How much coding experience do I need?
How much experience do I need to contribute to XBMCs codebase? I understand it's written in C++ with plugins in Python. I have lots of Java experience and also a little experience in C++ by virtue of me being a computer science major (I'm currently a senior in college). I haven't contributed to an open source project before and since I really like XBMC, I thought this would be a good place to start.

People frequently tell me it's best to contribute to a project that I am interested in. Am I being to ambitious by starting with XBMC or should I try to dive into the code this weekend? Where should I begin if I want to code in C++ and not write plugins in Python?
Typically the best way to get started is as such:

1) Familiarize yourself with the core architecture and structure
2) Review changes made to similar areas and look for areas to improve
3) Pick a small area to start, check the bug list for something that is related to your interests.
4) Fork the GIT repo, and get it to work!

The great thing about GIT is that you get your own tree, so you are free to modify it in anyway you wish, if it works out than it can be merged back into the original, but if you crash and burn all you've done is gained some experience.

If you are looking for suggestions on something add or tweak just look at common questions that people have issues with, and try and address that. One I've seen alot lately is issues with thumbnails, perhaps you could address that implementation, and purpose an improved system for managing them. Currently having to go through 2 levels of menus for each video can be a daunting task! Just my $0.02!

GLHF