New MythTV add-on using libcmyth

  Thread Rating:
  • 8 Votes - 4.75 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
fiveisalive Offline
Fan
Posts: 371
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: United States
Post: #691
(2012-04-26 08:57)chrisgibbs Wrote:  
(2012-04-26 00:44)tsp42 Wrote:  Fixed. I also found the reason why LiveTV wasn't working on Linux. Turned out that the mutex used on Linux in libcmyth is not reentrant so liveTV seeking caused the thread to deadlock. The mutex on windows is reentrant so no deadlock occurred.

Great work. I can confirm this has also resolved my issue.

Thanks for the commit.

Yep, live TV working again. Thank you!

I have, however, found that switching channels (without pressing stop in between) now seems to sometimes freeze XBMC for a couple of minutes, and then return to a non-playing state. I tried this both using "Up"/"Down" arrows within full screen, and selecting a channel directly in the TV channel view. This is on the same mythbackend system that didn't have such issues last week. Is anybody else seeing this?
find quote
bilbonvidia Offline
Fan
Posts: 468
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 2
Location: Britain
Post: #692
(2012-04-26 17:06)fiveisalive Wrote:  
(2012-04-26 08:57)chrisgibbs Wrote:  
(2012-04-26 00:44)tsp42 Wrote:  Fixed. I also found the reason why LiveTV wasn't working on Linux. Turned out that the mutex used on Linux in libcmyth is not reentrant so liveTV seeking caused the thread to deadlock. The mutex on windows is reentrant so no deadlock occurred.

Great work. I can confirm this has also resolved my issue.

Thanks for the commit.

Yep, live TV working again. Thank you!

I have, however, found that switching channels (without pressing stop in between) now seems to sometimes freeze XBMC for a couple of minutes, and then return to a non-playing state. I tried this both using "Up"/"Down" arrows within full screen, and selecting a channel directly in the TV channel view. This is on the same mythbackend system that didn't have such issues last week. Is anybody else seeing this?

Live tv working for me too thanks! but I have the same problem with changing channel as above, xbmc crashes. Pressing stop and changing from epg is okay. I also see the same behaviour with the time shift buttons reported earlier , ie being in the wrong order when being selected.
find quote
darkwizard Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #693
okay got it to compile but now it crashes every little thing i do like listen to music / try watch a video here is the log maybe some one can tell me what is wrong with it.
xbmc.log
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-26 23:41 by darkwizard.)
find quote
Jimmer Offline
Donor
Posts: 339
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 3
Location: Sunny Devon, UK
Post: #694
(2012-04-26 23:16)darkwizard Wrote:  okay got it to compile but now it crashes every little thing i do like listen to music / try watch a video here is the log maybe some one can tell me what is wrong with it.
xbmc.log

seems like you have the same problem as these guys:

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=127306

one guy claims to have cured it by deleting (or copying it to a new filename) his ~/.asoundrc file and rebooting. Can't hurt to try...
find quote
kburkart Offline
Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #695
Does this work for xbmcbuntu 11? EDEN?
find quote
Jimmer Offline
Donor
Posts: 339
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 3
Location: Sunny Devon, UK
Post: #696
(2012-04-27 16:47)kburkart Wrote:  Does this work for xbmcbuntu 11? EDEN?

Well technically this is post-Eden (or pre-Frodo whichever way you want to look at it....). If you have the dependencies installed on *nix or windows then it should compile for you.

When you clone the git repo, there are instruction in the readme files for the various platforms about the dependencies needed. On top of normal dependencies you need the libboost filesystem and regex libraries (1.46 is verified to work). On xbmcbuntu, you just follow the README.ubuntu instructions in your cloned repo to get all the dependencies and then compile as per the rest of the instructions. If you intend to compile a lot, I recommend installing ccache - it'll make future compiles a lot quicker.....

jim
find quote
kburkart Offline
Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #697
(2012-04-27 16:59)Jimmer Wrote:  
(2012-04-27 16:47)kburkart Wrote:  Does this work for xbmcbuntu 11? EDEN?

Well technically this is post-Eden (or pre-Frodo whichever way you want to look at it....). If you have the dependencies installed on *nix or windows then it should compile for you.

