XBMC for Ps3?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
CRzz Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hi,
I found this software a long time ago... in the hope of DNLA for PS3....
At the moment I am using PMS but I getting sick and tiered of it when some videos does not play because of some codec issue!
I remembered XBMC and its terrific design... is it possible to use it with PS3?
If so how?

I been able to find UPNP thing in XMB but not able to find anything that I share...

I am hoping that its possible to use the nice interface thrue the PS3! Smile
- Yes?! Big Grin
find quote
seand Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 252
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
PS3 is a locked format, at least the way Sony wants you to use it. And they can now track you for merely looking at geo hotz's web page for how to hack it, thanks to our courts. On older versions (pre-slim) people were straight up booting them into Linux, so in that format I'm sure you could run XBMC.

XBMC will publish its library to UPnP so you can have XBMC on another box publish content to PS3's lousy UPnP interface, rather than have XBMC's superior native interface. But thats probably not what you were hoping for.
find quote
paul Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 2,769
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 5
Location: Planet Earth
Post: #3
CRzz Wrote:Hi,
I found this software a long time ago... in the hope of DNLA for PS3....
At the moment I am using PMS but I getting sick and tiered of it when some videos does not play because of some codec issue!
I remembered XBMC and its terrific design... is it possible to use it with PS3?
If so how?

I been able to find UPNP thing in XMB but not able to find anything that I share...

I am hoping that its possible to use the nice interface thrue the PS3! Smile
- Yes?! Big Grin
If you do a search on this forum you will find this has been asked for many many
times, the devs have zero interest in porting xbmc to PS3.
Get ya self a cheap pc and run xbmc on that with either Windows 7 or Linux

XBMC Frodo 12 - Windows 7 - Asrock Ion 330HT - Aeon Nox
find quote
Hudson_Hawk04 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,178
Joined: Oct 2006
Reputation: 3
Post: #4
xbmc on ps3 will not happen

I feel sorry for people who don't drink. When they wake up in the morning, that's as good as they're going to feel all day.
Frank Sinatra
If I managed to help you in any way, please add to my reputation
.
find quote
kapaw Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Hudson_Hawk04 Wrote:xbmc on ps3 will not happen

XBMC running on PS3 using Linux:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wCSdV6DhYnw

The problem right now is that XBMC is running very slow because the graphical processor of the PS3 is not used. But according to Gitbrew's twitter they're working on a driver for the processor right now: https://twitter.com/#!/gitbrew

So it might be possible to use XBMC on PS3 very soon!
find quote
mad-max Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,479
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 59
Location: Germany
Post: #6
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?p=7...post772507

[Image: obi3o55x.jpg]
[Image: 7c8w3bu8.png]

- - - Tribute to Metallica - - -

If I managed to help you, please click my reputation
find quote
kapaw Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
mad-max Wrote:http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?p=7...post772507

What are you trying to say?
find quote
Choque Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 233
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 1
Location: Bavaria, Germany
Post: #8
kapaw Wrote:So it might be possible to use XBMC on PS3 very soon!
on an old PS3 with OtherOS support and the YLOD problem that is...

[Image: all-thin-banner.jpg]
find quote
isamu.dragon Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 976
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 7
Location: T.A.R.D.I.S.
Post: #9
Probably not gonna happen. And most threads get closed and deleted fast.
(This is the 30th one that i have personally seen)

[Image: all-thin-banner@2x.jpg]
XBMC Server/Client:
Database Type: MySQL
OS: WIN7 64-Bit/XBMCbuntu CPU: i7/Intel Atom (Dual Core)
GPU: Nvidia GeForce GTX 760/Nvidia GeForce GT 520M RAM: 16GB/2GB (512MB GPU)
XBMC Version: Gotham/XBMCbuntu Gotham
find quote
kapaw Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
Choque Wrote:on an old PS3 with OtherOS support and the YLOD problem that is...

Old PS3? XBMC is running on a slim PS3 with firmware 3.55?

But okay, I don't care.. Just wanted to bring you an update on this.
Personally I look forward to Gitbrew's GPU-driver so I can run XBMC at normal speed at my PS3, and get rid of my separate mediacenter-PC running XBMC. But I'm going to stop posting here if you don't like it Smile
find quote