which hardware for single XBMC HTPC
Hi,

I am trying to figure out which hardware for a XBMC installation my needs would fit best.

The PC will only be for XBMC and no gaming, but should fulfill the following points:

as silent as possible (without exploding costs)
can play HD schmoothly
boot time as fast as possible (maybe openELEC?)
remote can stop AND start from standby
and if possible with bluray (I try to avoid win7 but would go with it, if the solution works fine. By the way, I am not very experienced with linux but would do/learn all the neccessary to get it to run.)

Please help me, all the threads I have read so far confused me even more. I would go with a solution like ZBox, and change fan to make it silent, if this would work.

Thanks alot
Frank
Hey mate, did you read the stickies at the top of this forum? Did they confuse you? Links below:

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=94199

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=94268

The first link (eskro's guide) gives a list of options, as well as what each setup can / can't do.

After reading that, further questions you have.

XBMC Live would suit you if you're only looking to boot the PC straight into XBMC (and not use it for anything else).
...DJVege...
HTPC: G840 + GT430 + 2GB RAM + 30GB SSD
Remote: iPad/iPhone + iRule + USB-UIRT // FireFly RF Remote
Software: XBMC Eden + Eventghost + Win7
Hi,

thanks for your help.
I've read already the stickies and plenty of other threads, unfortunately I never read about my remote controller question.

Actually I would prefer to have as much as possible prebuild by vendor (e.g. Zotac), but need to have the things working as mentioned in my post.
(An answer like, take ZBox xyz and use remote controle zyx and it will work would be superb.)

Only XBMC is supposed to run on this machine, which will be placed in the living room and should work as close as possible like a usual entertainment equipment like BR or TV.