Newbie coder - Subtitles !!!
Hi

Apologies if this has been asked (many) times before, but I'm new to XBMC development.

I am re-working a video plugin, and have hit an issue with subtitles.

The plugin downloads the appropriate subtitles for the stream, formats them in .srt format, and all appears fine; except the subtitles never appear.

Before I call player.play(url) (player is set to the xbmc.Player(....)) I call player.setSubtitles(subtitle_file), and I've confirmed that the file exists, is readable and is formatted in .srt.

I think I'm missing something about timing, but I can't work out what.

Can someone point me in the right direction please ?

Thanks

David
What does xbmc.log say? You should get a message in there about the subtitle.

Incidentally I add the subs after I start playback in my plugin..
you have to play the file(or url) to be able to set the subtitles for it
OK - thanks all.

At the moment, I have the set.Subtitles before the play, and I'm getting an error in xbmc.log:

Quote:10:14:00 T:2834783088 M:1895854080 NOTICE: Subtitles before player
10:14:00 T:2834783088 M:1895854080 NOTICE: /home/dlake/.xbmc/userdata/addon_data/plugin.video.itv/Subtitles/itv.srt
10:14:00 T:2834783088 M:1895854080 ERROR: EndOfDirectory - called with an invalid handle.

I'll move the subtitles to after the play and see what happens...

David
I had to add a slight delay to get it to work right with hulu. i am on my iphone right now and it won't let me copy and paste for some reason. here is a link. it ia at the end.
http://code.google.com/p/bluecop-xbmc-re...am_hulu.py

sorry i am a little drunk. so forgive the coherence. peace
Argh ! Well, some sort of success...

So, I now have subtitles playing, but ITV in their wisdom have a ITV Player graphic that pops up for 11 seconds. So the subtitles are 11 seconds too early.