Entry-Level unRAID Server Build

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,489
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 198
Post: #181
FTW evanl81!!!

@Frozone: sorry, i just thought that answering 'u better be' was rude Tongue
find quote
aptalca Offline
The Dude
Posts: 938
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 25
Post: #182
(2012-04-10 00:23)evanl81 Wrote:  It's been asked a few times, but I'm still not quite sure what the solution is...

The case has four fans with 3-pin connectors. The motherboard I purchased only has one 3-pin fan connector. The adapter linked in the OP converts one Molex input to three. How do I hook up the fans then? Do I need one or these for each fan?

http://www.amazon.com/Ultimate-3Pinto4Pi...909&sr=1-1

Thanks.

Edit: Or is the item in the OP supposed to be something like this?

http://www.microcenter.com/single_produc...id=0319763

Edit2: Nevermind. Should have opened the fans and found the Molex adapters first.

Can you elaborate where you found the molex adapters?? I have the same case but I haven't found any adapters :-)

Thanks
find quote
evanl81 Offline
Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #183
I actually bought the regular 300 and purchased two case fans separately, which came with adapters. For the other built-in fan I used one of these:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001B9Y...details[hr]
I have a quick question: I've been messing around with this for a few days, getting all my plugins installed and whatnot. I'm having a lot of issues with the entire system becoming inaccessible. As an example, just now I was running a Crashplan backup, a few Sab downloads and streaming a movie via SMB. Suddenly, my movie freezes. I try to access the tower through a browser, and nothing loads. And I can no longer telnet in to reboot.

Is it possible that I need a more powerful dual or triple core processor? I also have not set up parity yet, fwiw.
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-15 17:42 by evanl81.)
find quote
Beer40oz Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,227
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: The Moon
Post: #184
On this for the last 2 HD's

the last 2 HDD's will require a 2 Port PCI Sata Card ($15)

That card is no longer available.....

And since its a PCI regular Sata card is it going to be fast ans the PCI Express?

Also anything new that can have 4 Sata Plugs for the PCI Express?
Only options would be the Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8 8-Port ? Well it will be good in a way but need a bigger case.....
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-13 22:09 by Beer40oz.)
find quote
Beer40oz Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,227
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: The Moon
Post: #185
Hey Eskro or to who knows.......... so to fill up my unraid build to 18TB and 2TB of Parirty

I need to get a PCI Controller for more Sata ports.....

So all I need to do is get a HD cage that will fit 4 HD's

My mobo has a PCI Express..... and 2 PCI ports.....

so for the PCI Express get the PCI-Express RAID Controller

And for the PCI get the same one?

Now question is the PCI one would I have any trouble on speed?

Been looking at this.....

http://www.greenleaf-technology.com/blog.../index.php

Just wanna finish it....

I guess I can ask on the other boards.....

I asked.....

http://lime-technology.com/forum/index.p...ic=20091.0
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-14 03:25 by Beer40oz.)
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,489
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 198
Post: #186
only use 1 old school PCI card.
even if you have lets say 3 old school PCI slots...
if u use more then 1 slot, you'll be sorry....
it'll affect speeds....
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-14 04:40 by eskro.)
find quote
Beer40oz Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,227
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: The Moon
Post: #187
Ok so on Lime tech someone posted that I can just buy two of this:
http://www.monoprice.com/products/produc...1&format=2

And one can be used in the x1 and the other in the x16.....

Cool...

I knew it could be done! Just making sure.

[Image: IMGP8392.JPG]
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-14 07:27 by Beer40oz.)
find quote
azula Offline
Member
Posts: 87
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #188
(2012-04-11 02:56)aptalca Wrote:  
(2012-04-10 00:23)evanl81 Wrote:  It's been asked a few times, but I'm still not quite sure what the solution is...

The case has four fans with 3-pin connectors. The motherboard I purchased only has one 3-pin fan connector. The adapter linked in the OP converts one Molex input to three. How do I hook up the fans then? Do I need one or these for each fan?

http://www.amazon.com/Ultimate-3Pinto4Pi...909&sr=1-1

Thanks.

Edit: Or is the item in the OP supposed to be something like this?

http://www.microcenter.com/single_produc...id=0319763

Edit2: Nevermind. Should have opened the fans and found the Molex adapters first.

Can you elaborate where you found the molex adapters?? I have the same case but I haven't found any adapters :-)

Thanks

was the fan issue ever resolved? do I need any additional wires other than the one stated in the OP?
find quote
aptalca Offline
The Dude
Posts: 938
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 25
Post: #189
Yes you do, because the case does not come with the adapters. I just ordered a couple of these: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0002344F2

They should arrive tomorrow and I will let you know how they work out
find quote
azula Offline
Member
Posts: 87
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #190
thanks aptalca
find quote
aptalca Offline
The Dude
Posts: 938
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 25
Post: #191
Quick update, the fan power adapters I linked to above worked perfectly.
find quote
Zootoxin Offline
Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #192
These are great guides.

Do you have to have specific hardward or will any old PC work?

Maybe you could do a guide on turning an old pc into a free unRAID server?

That would be pretty darn cool.
find quote
Spritzup Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 2
Post: #193
A good source of info for unRaid builds is the Lime-Technology Forums.

Hope this helps.

~Skar
find quote
zyke Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #194
I know this is a old thread but I hope I might get an answer anyway.
Love the build and the cheap price, even though it's more expensive for me in Sweden.. buuuhhh f*ing taxes : (
anyways, to the question.

The case: ANTEC Three Hundred Illusion Micro-ATX

Is it possible to exchange it to the following:
Xigmatek Utgard Mesh Micro-ATX

And use some of theese:
COOLER MASTER 4-in-3 Device Module Hardisk Cage

Would that be better for cooling?

I know it's a bit more expensive then the entry level build, but I just think that case is better suited.
Thanks in advance
(This post was last modified: 2012-07-23 14:19 by zyke.)
find quote
aptalca Offline
The Dude
Posts: 938
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 25
Post: #195
Actually that case is used for the "12 drive build" on eskro's thread

You can find it here: http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?pid=886478
find quote
Post Reply