Looking to sponsor the development of a screensaver addon - Launch DreamAquarium.exe

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
NotNobody Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
I spent $25 on this gorgeous screensaver, hoping I would be able to use it with my HTPC. I would be willing to pay someone $20 to make a simple screensaver addon that launches C:\Program Files\Dream Aquarium\DreamAquarium.exe

I'm hoping this will be fairly easy for someone to do. Here is the screensaver running on my dual mon desktop. Would look unreal on an HDTV.

[Image: DA.jpg]
(This post was last modified: 2011-06-27 18:11 by NotNobody.)
find quote
henrava Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 145
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 1
Location: Italy
Post: #2
Try this, for free! Big Grin

Add a item to home.xml in this way:

<item id="13">
<label>Fish</label>
<onclick>XBMC.System.Exec(d:\\fish\ss3dfish.scr)</onclick>
<icon>d:\\fish\ss3dfish.png</icon>
</item>

item -> check the number, it must be unique
label -> is the title you see in home
onclick -> try always to put your app in a dir < 8 characters
find quote
NotNobody Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Hey henrava,

Thanks for the info. I'll try this out tomorrow. Will be the next best thing to having it as a screensaver.
find quote
coastal Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 111
Joined: Sep 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
Cheers Henrava,
That's sorted me out. Looks cracking on a big telly.
find quote
Zokkel Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 1
Location: Bruges, Belgium
Post: #5
Are you saying that works while there's music playing?
Can you see or enable music info with an external screensaver?
Cause I was looking for an aquarium or fireplace music-visualisation, but if that works with the music info on top of it, that would be marvelous. Then it's a 'gotta have'!

Can you do that with any other external screensaver? Also on Mac?

ASR Beebox, Celeron N3150, Intel HD Graphics, AudioEngine D1, Windows 10 64bit, Kodi 16, Aeon Nox
find quote
Zokkel Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 1
Location: Bruges, Belgium
Post: #6
Damn, did some research and I think I might have the answer myself: NO

If I understand correctly it starts the program (screensaver in this example) and stops any other application that is running within xbmc...
pitty pitty pitty, for a moment there I thaught I had the solution to my problem.

So then, is there a way to run two applications at a time? Big Grin (play music and run the screensaver?)
That would solve it again Tongue

ASR Beebox, Celeron N3150, Intel HD Graphics, AudioEngine D1, Windows 10 64bit, Kodi 16, Aeon Nox
find quote
Xdan Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
Thanks for the info, will also try this out!
find quote
djonesax Offline
Member
Posts: 85
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
(2012-05-31 14:27)Zokkel Wrote:  Damn, did some research and I think I might have the answer myself: NO

If I understand correctly it starts the program (screensaver in this example) and stops any other application that is running within xbmc...
pitty pitty pitty, for a moment there I thaught I had the solution to my problem.

So then, is there a way to run two applications at a time? Big Grin (play music and run the screensaver?)
That would solve it again Tongue

Did you ever figure this out? I am trying to do the same thing.

David
find quote
Tripp Offline
Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
That's cool. Is there a way that could work on a Mac? They have a Mac version.
find quote