XBMC won't open and freezes other applications
Hi there,

Firstly I must state tha I am a complete noob when it comes to computers. I discovered this program off a friend who has it and loved the look of it so I decided to instal it on my brand new HP DV6 laptop.

Upon downloading the program from xbmc.org for windows and finishing the instal and selecting the "run XBMC" tick box before closing the install wizard, I notice that the computer sits idle for a long time and nothing opens at all. Following this, other applications will not open and those that are open become unresponsive.

Can anyone, patience required, please assist me in getting this program to run smoothly on my laptop. I have, since having this problem, uninstalled xbmc as it was causing too many other issues with programs.

Please let me know what other information is required in order for you to help me.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Orion
Firstly, post the details of your system. What version of windows, processor, RAM, video drivers, what version of XBMC etc. How do you recover once it has hung (does CTRL-ALT-DEL allow you to close the prgram etc)

To diagnose the problem you'll need to provide a log file. Install XBMC again and run it so it crashes or hangs. When XBMC attempted to start it should have created an %Appdata%/XBMC directory (just type %APPDATA% in the run dialog and it should start windows explorer in the %APPDATA% directory and you'll be able to see if there is an XBMC subdirectory). Check that the XBMC directory exists. Use the wiki to determine the actual location of the XBMC userdata directory for your system. Start here and then check here.