Odd Question: Why do we use HTPCs?
I understand if your HTPC also acts as a server so then you may want an HTPC. Or if you Want 3D playback as well.. But Everyone seems pretty happy and content with using either a Nettop or an Apple TV 2 for xbmc so for people not looking for 3D or want to use it as a Media server why build an HTPC?

I ask myself why I built one when a nettop for a third of the price or an apple tv would of done the same job. Also these devices are alot smaller and portable as well vs. a pc in your living room.

Especially when Apple tv 3 comes out Im sure they will be upgrading to A5 chip or maybe higher and then it should work even better with xbmc. I imagine the more apple and nettops update their devices the better and better they get with xbmc. If the next Apple tv can do 3D maybe there wont be need for HTPCs at all..

Maybe Im just missing something cause Im new to the HTPC scene. Also I know this is in the wrong Section I tried to put it in the Off Topic but it wouldnt let me post. And before I buy a couple of Apple TV'2s I just wondering why more people dont go that route.
With the current Apple TV there are problems. I've read full HD isn't always as fluid as it should be, I've read of crashes and currently it can only output to 720p.

The nettops are slow... they mostly work, but the atom is a very weak processor.

As for building a machine.. yep, if you want the smallest posible one, it won't be the one you build yourself, but other than that.... you can get the case you like best. Why? Because it's red, because it pairs nicely with your avr, because it is silent, because it fits those old parts you had lying around or because it's just a nice case.

The facts are you can build yourself an HTPC machine which is faster, runs cooler, is more quiet and is cheaper than some nettops around. Not bad eh?