Building my first HTPC: Budget €250
I'm hoping people can help me with this. I'm looking to build a HTPC for around €250. The idea will be to run XBMC on it. Due to my low budget i'll probably have to run it over linux. To be honest, i've never used Linux before. Is it difficult to adapt, and is XBMC straight-forward to install on it?

I'm not an expert in this field at all. From searching around it seems that, for the mostpart, mobos with integrated CPUs and GFX cards are cheaper than buying the components separately. I'd be all for keeping costs down, but i would like to have the option of upgrading a few years down the line; which i assume can't be done with the integrated mobo/cpu/gfx.

I'd like it to be able to play 1080p content; not that i do at the moment but i may at some stage in the future. I'd also like to be able to use whatever skins i want - basically make the most out of everything that XBMC can do.

So, my budget would need to include:
mobo
cpu
gfx card
fan??
mini-itx case
RAM (4GB??)
SSD (32GB??)
2TB HD (WD Green)

Have I left anything out? Do you think this is possible?

Would it be possible to leave out the SSD and still have a responsive system, even with a heavy skin?

Something to note is that i'm in Ireland, so i can't purchase from Amazon.com, newegg and a lot of others.

Thanks for the help.
Can anyone give me their opinion on the AMD A8-3850 and the A6-3650. They both have integrated graphics, AMD Radeon HD 6530D and AMD Radeon HD 6550D respectively.

Both drew my attention because of their price performance on cpubenchmark.net. Both are FM1 sockets, is this a problem.
You can leave the SSD out.
You also don't need a lot of CPU power or memory (2GB is sufficient).

Cases are expensive, so you might want to save some money on that part.

And well, maybe give us an online shop to visit. Rather difficult to judge prices in a foreign country...
ramaht Wrote:You can leave the SSD out.