sickbeard, Couchpotato, mySQL
HTPC: Win8.1 (cause Steam), i7 920, GTX 720
Watching on: Panasonic TC65-PS64 with lowend Sony 5.1 HTIB
Other devices: rMBP 15", MBA 13", openelec/embedded
find quote
h.udo Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 755
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 12
Location: 37.045898, -8.060004
Post: #2
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install python-software-properties
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:team-xbmc/ppa
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install --reinstall xbmc xbmc-live

That should do the trick.

Backup your xbmc folder first. Just for good measure.

h.udo

Always read the online manual (wiki), FAQ (wiki) and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail Team Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules (wiki).
Please read the pages on troubleshooting (wiki) and bug reporting (wiki) before reporting issues.
(This post was last modified: 2011-05-01 03:14 by h.udo.)
find quote
JustinAiken Offline
Fan
Posts: 669
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 0
Location: XBMC+Unraid=Happy!
Post: #3
Thanks hudo,

One question before I do that, why is xbmc-live one of the arguments?

Kodi: Kodi 14.2, with Transparency!
20 TB Unraid Server: 2800 movies, 8800 episodes of TV Apps: SABnzbd, Sickbeard, Couchpotato, mySQL
HTPC: Win8.1 (cause Steam), i7 920, GTX 720
Watching on: Panasonic TC65-PS64 with lowend Sony 5.1 HTIB
Other devices: rMBP 15", MBA 13", openelec/embedded
find quote
h.udo Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 755
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 12
Location: 37.045898, -8.060004
Post: #4
Because it is one of the needed packages if you have a XBMC Live based system. In other words, it is needed to autostart xbmc upon system startup.

Technically you achieve the same with only sudo apt-get install --reinstall xbmc-live because xbmc is a dependency of xbmc-live.

Unless you are start xbmc by some other method (script or something) it should be installed. You can check the package status by issuing sudo apt-cache policy xbmc-live.

Anyway, before installing anything, the system prompts for authorization. Have a look at what it says about installed/updated/remove/etc packages.

h.udo

Always read the online manual (wiki), FAQ (wiki) and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail Team Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules (wiki).
Please read the pages on troubleshooting (wiki) and bug reporting (wiki) before reporting issues.
find quote
JustinAiken Offline
Fan
Posts: 669
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 0
Location: XBMC+Unraid=Happy!
Post: #5
Ah, so far I've been starting XBMC by wheeling the horrible trackball wheel on my keyboard/remote combo, and clicking on the cheap button twice Tongue

I'll try the auto-start instead Smile

Thanks!

Kodi: Kodi 14.2, with Transparency!
20 TB Unraid Server: 2800 movies, 8800 episodes of TV Apps: SABnzbd, Sickbeard, Couchpotato, mySQL
HTPC: Win8.1 (cause Steam), i7 920, GTX 720
Watching on: Panasonic TC65-PS64 with lowend Sony 5.1 HTIB
Other devices: rMBP 15", MBA 13", openelec/embedded
find quote
h.udo Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 755
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 12
Location: 37.045898, -8.060004
Post: #6
If you're using Ubuntu desktop, don't use xbmc-live to autostart XBMC.
If you're not using Ubuntu desktop, add xinit and x11-xserver-utils to the package install list. They are unlisted xbmc-live dependencies.

h.udo

Always read the online manual (wiki), FAQ (wiki) and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail Team Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules (wiki).
Please read the pages on troubleshooting (wiki) and bug reporting (wiki) before reporting issues.
find quote
JustinAiken Offline
Fan
Posts: 669
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 0
Location: XBMC+Unraid=Happy!
Post: #7
Okay, thanks! Update went swimmingly... Finally no .0 bugs for me!

Also, when copying my xbmc folder, discovered that it had swoll to over 10GB because it was saving the package for every addon update... deleted it all, and now my little SSD has more room = better performance Smile

Kodi: Kodi 14.2, with Transparency!
20 TB Unraid Server: 2800 movies, 8800 episodes of TV Apps: SABnzbd, Sickbeard, Couchpotato, mySQL
HTPC: Win8.1 (cause Steam), i7 920, GTX 720
Watching on: Panasonic TC65-PS64 with lowend Sony 5.1 HTIB
Other devices: rMBP 15", MBA 13", openelec/embedded
find quote
h.udo Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 755
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 12
Location: 37.045898, -8.060004
Post: #8
Good to know all worked well!
Yeah, addons folder can get quite big...

h.udo

Always read the online manual (wiki), FAQ (wiki) and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail Team Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules (wiki).
Please read the pages on troubleshooting (wiki) and bug reporting (wiki) before reporting issues.
find quote
FreeMan xbmc Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
Thanks for the little tutorial, hudo! I've got this thread bookmarked since I can never remember the commands...

FreeMan
find quote
h.udo Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 755
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 12
Location: 37.045898, -8.060004
Post: #10
You are welcome.
A bit confusing mixing Desktop and Live like systems but it works.

BTW, @clock2113 are you on Desktop or Live like system?

h.udo

Always read the online manual (wiki), FAQ (wiki) and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail Team Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules (wiki).
Please read the pages on troubleshooting (wiki) and bug reporting (wiki) before reporting issues.
find quote
JustinAiken Offline
Fan
Posts: 669
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 0
Location: XBMC+Unraid=Happy!
Post: #11
Well, I've got the desktop, but 97 percent of the time I only use XBMC...

At some point there's going to be a good full-screen browser like Kylo for Linux, which will be able to start from the XBMC main menu, and then I'll ditch the desktop for a minimal-install...

Kodi: Kodi 14.2, with Transparency!
20 TB Unraid Server: 2800 movies, 8800 episodes of TV Apps: SABnzbd, Sickbeard, Couchpotato, mySQL
HTPC: Win8.1 (cause Steam), i7 920, GTX 720
Watching on: Panasonic TC65-PS64 with lowend Sony 5.1 HTIB
Other devices: rMBP 15", MBA 13", openelec/embedded
find quote
h.udo Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 755
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 12
Location: 37.045898, -8.060004
Post: #12
There where some how-tos around to make XBMC launch a browser. Firefox and Chrome, I believe.

They aren't TV specific browsers but you could give that a try if you want to.

h.udo

Always read the online manual (wiki), FAQ (wiki) and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail Team Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules (wiki).
Please read the pages on troubleshooting (wiki) and bug reporting (wiki) before reporting issues.
find quote