When you clone the git repo, there are instruction in the readme files for the various platforms about the dependencies needed. On top of normal dependencies you need the libboost filesystem and regex libraries (1.46 is verified to work). On xbmcbuntu, you just follow the README.ubuntu instructions in your cloned repo to get all the dependencies and then compile as per the rest of the instructions. If you intend to compile a lot, I recommend installing ccache - it'll make future compiles a lot quicker.....

jim

Thx
find quote
kburkart Offline
Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #698
Has anyone got this working as a diskless headend? If so could you explain how to set it up. Thx
find quote
tsp42 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 11
Location: Denmark
Post: #699
(2012-04-26 20:48)bilbonvidia Wrote:  
(2012-04-26 17:06)fiveisalive Wrote:  
(2012-04-26 08:57)chrisgibbs Wrote:  Great work. I can confirm this has also resolved my issue.

Thanks for the commit.

Yep, live TV working again. Thank you!

I have, however, found that switching channels (without pressing stop in between) now seems to sometimes freeze XBMC for a couple of minutes, and then return to a non-playing state. I tried this both using "Up"/"Down" arrows within full screen, and selecting a channel directly in the TV channel view. This is on the same mythbackend system that didn't have such issues last week. Is anybody else seeing this?

Live tv working for me too thanks! but I have the same problem with changing channel as above, xbmc crashes. Pressing stop and changing from epg is okay. I also see the same behaviour with the time shift buttons reported earlier , ie being in the wrong order when being selected.
Could you and fiveisalive pastebin a debug log from when it happends. The addtion of the forward/reverse buttons tothe skin was a bit rushed. That's why the order is wrong. Will have to fix it.

Libcmyth MythTV addon for xbmc-pvr [source] [forum thread]
find quote
bilbonvidia Offline
Fan
Posts: 468
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 2
Location: Britain
Post: #700
http://pastebin.com/VszJXeSB

Changing from channel one to channel two using the remote. The log looks similar to me as the original error with live tv not working at all.

Thanks again
find quote
chrisgibbs Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #701
(2012-04-29 21:45)tsp42 Wrote:  
(2012-04-26 20:48)bilbonvidia Wrote:  
(2012-04-26 17:06)fiveisalive Wrote:  Yep, live TV working again. Thank you!

I have, however, found that switching channels (without pressing stop in between) now seems to sometimes freeze XBMC for a couple of minutes, and then return to a non-playing state. I tried this both using "Up"/"Down" arrows within full screen, and selecting a channel directly in the TV channel view. This is on the same mythbackend system that didn't have such issues last week. Is anybody else seeing this?

Live tv working for me too thanks! but I have the same problem with changing channel as above, xbmc crashes. Pressing stop and changing from epg is okay. I also see the same behaviour with the time shift buttons reported earlier , ie being in the wrong order when being selected.
Could you and fiveisalive pastebin a debug log from when it happends. The addtion of the forward/reverse buttons tothe skin was a bit rushed. That's why the order is wrong. Will have to fix it.


I can also confirm that this error is happening to me too. Do you have enough to work with the existing debug logs or would you like more?
find quote
tdavis Offline
Member
Posts: 90
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #702
I just upgraded to 0.25, so I'm now waiting for support for that..
find quote
tsp42 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 11
Location: Denmark
Post: #703
(2012-05-01 09:45)chrisgibbs Wrote:  
(2012-04-29 21:45)tsp42 Wrote:  
(2012-04-26 20:48)bilbonvidia Wrote:  Live tv working for me too thanks! but I have the same problem with changing channel as above, xbmc crashes. Pressing stop and changing from epg is okay. I also see the same behaviour with the time shift buttons reported earlier , ie being in the wrong order when being selected.
Could you and fiveisalive pastebin a debug log from when it happends. The addtion of the forward/reverse buttons tothe skin was a bit rushed. That's why the order is wrong. Will have to fix it.
I can also confirm that this error is happening to me too. Do you have enough to work with the existing debug logs or would you like more?
It's enough with bilbonvidia's log thanks. Just need time to find the error now.

Libcmyth MythTV addon for xbmc-pvr [source] [forum thread]
find quote
jht3 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Location: Virginia
Post: #704
testing the pvr build on my laptop and noticed that the show title's are getting cropped at one character. my mythfrontend shows them fine, mythbox addon does too. my myth server is running .24+fixes. i'm a longtime mythtv user and just recently decided to move to XBMC for my frontend. from what i've seen so far, the pvr function is looking great. certainly prettier than mythbox; keep up the good work

[Image: deadliest_catch.png]
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-03 02:47 by jht3.)
find quote
OzSpeedway Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #705
Was just wondering if it is possible to just compile the cmyth addon and add it to my current PVR install? I have the compiled version of XBMC from pulse-eight. Any pointers appreciated if it is at all possible....

Cheers
Bruce
find quote
Post Reply