Might build a htpc.. couple of questions about HDCP
My first post. Hello, I'm Luke.

I've been using xbmc on an old xbox for some time now. I would like to step up to watching HD content, and after thinking about it for a couple of years, I'm getting close to picking out my components.

I will be needing more than just an htpc, as my system is aging and my receiver is lacking hdmi switching.

I was going to buy an onkyo TX-NR809 and while looking at the manual I ran across something that might be a showstopper:

"The AV receiver supports HDCP (High-bandwidth Digital Content Protection)*2, a copy-protection system for digital
video signals. Other devices connected to the AV receiver via HDMI must also support HDCP."

I'm very new to this game, but would a HTPC meet this criteria if i run xbmc on windows? is this a hardware thing or a software thing?

I also have an older JVC DILA tv with 1 hdmi port... would there be any issues with that?

I apologize for what is probably a newb question. I've built 10 pc's but never a htpc, and i dont want to plop down all of this money and run into issues that fight me the whole way. I would like for this to be fun.

Thanks in advance Big Grin
VFRLuke Wrote:"The AV receiver supports HDCP (High-bandwidth Digital Content Protection)*2, a copy-protection system for digital
video signals. Other devices connected to the AV receiver via HDMI must also support HDCP."

you need to buy a Video Card that is HDCP ready and HDMI ready,,, thats it
eskro Wrote:you need to buy a Video Card that is HDCP ready ...

I'll think you'll be hard pressed to find a modern card that doesn't support HDCP.
Asus AT5IONT-I in an A+ CUPID-3 + 2TB Seagate LP + 16GB SSD + Ubuntu + Samba + XBMC

AT5IONT-I Problems? Check out my Motherboard I/O Map for troubleshooting tips.
Thanks for the help guys,

being that I'm starting from scratch, should I get a mobo with good onboard video, or is a video card the smart choice?
video card = smart choice
cool, thanks.