New and several general questions
I am new to htpc and xbmc. I heard about this stuff just 2 days ago. So I have sone general questions.

Questions:
1. Can a htpc running xbmc stream blu ray copied DVDs to a hdmi matrix switch? This would allow me to watch the movies in any room?
2. Can the htpc with xbmc simultaneously stream music to another zone while I watch a movie in a different zone? This would mean I do not need nuvo or squeezeboxes for music
3. Can I use iPad to control the htpc and see cover art, etc ( same display as on tv)?
4. What can kalidescape or mozaex do that a xmbc box cannot?
5. Which extenders are best suited to stream to multiple locations if a single xmbc box cannot do it?
6. If everything will be stored on a unraid server, can I get away with cheap low spec xmbc boxes as players? What type of build would I need to have?
7. What are the advantges of xmbc to windows media center
Confusedxx Wrote:I am new to htpc and xbmc. I heard about this stuff just 2 days ago. So I have sone general questions.

Questions:
1. Can a htpc running xbmc stream blu ray copied DVDs to a hdmi matrix switch? This would allow me to watch the movies in any room?

YES....from your HTPC plug in HDMI into the Matrix...if you want multi-channel audio from HDMI make sure your OS and hardware support it.

2. Can the htpc with xbmc simultaneously stream music to another zone while I watch a movie in a different zone? This would mean I do not need nuvo or squeezeboxes for music

YES...if your storage PC can handle it. I can watch multiple movies at the same time from movies stored on a P4 over a 10/100 network.

3. Can I use iPad to control the htpc and see cover art, etc ( same display as on tv)?

YES

4. What can kalidescape or mozaex do that a XBMC box cannot?

Be original and get delivered to you for FREE!!! You don't need to own a yacht (Thanks dev team...)

5. Which extenders are best suited to stream to multiple locations if a single XBMC box cannot do it?