unable to connect to remote server

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
steq184 Offline
Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
As the title says I'm unable to connect to remote server. I can get internet through my pc browser.
Any ideas?

Cheers
find quote
jhsrennie Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 7,248
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 119
Location: Chester, UK
Post: #2
Uninstall and reinstall the YouTube add-on. This may seem an odd solution but an unintentional depence on the YouTube add-on got built into XBMC v10.1.

If after this you still get the error we will need to see a debug log.

JR
find quote
jhsrennie Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 7,248
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 119
Location: Chester, UK
Post: #3
Posting your log in the forum won't make you too many friends. I've deleted it to avoid complaints. However it did at least allow me to spot you're usin Windows, so the following applies:

Enable debug logging from System settings, System, Debugging, and restart XBMC. Wait a minute or two for the startup processes to finish, then attempt a scan or whatever is needed to display the "Cannot connect" error. Close XBMC.

Open the debug log by pressing Windows-R and in the Run dialog type:

"%appdata%\xbmc\xbmc.log"

(including the quotes). Click OK and the log should open in Notepad. Copy and paste the log into http://pastebin.com/ and post the link it gives you here.

JR
find quote
candleman Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
I'm getting the same message "unable to connect to remote server". I have removed the YouTube add on and reinstalled. I get this message when I do a scan for new content. I have debug log if needed. This is my first post, so I hope I have done this correctly.

My log is at http://pastebin.com/dvbhsbJR if some would like to review it.

Thank you
(This post was last modified: 2011-11-03 18:18 by candleman.)
find quote
jhsrennie Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 7,248
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 119
Location: Chester, UK
Post: #5
The log doesn't show any obvious reason for the scraping problem. You're using quite an old nightly build. I'd try a current build.

JR
find quote
candleman Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
so update xbmc?

thank you
(This post was last modified: 2011-11-05 04:57 by candleman.)
find quote
LakersFan Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 259
Joined: Jan 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
jhsrennie Wrote:Posting your log in the forum won't make you too many friends. I've deleted it to avoid complaints. However it did at least allow me to spot you're usin Windows, so the following applies:

Enable debug logging from System settings, System, Debugging, and restart XBMC. Wait a minute or two for the startup processes to finish, then attempt a scan or whatever is needed to display the "Cannot connect" error. Close XBMC.

Open the debug log by pressing Windows-R and in the Run dialog type:

"%appdata%\xbmc\xbmc.log"

(including the quotes). Click OK and the log should open in Notepad. Copy and paste the log into http://pastebin.com/ and post the link it gives you here.

JR

HI,
I'm getting the same error trying to scrape movies today. I uninstalled YouTube and reinstalled it. I am running Eden beta 2.

Debug log HERE

Thanks for any help!
find quote
josephmaguire Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
Also Running Eden Beta 2
I too am also not able to connect to Movie Scraper.

Log File: http://pastebin.com/qs8jBhT5

I am a newer user to XBMC not sure if this is just an every once in a while occurence. Thanks...

I was able to fix the problem by fixing permissions
(This post was last modified: 2012-01-26 07:12 by josephmaguire.)
find quote
bnlforever Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
How did you "fix permissions"? I'm using windows.... please detail if possible.
find quote
josephmaguire Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Thumbs Up  Elevating to Administrator fixed movie scraper
Post: #10
Sorry... How selfish of me. Sad In my case I am using Windows Server 2008 R2, however I imagine that the same process would work for windows vista, and windows 7. The scraper began to work again after I elevated the program to run with administrator priveleges. Because I imagine that we are using different version of windows this might not fix the problem for you.

To do this I right click on the file and click "Run as Administrator".

You can also right click into the properties menu of the shortcut or xbmc.exe and select the "Compatibility" tab and there is a box to tick to make the elevation permanent.

Good Luck
find quote
LakersFan Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 259
Joined: Jan 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
Hey All,
Just for info, I haven't done anything except walk away for a few hours and try again. It's now working fine. Maybe the site was having an issue (for me).
find quote
quebert Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 295
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
Mine's doing this too, I tried 3 different skins and same thing on all of them. It does it every time. Not sure exactly how long this has been happening, but it's been a good while, at least a few weeks.

http://pastebin.com/peYxeN13

[Image: watched-fanart.jpg]
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-16 03:23 by quebert.)
find quote
StinDaWg Offline
Fan
Posts: 591
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #13
This has been happening for several weeks now for me as well. Someone please help.

http://pastebin.com/BGT2bLPA
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-Kodi Wiki Guy
Posts: 21,967
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 293
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #14
(2012-05-02 19:59)StinDaWg Wrote:  This has been happening for several weeks now for me as well. Someone please help.

http://pastebin.com/BGT2bLPA

Turn debugging on, reboot XBMC, and upload the whole debug log.

You can make easy links to the XBMC wiki using double brackets around common XBMC words: [[debug log]] = debug log, [[Video library]] = Video library, [[SMB]] = SMB , [[userdata]] = userdata, etc
find quote
StinDaWg Offline
Fan
Posts: 591
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #15
http://pastebin.com/Tzzay4je

What stands out to me is


09:00:07 T:792 DEBUG: ADDON::CScraper::FindMovie: Searching for 'Howard the Duck OAR' using The MovieDB scraper (path: 'C:\Users\Justin\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\addons\metadata.themoviedb.org', content: 'movies', version: '3.2.0')
09:00:07 T:792 DEBUG: scraper: CreateSearchUrl returned <url>http://api.themoviedb.org/3/search/movie?api_key=57983e31fb435df4df77afb854740ea9&amp;query=howard%20the%20duck%20oar&amp;language=en</url>
09:00:07 T:792 DEBUG: FileCurl::Open(03EFE9B8) http://api.themoviedb.org/3/search/movie...anguage=en
09:00:07 T:792 INFO: XCURL::DllLibCurlGlobal::easy_aquire - Created session to http://api.themoviedb.org
09:00:08 T:792 WARNING: XFILE::CFileCurl::CReadState::FillBuffer: curl failed with code 22
09:00:08 T:792 ERROR: CFileCurl::CReadState::Open, didn't get any data from stream.
09:00:08 T:792 ERROR: ADDON::CScraper::Run: Unable to parse web site
09:00:08 T:792 INFO: Loading skin file: DialogYesNo.xml
09:00:08 T:6724 DEBUG: ------ Window Init (DialogYesNo.xml) ------
find quote
Post Reply