Netbook/Mini Comp for XBMC
Hello Everyone,

I'm a bit of a newbie and very interested in running XBMC on a proper machine that can play videos without skipping.

I've been running XBMC on an old Dell laptop and it's not going well, it's loud and because I stream videos over my wireless network from another laptop on the network it never worked well for me (major lags and buffering issues).

I've talked to a buddy and he recommends getting a small netbook with a good graphic processor/card, lots of RAM, a decent HD and HDMI out. I'd like to be able to play HD content including 1080p.

This brings me to the forum. I'm seeking advice from the experts out there to guide me what to get. I've been looking for Acer and Asus netbooks and/or mini comps and I'm not sure what I should be looking for. I assume that a top not graphic card would be the top request but I'm sure what is best?

I'd like to spend around $350 but realize that everything might not come out of box to be the perfect HTPC.

I hope my newbie ranks don't keep people away from the post!

Thanks in advance,
Dza
1080p HDMI Netbook? Why that is why ION is for:

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/...=A50-10159

I have on older gen model of that and mine plays 1080p like a champ.

If you want a more powerful system that can also work, look here:

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/...CatId=4938

Cool, thanks for the input. How much RAM do you have in this acer machine? It says that it’s only expandable to 2GB, could bring that up to 4GB?

Also, where do you host your media? Is it on this comp or do you have a NAS or fileserver somewhere else that feeds it? I don’t have either of these so I’m thinking of saving my movies to this HTPC but I don’t want to slow this machine down too much. Wondering if anyone has any thoughts on that? I’d be interested to hear what other do.

Thanks!

Dza
I picked up one of these: http://www.cheetahdeals.com/Acer-Revo-AR...02.011.htm