Video Wallpaper in HOME SCREEN

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
liquidignition Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hey peoples,

Just wondering if it is possible to put a 720/1080p video as a wallpaper on the HOME-SCREEN?

Cheers
find quote
mad-max Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,479
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 59
Location: Germany
Post: #2
Nope...not possible...sorry

mm

[Image: obi3o55x.jpg]
[Image: 7c8w3bu8.png]

- - - Tribute to Metallica - - -

If I managed to help you, please click my reputation
find quote
BigNoid Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 3,164
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 103
Location: Below sea level
Post: #3
Save each frame of the video as jpg and let a multi-image control loop it in high speed and non-randomized order.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
butchabay Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 3,843
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 75
Location: Planet Crematoria
Post: #4
Big_Noid Wrote:Save each frame of the video as jpg and let a multi-image control loop it in high speed and non-randomized order.

Laugh
find quote
mad-max Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,479
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 59
Location: Germany
Post: #5
Big_Noid Wrote:Save each frame of the video as jpg and let a multi-image control loop it in high speed and non-randomized order.

agree with butch... Laugh
Nice one..what about sound?
Cut every second out of it and set it in sounds.xml to dislplay with the multi-image control?

Laugh

[Image: obi3o55x.jpg]
[Image: 7c8w3bu8.png]

- - - Tribute to Metallica - - -

If I managed to help you, please click my reputation
find quote
BigNoid Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 3,164
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 103
Location: Below sea level
Post: #6
Ah, forgot about the sound Big Grin

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
ubuntuf4n Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 788
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 2
Post: #7
Big_Noid Wrote:Save each frame of the video as jpg and let a multi-image control loop it in high speed and non-randomized order.

Nice one! Nod

Seriously, saving each frame as a jpg should be easily doable (e.g. with IrfanView), which code do we need to edit for doing a hight speed multi-image control-loop?

An animation video like the ps3 background visualizing could look very cool.

Here's a Clone.

Here's the Tutorial.

PS3 Original Video.

After creating a HD-Video, it could be splitted into each frame.

Cheers

.
Cheers
ubuntuf4n
(This post was last modified: 2011-07-29 17:31 by ubuntuf4n.)
find quote
ZombieRobot Offline
Fan
Posts: 714
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 4
Location: Mount Maunganui , New Zealand
Post: #8
ubuntuf4n Wrote:Nice one! Nod

Seriously, saving each frame as a jpg should be easily doable (e.g. with IrfanView), which code do we need to edit for doing a hight speed multi-image control-loop?

An animation video like the ps3 background visualizing could look very cool.

Here's a Clone.

Here's the Tutorial.

PS3 Original Video.

After creating a HD-Video, it could be splitted into each frame.

Cheers

I have done this in Showmix was going to be in my latest release but disabled it because of a few reasons when taking a video file and splitting it down to frames you end up with a huge amount if images in my dream folder i ended up with over 500 my 11mb video ended up 240mb of images and that's at 70% quality the quality of the supposed video doesn't end up clear enough at 100% were talking about 500 to 600mb worth of images

Result is cool though if you could get it clear enough

http://www.vimeo.com/26122738
find quote
ubuntuf4n Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 788
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 2
Post: #9
Indeed, Very nice!
So how does this work?
If I understand it correctly, the skin has to support this feature and then it's just a copy and paste thing.

Are there more disadvantages than the loss of disc-space?
Because if it only that, then maybe people could live with that. Smile
Maybe you could point out how to achieve this for personal preference or for an integration in those several skins.
Someday we can have this feature on this list.

Cheers

.
Cheers
ubuntuf4n
(This post was last modified: 2011-07-29 23:36 by ubuntuf4n.)
find quote
BigNoid Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 3,164
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 103
Location: Below sea level
Post: #10
It will eat CPU like crazy, especially with full 1080p images.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
ZombieRobot Offline
Fan
Posts: 714
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 4
Location: Mount Maunganui , New Zealand
Post: #11
Big_Noid Wrote:It will eat CPU like crazy, especially with full 1080p images.

yeah cpu hungry more of a gimmick runs well on my core i5 no lag ion systems will have a spastic with it
find quote
ZombieRobot Offline
Fan
Posts: 714
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 4
Location: Mount Maunganui , New Zealand
Post: #12
ubuntuf4n Wrote:Indeed, Very nice!
So how does this work?
If I understand it correctly, the skin has to support this feature and then it's just a copy and paste thing.

Are there more disadvantages than the loss of disc-space?
Because if it only that, then maybe people could live with that. Smile
Maybe you could point out how to achieve this for personal preference or for an integration in those several skins.
Someday we can have this feature on this list.

Cheers


its a cool idea will still introduce into showmix been wanting to have it in a skin for a long time but think i will change it so that the user can set the folder path and then users can download backdrops as packages i think users will like to try it but its for high end htpc's thats for sure


PHP Code:
<!-- Dream Backdrop -->    
    <
control type="multiimage">
        <
posx>0</posx>
        <
posy>0</posy>
        <
width>1920</width>
        <
height>1080</height>
        <
imagepath>dream</imagepath>
        <
timeperimage>10</timeperimage>
        <
fadetime>0</fadetime>
        <
loop>yes</loop>
        <
randomize>false</randomize>
        <
animation effect="zoom" start="110" end="130" center="auto" time="16000" tween="cubic" easing="inout" pulse="true" condition="Skin.HasSetting(Animated_Backdrop)">Conditional</animation>
        <
animation effect="slide" start="-10,-10" end="20,20" time="8000" tween="cubic" easing="inout" pulse="true" condition="Skin.HasSetting(Animated_Backdrop)">Conditional</animation>
        <
visible>Skin.HasSetting(nodream)</visible>
    </
control

[Image: 5988600455_1ec094962f_b.jpg]
find quote
Shinu Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 793
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 3
Location: Trinidad &amp; Tobago
Post: #13
just a thought, but how about a soundless audio file looping in the background. a visualization should run while the file plays. most skins can show the visualization in the homescreen. maybe that's one way to go? as i said, just a thought. i'm not much of a coder so i jus stick to brainstorming. Laugh

[Image: sigpic_71695_ea6badd43f8af70382024c3e138d01b9.jpg]
[Image: watched-fanart.jpg]
[Image: widget]
find quote
butchabay Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 3,843
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 75
Location: Planet Crematoria
Post: #14
Shinu Wrote:just a thought, but how about a soundless audio file looping in the background. a visualization should run while the file plays. most skins can show the visualization in the homescreen. maybe that's one way to go? as i said, just a thought. i'm not much of a coder so i jus stick to brainstorming. Laugh

There were some requests if i remember, to separate the audio output for movies and music, playing a movie in the background and listen to music and to have the option to switch between the 2 audio outputs.
I like the idea, but i'm sure it will never happen ... Smile
find quote
wfhoward Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
Hi guys,

I'm busy building a HTPC and my research about which software to use has led me to XBMC. Now I'm sure most would agree that we all want that WOW! factor when we look at our HTPC's.

I see that MeediOS (which tries to mimic XBMC imho) can play video files as backgrounds/backdrops in the main home page. Like this:
http://vimeo.com/14189847

Is there any way (other than to convert the video into frames and using the multi-image control) to do this in XBMC? If not, can we ask for it? Smile

Thnx
find quote
Post Reply